Customer Reviews for

Sputnik Sweetheart

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    An okay read

    This book was just okay. The ending seemed a little bit rushed and forced, and very out of nowhere. It was an easy read however, and I would read it if you are a Murakami fan. It wouldn't be a waste of time to read it, but the book might make you feel a bit unsatisfied. It wasn't too memorable, but fans should give it a read. Then go read Hardboiled Wonderland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Sad Surprised

    I'm finding the dialogue too contrived. This a little disappointing compared to his excellent others and I've decided to quit it here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    THIS NOVEL SHORT AND SWEET

    Although not much in length I would say this story still packs a punch and is worth paying for. I have never been to Japan or Greece for that matter and yet could still vividly see the characters there while I read about them. It involves a certain humor and mystery with existential romance that somehow feels genuine right from the start. Not easy to find a story like this one here unless you already know Murakami.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Written

    I was recommended this book by a friend and decided to give it a try. This book from the very beginning is a complete page turner. I found the characters to be very relatable. What I really love about this book is Hurakami's style of writing. Its very descriptive and really gives you a sense of whats going on both with the characters/their thoughts and with their surroundings. Overall I find this book really refreshing to read. The only thing that disppointed me a bit was the ending. It felt a bit abrupt, but all in all definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Sputnik Sweetheart is the first book I have read by Murakami. I thought it was a great book. It was very easy to read and it was very relaxing. The writing style is very unique and I thought it was refreshing. The story of the novel is also very unique. I would recommend this book to most people. It is something different and touching. I can't wait to read more Murakami!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Unrequited Passions

    This is an excellent book about unrequited love and unfulfilled passions, a modern story that is uniquely written and well worth the time to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    Sputnik Sweetheart; A Legacy of Self Understanding

    Sputnik Sweetheart is probably the most poignant and meaningful Japanese contempoary novel I have ever read. It is a story of a girl's love for another woman and how she had to go on a journey of self-discovery to understand herself, but finally returns to society. I love how the story is written in the first person style of her best friend (which his name isn't given). You will never read anything so eccentrically enjoyable with truly profound semantics as Sputnik Sweetheart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    Same ol'....Same ol'

    Sputnik Sweethear is Murakami's one novel written again. He still can't help dredging up the same ol' story line(disappearing, dying women), the same characters(It's the same main character as every other novel of his! He's in every novel!!), and imagery(below ground, well, etc.) that he always uses. Why do I feel like I am the only person that enjoys Murakami, but realizes that he just keeps repackaging the same stuff over and over again. He is a great writer who lost his imagination long ago. So...read one and you've read them all!! That being said his novel 'Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World' is his most imaginative and unique work to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    doesn't cut it

    Murakami's entertaining, but I still can't *feel* what he's trying to do; he really does want to make it emotional, but for me, somehow, he just can't pull it off. The novel's characters make lovely read-ables, and I finished the book in three days. Once again, he writes an engrossing, easy read, but... he's trying to get away with emotional punch that he can't throw. =/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Predictable, still fascinating...

    When Miu was up there staring at her own apartment, it was so predictable that she would see herself in it. This is the classic Murakami style. I've never loved one's writing like I do for Murakami. I would completely drown myself into his unreal world, and just imagine standing beside all those characters, feeling their emotions, sadness and loneliness. But if you consider yourself a happy person, you probably won't be touched by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    the duality of everything, putting yourself in the shoes of the one who is inside the mirror

    this is my second murakami book, my first novel from him though. every murakami's character reveals every emotion they have. it really lacks a good ending but better to be left that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Murakami at his best

    I wanted to grab a book off the shelf at Londaon Gatwick airport to get me back to the states in one sitting and this fine novel did the trick. Easy to read and very engrossing in its plot and narrative, Sputnik Sweetheart grabbed me from the first paragraph. I truly enjoy this author. After reading more difficult literary novels with deep themes, it is always refreshing to read something that has simpler language and construction while at the same time conveying the most important of ideas. This is a must read for those interested in themes about love and its aftermath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    mmm...

    i read Sputnik Sweetheart after West to the sun, east to the coast, and i found that sputnik had less 'substance' in it. the Sumire's disappearance was intriguing, but i expected a better ending... the book was still very interesting to read. i had lots of pleasure reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    bizzarre, but since when is that bad?

    I managed to read the book in two sittings - it was extremely involving. It starts off fairly light, and you don't realize how wrapped up you are until you look at the clock. It is extremely strange once Sumire disappears, but that only added to its quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3