Customer Reviews for

Spy Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will appreciate this sort of coming of age fantasy as the heroine fails to adjust to being mundane.

    Opal Cowen gave up magic when she siphoned off her blood to defeat the evil mage Ulrick (see Sea Glass). In Sitia, her mom is planning her other daughter's wedding which is driving her crazy and her boyfriend Kade is tied up with magical issues. Bored Opal wants to get back what she gave up by reversing what she previously did. However, the teen has a slight problem before she can begin the reversal procedural; someone stole the Sea Glass containing her blood. She ponders whether Ulrick might have some of her blood.

    Opal still can detect and deflect magic so obtains work keeping Councilor Moon safe from magical assaults. She also signs up for a spy training program that she hopes will enable her to find her blood. When she meets the head of security for the Commander of The Territory of Ixia, Vanek, he mentors her on power without magic. Now two males compete for her affection, but though she must choose between them, a desperate Opal stays focused on her quest. Using her future revealing spy glass and her beloved Quartz, Opal begins her quest to find her blood with the only acceptable outcome being having her magic restored.

    This is an exciting entry, but lacks the uniqueness of the glassmaking magic that Opal once possessed (though the previous tales). The quest is fascinating though at a much lower scale than the battle with Opal with the incarcerated in a maximum security prison Ulrick; as she is willing to risk death to regain what she sacrificed. With some romance as she has two males in her life competing for her affection, fans will appreciate this sort of coming of age fantasy as the heroine fails to adjust to being mundane.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the book, hated the ending

    Maria Snyder is one of my favorite authors and this book was no exception. I gobbled it up in two days. I love the stories of Yelena and Opal.

    If you haven't read one of Maria's stories before, you need to get the book "Poison Study" first. This is not one of those series that you can pick up in the middle.

    With that said I'll reiterate my title. I loved, loved, loved this book. However, when it can down to the ending I was a little disappointed in the direction that Maria decided to go, but that's just my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Good

    I still think she sill should haved stade with kade he never hurt her like devlen did

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Great third book!

    So i have to admit that although the first two books in the series were not my favorite this last book i really enjoyed. This book got my attention from the beginning unlike the other two. I would recommed this series because i think its a great change to magic stories. Loved the end id definetly read another Opal adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Exciting

    A wonderful world to escape into!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    I'm sorry....

    I'm sorry...I just can't get into this series...and I'm so disappointed, since I just loved the Poison Study series...I think it's the main character, who just annoys me to no end...where as i loved the main character in the Poison Study books (strong, focused, funny...and not whining all the time!)...wanted to like this series, but sorry, just can't.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    This one is a re-release so it is a rip-off. The book is good but not good enough to buy twice!!!

    This was a total rip off. I already bought the book which I loved but this is a re-release and not a new book at all. So I am very pissed off!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    The Glass Series

    Probably the best book in the series, but the author was able to give the reader a good ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good middle, but leaves more loose ends than it ties up

    In this installment of the Glass series Opal is dealing with the loss of her magic and having to come to terms with her new magic immunity. In the first few chapters we learn that there may still be some of Opal’s blood left from when she was drained in the culmination of book two, and it becomes Opal’s obsession to find it. This quest takes us mostly to places already visited throughout the trilogy, and while she does go through some new training and acquires some new skills I felt that this was perhaps one of the weaker plots in this series. It did not help that the foreshadowing in the prior books was, in my opinion, kind of forced into realization in this book. I did enjoy the twists with Opal’s personal life in this book, although I felt that the solidity of a partner she could enjoy equality with came rather late in the series. While this did give the relationship a depth, it also had me juggling several different secondary characters that I didn’t get to know as well, in the process, having me lose some of the intimacy in the story. The characterization in this book was good, and several new characters were introduced who I liked including Reema and Teegan, but it seemed that too many new elements were introduced without being resolved. Perhaps I was mistaken in looking at these books as a self-contained trilogy—and indeed I would be excited if Ms. Snyder wrote more in this world—but for the moment I find the experience left me wanting. It is hard for me to truly sum up my experience with this book. I had high hopes for this concluding book in the series and while in no way was it a bad book, it did not really live up to my—admittedly high—hopes for this trilogy’s finale. It is still a good book, but for me left so many loose ends that it seems obvious that Ms. Snyder is leaving room for more books in this series; and while I don’t truly have a problem with that I would have liked in not to come at the expense of this series having a more polished ending. Overall I would give this book three out of five stars ¿¿¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    awsome one can only hope there will be another book!

    ienjoy all of snyards book she is a great writer the fast pased adventures although the end seems to open like mabye there will be another book. one can only hope

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Disappointing

    The Glass Series as a whole is not one of my favorites, however I did enjoy reading it. This thrid book seemed to be an addition to the story of Opal that stretched a bit far. The story takes off not too long after Sea Glass has ended, and Opal is busy moping about the loss of her magic. She feels like she is less of a person, and has lost a large part of herself, but when it occurs to her that there is a way that she could regain her magic without injecting the blood of someone else into her body. So she leaves her family home, where her mother is busy planning the wedding of Opal's sister and Leif, and begins to cause more trouble than there would have been if she hadnt been involved at all. Opal begins another journey that takes her around the country and requires her to second guess her relationship with Kade and what exactly she wants from Devlen. To me the story seemed similar to what happened in parts of the other two books due to the repetitious nature and lack of thrill, and the end was a major disappointment to me. I am not sure I will be reading anything more by this author after this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I've enjoyed everything I've read my Maria Snyder, and this one was no exception. Opal has continued to prove that she deserved to be the lead character in her own series. Plus, it seems like the whole gang was in this one, and I loved it!
    I was afraid for part of the book at the direction Opal was headed. It seemed like she had a one track mind and wasn't paying attention to those people who cared about her. It felt like she had become addicted to magic, and once the thought was put in her head that she couldn't possibly get it back it was all she thought of. I really liked her interactions with Valek. It gave him a different face than the assassin/love interest that we meet in The Study Series. I also loved how she learned she wasn't alone. She had way more friends and family that truly cared about her than she realized.

    I also really enjoyed the surprise elements that were woven into the story. It's one of those things that make me want to read again to see if there are any hints that I can catch that clue the reader into what is really happening. I didn't catch them until the author point blank stated them. I was intrigued by the dangerous magical elements that are presented into the story. I understood from previous how horrible blood magic was, but the last part of this book really made it hit home. It was horrible watching Opal struggle to find loopholes in what she was ordered to do.

    The only downfall...for once I disagreed with who Opal choose in the end. I never have had that happen. Although, I do admit I understood why and then may have been the better choice. And, oddly my reasoning wasn't because of the reasons most people who expect.

    So, Maria Snyder goes on my list of favorite authors. She hasn't disappointed me yet. And I've realized I need to get the first book in her new series Inside Out as soon as possible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!

    I am so excited for the next book after Sea Glass! I have enjoyed all of Maria's books emensly and cannot wait for spy glass to come out. If you have not read any of Maria's other books, you must try them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6