Customer Reviews for

A Spot of Bother

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the bother

Don't be put off by the cover - it's quirky and the characters are engaging. Wish I could have gotten it as an audio book - I like the laugh out loud moments it provides.

posted by DC_Love_the_Book on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

"A Spot of Bother" was an impulse purchase. I was betr

"A Spot of Bother" was an impulse purchase. I was betrayed by a clever title and a three word review on the cover: "Brilliant ... Very Funny".
The characters are from Central Casting for a television sitcom, like a subset of "Modern Family"...
"A Spot of Bother" was an impulse purchase. I was betrayed by a clever title and a three word review on the cover: "Brilliant ... Very Funny".
The characters are from Central Casting for a television sitcom, like a subset of "Modern Family".
The main character is the clueless, recently retired man who dissolves into dysfunctional paralysis.
The wife loves her husband, but is having an affair with her husband's former business colleague. Will she stay or will she go?
The daughter is a sharp tongued, quick tempered single mother who has agreed to marry a nice man who is financially stable and good with her boy. Her family thinks her fiancee is not very bright and she doubts that she loves him.
The son, of course, is gay, in a relationship with the perfect man. Even so, he fears commitment.
Each chapter is told in the first person by one of the characters as everyone trudges slowly toward the wedding. Each character finds their life disintegrating in unbelieveable ways.
Pure sitcom heaven. Unfortunately, there isn't a funny line in the book.
And yet, I don't hate the book. Overall, it is pleasant enough.
The book is long at 503 pages, but it is a quick read. Each chapter is short. There are 144 chapters. You can finish it in a couple of days. But you would probably enjoy watching a movie or football game more.

posted by Roger_Knight on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Well worth the bother

    Don't be put off by the cover - it's quirky and the characters are engaging. Wish I could have gotten it as an audio book - I like the laugh out loud moments it provides.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    "A Spot of Bother" was an impulse purchase. I was betr

    "A Spot of Bother" was an impulse purchase. I was betrayed by a clever title and a three word review on the cover: "Brilliant ... Very Funny".
    The characters are from Central Casting for a television sitcom, like a subset of "Modern Family".
    The main character is the clueless, recently retired man who dissolves into dysfunctional paralysis.
    The wife loves her husband, but is having an affair with her husband's former business colleague. Will she stay or will she go?
    The daughter is a sharp tongued, quick tempered single mother who has agreed to marry a nice man who is financially stable and good with her boy. Her family thinks her fiancee is not very bright and she doubts that she loves him.
    The son, of course, is gay, in a relationship with the perfect man. Even so, he fears commitment.
    Each chapter is told in the first person by one of the characters as everyone trudges slowly toward the wedding. Each character finds their life disintegrating in unbelieveable ways.
    Pure sitcom heaven. Unfortunately, there isn't a funny line in the book.
    And yet, I don't hate the book. Overall, it is pleasant enough.
    The book is long at 503 pages, but it is a quick read. Each chapter is short. There are 144 chapters. You can finish it in a couple of days. But you would probably enjoy watching a movie or football game more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Change Of Pace

    The author deserves credit for taking his writing in a very different direction. The temptation to follow up a critical and popular success with a work of similar style must be great. The only similarity in Mark Haddon's books is originality.

    This book's central character is a middle-aged, middle class man from middle England. His retirement results in a life crisis that shakes his grip on reality. Each member of his family's reaction to his state, and their various personal crises make up the narrative flow of the novel.

    The plot is well crafted and reminds me of a comedy of manners, with a very contemporary twist. There are memorably graphic episodes which may be unsettling for some. I trust the author to craft each detail of his work in a way that fully explores the subject at hand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    This was a very disappointing sophomore effort from the writer that brought us the brilliant "The Curious incident of the Dog in the Night Time." What was supposed to be a humorous look into a dysfunctional yet slightly eccentric family, wound up being a mess of characters you ultimately didn¿t really care about, playing out in the fathers whacky descent into insanity. A basic premise done better in other books. The latest crop of BBC comedies do it It better, sharper and edgier. Nothing at all special.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Brilliant.

    This is officially my favorite book. Although its a little bit slow at the beginning, Haddon soon engulfs you in the story. I especially enjoyed the character of Tony:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Almost five stars

    A friend recommended this to me. His wife is British and he had a strong connection to the way the characters in the book respond to one another. Starts off a bit slow but then you can't stop reading and caring about what happens to each of the characters. Makes your own life feel a bit less complicated in comparison.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2007

    Wonderful!

    I listened to the audio on a recent trip, and Simon Vance did an outstanding job as reader, voicing the different characters in a way that was distinct but not distracting. The story is funny, the characters are engaging, and Mark Haddon's typically British understatements had me laughing out loud on a regular basis. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    I thought it was a bit uneventful (aka boring), and the cast of

    I thought it was a bit uneventful (aka boring), and the cast of characters was truly detestable. I couldn't stand any of them. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Hunter to freshstripe

    Sees freshstripe. He shoots her so she falls onto the ground. He stabs her with a knife until her heartbeat stops.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Freshstripe

    ( To hunter. Still cant die!!) TO FEATHERPAW LET ME KNOW WHEN YOU GET HERE!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Bumblepaw

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Another Mark Haddon winner

    After enjoying "The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time" and "The Red House" by Haddon, I ventured into "A Spot of Bother". I was not disappointed. Mr. Haddon does a great job of character development. "A Spot of Bother" examines the dynamics of a somewhat disfunctional family. It is an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unreadable

    Failed my 100 page rule

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Witty and Great

    I absolutely adored this novel. Such a great read that I could not put it down. I felt as though I had a true connection with each of the characters and had an honest concern for every single one of them. I felt a very strong connection with both George and Jamie. A bit wordy and slow to begin with but definately a delight once it engulfs you. I cannot wait for Haddon's next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    A spot of boring

    What an unbelievably disappointing follow up to the author's previous book. This book is heavy on dialogue & the characters are extremely shallow and superficial. I am open minded yet I found I could not relate nor care about any of the characters: a gay son, an angry daughter & her boyfriend/fiance, a mom who is having an affair, a crazy/depressed husband. The antics of the family are quite dysfunctional and the story just drags on and on. After reading 200+ pages I just gave up. The story has no point & I am not attached to any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    A Great British Farce

    A clever, engaging story that weaves it's characters and their antics into a real fun farce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    Great British Humour

    Absolutely wonderful read. Superb writing, had me laughing out loud, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Scratch The Surface and You Will Be Surprised

    The comings and goings of a family and all their issues is the basis for this very good read. Each character has their own point of view and you wonder how they ever lived together in one home. As their issues are exposed and the layers of their lives fall away, the thread of who they are is very clear and each one is interesting and strong and someone you might want to know. While some issues are a bit blurred, it all becomes clear at the end and with no total solution...the family flourishes and begins to regroup. A potpourri of emotions and personalities that is really very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3