Customer Reviews for

Spooky Little Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Totally offbeat and extremely addictive read!

    I absolutely loved this book! I laughed out loud at times it was so good. Her style of writing is so off beat and yet so very believable! I am definately going to read more of her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Original plot

    It's nice to read a story that I don't feel like I've already read twice over. The ideas were fresh and entertaining and the characters believable and relateable. Overall a very enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great read

    An enjoyable read. Not many authors make me laugh and cry. I wish she wrote more fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    You've thought you had a bad day?

    Pick this book up. You'll feel betteronce you realize it could be worse.....you could wake up dead and clueless. Potentially orbitting saturn or jupiter for eternity and nobody realizing you're dead.
    As usual Laurie Notaro does not dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    This is my favorite book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Loved it!

    I thought this was really cute. It was interesting and kept me hooked. I love all Laurie's books and this one was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kept Me Hooked!

    I happened to come across Laurie Notaro's books on BN, and was intrigued because they had a comedy side to them and I like books that make me laugh. When I saw this one, I was even more intrigued because it had a ghost theme and I like ghosts too. So I started reading this book a few months ago, and I was hooked from the first page. This is one of those rare books where you feel like you're actually in it, and you can connect with the characters. I felt sad when Lucy felt sad, and I felt anger towards Nola, who thought she had every right to be doing the things she did. One thing did interest me though, and I should look it up, is that in the story Ruby the ghost school teacher says that going to the light is a bad thing for ghosts because it sucks them into space (or something to that effect). I wonder if thats true? A lot of mediums and other ghost enthusiasts try to help ghosts find the light, but maybe they really shouldnt be going to that sort of light. Perhaps, they really do have an assignment on earth like the characters in the story. Good thing to make you wonder! This book was great, and its now on my favorites list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    love it!

    Great book. the grandma reminds me of grandma mazur in janet evanovich books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome through and through!

    With Spooky Little Girl, Laurie Notaro proves that she is an adept storyteller, whether that story be a memoir or fiction. She seamlessly weaves together Lucy Fischer's life and death using humor and wit while still conveying the complex emotions grief and anger that follow a loss. Her version of an afterlife is both hilarious and endearing, and even includes a merging of story lines between this and her previous work of fiction, There's a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell. Throughout the novel she had me laughing, gasping, and ultimately crying both at and for Lucy.
    In this work, Notaro also manages to provide poignant commentary on the disconnect that comes with sudden death in the age of connectivity. There's much to be said for writing a letter on actual paper and using stamps every once in a while and leaving a paper trail.
    You can call this novel chick lit or a beach book, but you can't call it anything other than excellently written and highly entertaining. I can't recommend it enough or wait for the next installment from Ms. Notaro.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This clever paranormal chick lit is a fun tale

    Lucy Fisher was looking forward to her vacation in Hawaii, hocking her life to be able to go. The dream vacation was a disappointment. When she comes home, she finds her possessions all over the lawn as her fiancé Martin tossed them randomly out the door. Bad comes in three as Lucy learns when her boss accuses her of trying to steal money and drugs before firing her. A stunned Lucy moves in with her sister Alice.

    On her way to the unemployment office, Lucy learns what bad luck really is when a bus runs her over. Now she is a student at Ghost School where if she completes her assignment she will move into the State of after-death. Lucy diligently applies herself as she wants to go back to earth not so much as to haunt her former fiancé, but to learn why he kicked her to the curb and why no one, not even her sister or the bus driver attended her funeral. Only Tulip seems to miss her.

    This clever paranormal chick lit is a fun tale though the serio-comic story line never turns as profound as it could have been; opting more for a winking jocularity that in some ways will remind readers of the movie Over her Dead Body. The beleaguered heroine is likable so that fans will root for her as grandma has made living in the State of the dead precarious for both of them and Lucy knows you only get one chance at it.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, but quite the stretch

    The writing is fast-paced and fun, but the topic was such a stretch, and the plot so formulaic, I ended up a little disappointed. I read this author because I was told that she is Jen Lancaster's mentor, but JL is far superior at telling a funny story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant!!!

    I bought this book at lunch yesterday, and couldn't put it down. I finished reading it today, and I LOVED it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3