Customer Reviews for

Sprinkle with Murder (Cupcake Bakery Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SPRINKLE WITH MURDER by Jenn McKinlay

    This first book in this new series gives us a fresh baked "who-dun-it" that will have you craving for cupcakes from the first page to the last.
    A cupcake bakery, "Fairy Tale Cupcakes", is a dream come true for Mel Cooper and Angie DeLaura. They are excited about their first big order of 500 cupcakes for a wedding until Mel sits down with the bride. She puts any "bridezilla" you have ever seen on television to shame. When Mel goes for a follow up meeting she finds the bride dead with a one of her cupcakes in her hand, she then becomes the number one suspect. Mel knows she didn't do it and she has to find out who did, to keep herself from being arrested and to save their business.
    Add into this mixture Angie's seven brothers, a crazy competitor, and their best friend Tate, who happens to be the groom and you have the recipe for a great cozy mystery.


    The book is set to be released on Mar 2, 2010

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Brenda

    Tyler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Fun!

    enjoyed this book more than I expected...but still lean towards ms mckinley's library series. I will read this too - just to see what happens to these cute characters next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Yay

    Cant wait to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Good story - must read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Fun Series!

    A great murder mystery series!
    Fun and intriguing with a taste of suspense.
    Plus, it comes great cupcake recipes at the end of the books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Cat

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    great

    I enjoyed reading this book from the moment i started. It was entertaining and very intriguing. It was very well written and i can't wait to read her other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Darkness

    Wha...

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    U suck

    BOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Finn

    In da newspaper buis just dont post lies

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Mal

    It was a verygood book and very detail.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I am always looking for new authors to read, especially with mys

    I am always looking for new authors to read, especially with mysterys. I happen to come by this book at the Barnes and Noble store. I liked the cover and it reminds me of Jessica Beck's books. I read this book in 1 day. It's an easy read and you will adore the characters. You can tell from this first book in the series that Ms. McKinlay will have many options on developing their future. Also, if you love cupcakes like I do, you will get wonderful idea based on their creations. Enjoy the Read!! Book 2 is also out and the 3rd installment comes out in the summer 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Loved it

    I have enjoyed reading these books so much. While honeymooning in Arizona I had to visit Scottsdale. It was beautiful. Thanks Jenn for the books and a great vacation destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Enjoyed this new mystery series

    I found this new series to be exciting. It kept my interest going and couldn't wait to get back to reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Scrumptious Start to a New Mystery Series

    In a nutshell, if you like a good who did it, with believable characters in believable situations, with a tasty culinary background, then this is the book for you.

    Melanie Cooper and her best friend Angie DeLaura are the owners and operators of Fairy Tale Cupcakes, a cupcake bakery in Scottsdale, Arizona. Business is good and the two young women couldn't be happier. They are joined in this business venture by Tate Harper, their friend since grade school.

    It's Tate's upcoming nuptials that start the cupcake crumbling, when his caustic fashion designer bride to be, Christie Stevens, wants to contract Melanie to create 5 original cupcake flavors for their wedding.
    When I say contract, I mean contract, as in, the cupcakes become the bride's property and Melanie may not make them for sale in her shop. As it turns out, Bridezilla has extended the contract business to her gown designer and photographer.
    Understandably, this has all the creative types fuming, yet they are reluctant to take Christie on, as her name can mean bigger and better things to their futures. Who wants to go on record as turning down her business?

    Melanie creates the 5 flavors and they're picked up by Christie's assistants.
    The next morning, Melanie has an appointment at the crack of dawn to meet with Christie to see if her creations past muster. She arrives at Christie's design studio to find it quiet...too quiet...and discovers Christie's dead body, with one of Melanie's cupcakes at hand.

    Thus begins Melanie's efforts to clear herself and find out who did Christie in and why.
    There are numerous suspects, all with an ax to grind, and some clever hey-I-bet-it's-this-guy moments, that may or may not prove to be true.

    Jenn McKinlay deftly weaves a compelling tale, combining realistic dialogue and character actions that were very refreshing. I hate it when characters don't sound convincing and do dumb things, most especially in a mystery.
    Melanie, Angie and Tate form a great triad of friendship that obviously has stood the test of time and is put to the real test with Christie's murder.
    Supporting characters are well drawn and come and go as needed, including Melanie's mother and Angie's over-protective brothers.

    Have I mentioned the cupcakes?
    Oh, the cupcakes!
    4 recipes are included at the end of the book that sound divine.

    This is a brilliant start to a continuing series.
    The second book in the series, Buttercream Bump Off is available now. (And I went out and bought it as soon as I finished Sprinkle), with #3, Death By The Dozen due in October 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Treat yourself to this book.

    Sprinkled with Murder is deliciously delightful and without the calories. The author did a spendid job of portraying characters that we might know in real life. I enjoyed the spunky characters, the possible romance, the storyline, and just the overall flow of the book. I like culinary cozy mysteries and I found this book to be a favorite. It usually takes me a little while to get through a book, but I could not put this book down. When I had no choice to put it down (life gets in the way), my mind kept thinking about what is going to happen next and trying to figure out when I can get back to the book. When I finished the book, I immediately looked for the next one in the series. Not only is the book a treat, but the author includes recipes also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Great cozy

    Great story and characters. A fast read and a ,lot of laughs! Can't wait to start the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book

    Very good read. Interesting characters, moves along quickly. Some really good recipes at the end too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Great book, I never saw the ending comming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3