Customer Reviews for

A Spy in the House (The Agency Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Mary Quinn used to be a thief. In fact, she was rescued from certain death by hanging and brought secretly to a special school for girls. Here, she worked hard to change her station in life. Now, she's a young lady without a job and doesn't know where to turn next.

    Fortunately, her advisers at the school let her in on a secret. They have a spy agency where she'd be a perfect fit. They help out Scotland Yard and gather information. With her former skills, Mary would be perfect for the agency. Plus, they have a position in mind for her, after she undergoes training.

    Mary emerges and makes her way as a paid ladies companion to Angelica Thorold, a spoiled girl. Mary's duty, besides her job, will be to gather any intelligence on Angelica's father and his business in regards to smuggling items.

    Miss Thorold doesn't take to Mary. The two of them attempt to work out their differences in a variety of ways while Mary snoops about the house. When she finds nothing, she goes investigating at Mr. Thorold's business when she's caught, not by security, but by a man with similar concerns. He offers up a partnership where they share information each uncovers. Mary reluctantly agrees, but with time running out, will she risk too much and find her identity discovered?

    I read this mostly in one sitting and then wanted the next book immediately. I love both spy novels and the Victorian England era, and combining the two equals pure magical entertainment. A great feisty heroine, lots of danger, plenty of mysteries to untangle, and a little romance creates a wonderfully perfect first edition to a new series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Skit123

    It was amazing book that suprises and keeps you in supsense. I loved it and would recommend to ages 12 and older.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Review

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful Victorian mystery read.

    What I loved:

    The story was unique and thrilling.
    The writing style was great!
    The characters are interesting and not boring at all. Even the maids had a place in this story.
    The suspense amazing.
    It was interesting and fun to see the Victorian era in general and in London specifically.
    The few last chapters were breath taking. I had to stop myself from sneaking on the next page. I wasn’t 100% successful >_<”.
    It was set in London! What’s not to like?!

    What I disliked

    I would be crazy if I hated one thing about this book.


    Conclusion:

    If you’re looking for a wonderful YA thriller and mystery, this is your book. You won’t regret it at all even if you don’t enjoy stories set in the Victorian era.

    I should thank Y. S. Lee for writing such great books, I’m definitely a big fan of yours Open-mouthed smile.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Great Light Suspenseful Read

    I love the Mary Quinn/Lang book and i enjoyed James as well. A wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Y.S. Lee is the best new mystery author to hit the book/nook in years

    A great trilogy. Please continue with The Agency books. Y.S. Lee is one of the best writers I have read in years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Check out this book.

    Very good reading. Enjoyed it. A++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Loved it!

    I enjoyed Mary's story and look forward to reading more of her work as a spy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Tuyu

    Yb tuyty

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Fabulous!

    Fabulous! More please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Excellent Read

    The whole premise of The Agency in Victorian England is most interesting and foreward thinking. Y.S. Lee has done a great job of creating Mary Quinn as a very likeable and interesting character. Even though this was a relatively short book, I liked it so well, I had to get The Agency Series #2 and I'm sure I'll get The Agency Series #3. If you like good strong female types, mysteries and Victorian England, I think you'll really enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Awesome

    This is one of the very best mystery books i have ever read!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Soulkit

    Soulkit gives him a high paw. (Same, night! -yawn-)

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Blossompaw

    "Die!"

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Moonscar

    I can shoot snowballs with my tail! Eat frost, kittehs!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Bunneh

    (Den we're all 13! :D gtgtb)

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Karma

    WOO!!!!!!! YEAH!!! HIGH PAW!!! (Gtgtb. NIGHT!)

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    THE ALARM

    ALL SPIES TO YOUR STATIONS THIS IS CAN EMERGENCY ARIN TO COMUNICATIONS SARGENT COME TO FRAS FIRST REASULT

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Sergent Lianne Parkingsonner

    "Yes, sir!" She puts down her rifle.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Wow

    This book rivals the classic Nancy Drews when it comes to mystery, thrills, danger, and excitememt. From the very beginning Mary captured my heart.

    The characters were well developed and well layered. Even the typical spoiled brat personality had a deeper side that made her unique. I LOVE this bpok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2