Customer Reviews for

A Spoonful of Poison (Agatha Raisin Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An amusing cozy

In Comfrey Magna in Cotsword, elderly Mrs. Andrews seems in good spirits as she attends a church charity gala. She remains upbeat when she suddenly leaps from the tower of Saint Odo the Severe. While almost everyone watched in horror, someone robbed the proceeds. An ...
In Comfrey Magna in Cotsword, elderly Mrs. Andrews seems in good spirits as she attends a church charity gala. She remains upbeat when she suddenly leaps from the tower of Saint Odo the Severe. While almost everyone watched in horror, someone robbed the proceeds. An autopsy finds LSD in her further inquiry leads to someone spiking the jam with that hallucinatory drug. ----------- Private investigator Agatha Raisin and her apprentice Toni Gilmour investigate as do the police. Both competing groups focus on the six women who donated the jam. However, a homicide and the suicide of one of the six suspects Sybilla Triast-Perkins complicates a case that is more muddled than the respective love lives of either Agatha or Toni------------- This amusing cozy works on two levels as Agatha is her usual irascible self while challenging the police to try to out sleuth her and her sidekick. The romantic capers of Agatha and Toni add depth to the pair. However, it is the investigation as the ever mocking cocky (pun intended) Agatha goes breast to chest with the police daring them to solve the case before they are KISSING CHRISTMAS GOODBYE.--------- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Agatha is not charming

I bought this book because it was recommended to be like Agatha Christie and to have a charming heroine. It was the opposite. She is selfish and kind of pathetic.. running after every man she runs into. She has some feelings for her friends but for the most part she is...
I bought this book because it was recommended to be like Agatha Christie and to have a charming heroine. It was the opposite. She is selfish and kind of pathetic.. running after every man she runs into. She has some feelings for her friends but for the most part she is selfish. She is a sad creature and should have learned a bit more about life and acceptance of self by this stage in life. Her problems detract from her stories. I read it fast so that I could find out whodoneit. but will not be reading any more of this character or book series.
If you want a charming sleuth read Diane Mott Davidson's Goldy or Joanne Fluke's Heidi Swenson. There are tons of people who are much more engaging and fun to read.

posted by Ilovemysteries on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    An amusing cozy

    In Comfrey Magna in Cotsword, elderly Mrs. Andrews seems in good spirits as she attends a church charity gala. She remains upbeat when she suddenly leaps from the tower of Saint Odo the Severe. While almost everyone watched in horror, someone robbed the proceeds. An autopsy finds LSD in her further inquiry leads to someone spiking the jam with that hallucinatory drug. ----------- Private investigator Agatha Raisin and her apprentice Toni Gilmour investigate as do the police. Both competing groups focus on the six women who donated the jam. However, a homicide and the suicide of one of the six suspects Sybilla Triast-Perkins complicates a case that is more muddled than the respective love lives of either Agatha or Toni------------- This amusing cozy works on two levels as Agatha is her usual irascible self while challenging the police to try to out sleuth her and her sidekick. The romantic capers of Agatha and Toni add depth to the pair. However, it is the investigation as the ever mocking cocky (pun intended) Agatha goes breast to chest with the police daring them to solve the case before they are KISSING CHRISTMAS GOODBYE.--------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Agatha is not charming

    I bought this book because it was recommended to be like Agatha Christie and to have a charming heroine. It was the opposite. She is selfish and kind of pathetic.. running after every man she runs into. She has some feelings for her friends but for the most part she is selfish. She is a sad creature and should have learned a bit more about life and acceptance of self by this stage in life. Her problems detract from her stories. I read it fast so that I could find out whodoneit. but will not be reading any more of this character or book series.
    If you want a charming sleuth read Diane Mott Davidson's Goldy or Joanne Fluke's Heidi Swenson. There are tons of people who are much more engaging and fun to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Aggie is at it again

    M.C.Beaton has done it again. Her lovable character Agatha Raisin is caught up in another who's done it. This time Aggie is roped into doing charity work for another parish. Beaton has a way of taking you to the Cotswold area and leading you around the countryside trying to help Aggie in her attempt to solve a murder that happens at parish fund raiser.<BR/>Its hard not to fall in love with the characters, that are well known by this (#19) tale. This series is ADDICTIVE and cant wait for MORE!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    LMAO

    Agatha Raisin is hysterical. I so love that she is middle aged and still a acts the damn fool like most people! !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I read this book when it was listed as a Cozy mystery. It's any

    I read this book when it was listed as a Cozy mystery. It's anything but cozy. The main character of Agatha Raisin is a vulgar, self-important man-eater who chases after the new man in town like a lion after a new kill. Any, and I mean any.....female in her path is treated with visious glee because she sees them as competition. She even is violently jealous of her own best detective, the teenager Toni Gilmour. How any country can call this the woman and her team of blunderers The Best Detectives is beyond me. Agatha Raisin and her team trip and falter into trying to solve the murders to a point where the seemingly invisible Police now have the main job of rescuing them! Agatha dispatches innocent females easier than solving the mystery. This book has more focus on Agatha's man-chasing and tantrums than the actual mystery. It should not be categorized as a Mystery here. I read where Agatha Raisin books have been around for 20 years. Considering the unsavory title character, I'm not surprised that it has never gone on to a BBC or other television series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Another best!

    Have enjoyed several of the Agatha Raisin series and never tire of the twists and turns of plot and the shortcomings of the character. Also like the descrictions of changing weather in the south of England as I have experienced a bit of that myself. Recommend this as another of the best of series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first time I've listened to an Agatha Raisin mystery

    This is the first time I've listened to an Agatha Raisin mystery rather than read it. I must say, reader Donalda Peters' wonderful rendering of the story lifts Ms. Beaton's writing far above its usual pedestrian level. LSD-spiked jam at a village fair launches a series of events (and a dizzying array of relationships), with Agatha up to her ears trying to find the culprit. All the favorite characters are here: Bill Wong, Ron Silver, Sir James, and the long-tolerant vicar's wife, Mrs. Bloxby. And, not surprisingly, Agatha is obsessed once again with finding a man -something that for me has always seemed out of character with such an intelligent, independent woman. Yet it does provide opportunities for humor. Fun as always.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    An "Agatha" regular reader would enjoy this slow story.

    The LSD spiked jams was a stretch too unbelievable for me. Agatha, as usual, is a muddled person, second guessing herself constantly. She appears to becoming younger.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Another Lovable Agatha Raisin

    I love Agatha Raisin. She's funny, charming, lovable to the reader but I'm afraid not always lovable to the average village resident. But that's okay--we readers are the ones who matter. She sticks her nose unflinchingly where it doesn't belong, gives an air of self-confidence but doesn't always feel that way, somehow always solves the mystery but the police end up taking the credit--much to her chagrin. In this book there's a village fair, someone poisons the jam, and Agatha and her partner must figure out whodunnit. As usual it held my attention to the end, and there were many laugh-out-loud moments. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Spoonful or Posion

    An easy read on rainy days.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1