BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Spy Who Came for Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It is definitely a different kind of

    I really enjoyed this book. It is definitely a different kind of Christmas Story full of suspense and nonstop action. I believe my favorite part of the story was Kegan's alternate theory of the Three Wise Men being spies. It was a fascinating interpretation of the original Christmas story.
    There is a good message intertwined as well about family and redemption. Definitely well worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    OK

    Didn't really enjoy this; can't put my finger on why . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Different Christmas book

    I read one Christmas book each year. This year it was Morrell's book. It was more than just a seasonal book. It had more depth than most of the usual seasonal offerings, which was a plus for me. Throw in a little mystery, intrigue and adventure, it raises the level of entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    The Spy Who Came to Dinner

    The Spy Who Came for Christmas by David Morrell, was a gift to me from my secret Santa this year. This was my first encounter with this author and what a great impression he left on me. David has been called ¿the father of the modern action novel¿, when I read that, I thought ¿okay, lets see how you hold up against my favorite action thriller writers¿, for I felt very confident that I have only read the best and I was sure I would of read something by him before now, if he was indeed that good. Whoa Nelly was I wrong! David is now added to my list of favorite action thriller writers.<BR/>This book contains a story within a story, both of which are very captivating. The stories take place on Christmas Eve. The main story has your bad guys against the good guys theme along with innocent bystanders involvement resulting in them uncovering strength, courage and love that they were unaware they possessed. The second story has the outline of the story of Jesus¿ birth yet the characters are spies and this story is fascinating! I don¿t know if this story has been told in this manner before or if this is part of David¿s magic, yet it was the first I had heard the story told in this manner and I do believe it is David¿s creation.<BR/>This was a fun and fast read, one that I would recommend to any lover of action/thriller novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    Interesting Tale

    This tale weaves the original Christmas travellers into the spy world which gives the reader much to ponder. David Morrell is an excellent author and this book doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    This is an exciting Santa Fe Christmas thriller

    The snow coming down on Christmas Eve in Santa Fe makes for a picturesque site, but two men, once friends, know otherwise that one or both of them will turn the pure white snow red with blood. Raging Russian Mafiosi Andrei feels betrayed by Pyotyr, whom he mentored he personally will kill him, but must act fast because if he fails to retrieve and deliver the package Pyotyr stole, his superior will assassinate him.---------- Pyotyr gave away his cover inside the Russian mafia to save the so-called peace baby whose popular religious father proclaimed him to be the bringer of world peace. Pyotyr is Paul Kagan who kidnapped the baby because he could not watch idly an infant being sold. He is hurt, tired and alone when he meets Meredith Brody and her twelve year old son Cole. They are planning to flee into the night to escape from abusive violent family patriarch Ted before he kills one of them in an alcoholic rage. Mother and son help the spy who has not quite come in from the cold carrying a baby.---------------------- This is an exciting Santa Fe Christmas thriller with an interesting cast developed just enough to make the events plausible. The plot is on the slender side, but fans of David Morrell and anyone who appreciates a fast-paced Yuletide action tale will enjoy this fun entry even if the baby seems too peaceful.------------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1