Customer Reviews for

Spy in the Saddle (Harlequin Intrigue Series #1459)

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    Could be just another day in Texas, but not for Shep and the SD


    Could be just another day in Texas, but not for Shep and the SDDU team. The team must stop the terrorist in a few days and Shep must face Lilly, a girl from his past who is no longer a girl.




    Having a past puts Shep and Lilly into uncomfortable contact as they go undercover to find more intel to stop the terrorist. Who is the Coyote? As the danger takes them across the border into Mexico they realize the love they have for one another. If only they can make it work.




    Really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Shep works with the SDDU to catch smugglers and terrorists in a

    Shep works with the SDDU to catch smugglers and terrorists in a small town in Texas. With the knowledge of the when a big shipment will be moved and struggling to find out who the Coyote really is, FBI agent Lilly Tanner arrives to make sure they are doing what they are supposed to.

    Ten years earlier, Shep was Lilly's parole officer. She ran away and he lost his job. With so many swirling emotions between the two, will they be able to get the job done and catch the Coyote?

    This was another amazing book by Dana Marton! I have loved every single book I have read of hers and this one didn't disappoint. It was full of action and suspense. Also, some comedy and sparks fly between Shep and Lilly. I wish there was a little more info on Shep's background but other than that, it was a truly amazing read that I will definitely read over and over with the other books in this series!!


    I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest revie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Another terrific Spy book by Dana Marton.  Loved the character S

    Another terrific Spy book by Dana Marton.  Loved the character Shep Lewis who works for an undercover government agency that has 5 days to stop the biggest terrorest attack on U>S> soil since 9/11/  He is having enough trouble then finds out an FBI agent is bad enough bbut he finds out this agent 10 years ago had been his responsibility 10 years ago when he was a parole officer.  She skipped town with his car & burned his  house down.  When she shows she has grown into a beautiful women.  The interaction between the two is terrific.  Alot of action and the right amount of romance in this book.  Loved it.  Karen M.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Although I was a little disappointed in the character of Shep, D

    Although I was a little disappointed in the character of Shep, Dana has done a wonderful job compensating for the wonderful attention to detail with non-stop action and adventure and a little romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Spy In the Saddle is the third book in this wonderful series Dan

    Spy In the Saddle is the third book in this wonderful series Dana Marton has created and it was fantastic. I love the setting of this series which is in a small border town in Texas. It’s a hot and tough environment and the team is spread thin trying to gather intelligence
    and monitor the border for any activity to lead them to the capture of people involved in this act of terrorism. Sometimes they don’t do things by the book to get the job done. That is why FBI agent Lilly Tanner was sent in to check on the team and make sure they were doing their job. She is the last person Shep Lewis figured to see. Considering the history they shared wasn’t without problems. She had once almost destroyed his life. Once she arrived they both realized the chemistry they once had was still there. Shep couldn’t believe the woman she had grown up to be. The storyline continues where the last book left off and Shep and Lilly find themselves caught up in all things bad. As they work through what’s going on with the terrorists they realize they have to work together as partners. That puts them both in a position of having to come to terms with what they feel while trying to put a stop to the terrorists. I love how the story evolves and Shep reaches decisions about how he feels and finally comes clean with Lilly. Great storyline and the characters are well developed to allow the reader to connect and feel what they are going through. There is plenty of action throughout this book and it will keep you turning pages to see what happens next. Love the book and hope to see more from Dana Marton with these wonderful alpha males. Highly recommend! I received an ARC from the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Spy in The Saddle by Dana Marton I'm always thrilled to read an

    Spy in The Saddle by Dana Marton

    I'm always thrilled to read another adventure by Dana Martin. I'm drawn in immediately to the story and believable, imperfect characters. And while it's an spy action romp, I love the humor she includes in the story as well. This was a fast paced, fun romance novel and typical of Dana's style. I've included a couple of quotes below that show the humor and why I love Dana's writing style. Yes, a little silly on my part, but no reason romance can't be fun IMO. I will definitely read more of her novels.

    Shep Lewis, undercover commando part of a six-man team with credible intelligence that terrorists with their weapons of mass destruction would be smuggled across the border on October first. His team’s primary mission was to prevent that.
    Lilly Tanner is an FBI agent assigned to the group to provide assistance. Lilly and Shep have a history and maybe a little more?
    This book wraps up the open issues in the prior books from the series. It can be read as a stand alone.

    "Are we still part of the top secret Special Designation Defense Unit, or is this now the Wrecked by Cupid Team? Have changes been made while I’ve been out?”

    "Shep wished he knew where the button was to project him into an alternate universe."

    "No way was he going to do it again. Unless he absolutely had to kiss her to keep their cover. He would hate it next time. For sure."

    I received a copy of this book from the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love Dana Marton books! They aren't short stories or 400 page

    I love Dana Marton books! They aren't short stories or 400 page tales. They are just right and I read this in one afternoon. She has it all with broken relationships, Western ambiance, former Military men, a self sufficient woman a lots of action. She has a way of coming up with all these plots that really look like they could happen. It got a lot rough and messy in Mexico. So, did they get the "Coyote" and finish off the terrorists? Guess you will have to read the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed, Wonderful Book!! Dana Marton has done it again! I

    Action Packed, Wonderful Book!!
    Dana Marton has done it again! I loved this book, and was hooked from the first page. I stayed up all night reading this book.  I love all of the characters in this book and how the strong women keep these soldiers in line. Shep is working undercover trying to find the head of the terrorists who is trying to smuggle weapons into the US. Shep must work with FBI agent Lilly to help solve the case. Shep and Lilly have a past and a growing attraction for each other. I can’t wait to read more book hopefully with the other men on the undercover team.
    A Review copy was provided to me in exchange 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Recommended to Stacey by: the author and read the book glad i di

    Recommended to Stacey by: the author and read the book glad i did
    Recommended for: anyone who loves mystery and romance and action
    Read from October 19 to 20, 2013, read count: 1 time so far

    about spy in the saddle ..by dana marton ..
    Dana has written a great mystery in which smugglers corrupt politicians have to laugh here for me i never trust politics lol .
    . anyways moving on .. Shep is ofcourse if you have read this series it has jamie , ryder and others as well as shep ofcourse in
    the last book it was jamie's story this time its shep and someone from his past whom made an impact she had a rough time
     growing up who hasn't anyways the women now is Lilly whom is not really lilly anymore but this is what he shep calls her .. they
     have a major chemistry even though they are years in difference between them but still if you love someone is it not right to try to
     make it work or at least to make an effort .?? anyways amist this you have smugglers and gangsters murders ect .. why not through
     in some heat in the way of a steamy sex scene or two between the main characters Shep and Lilly ? well to read more and how
     their relationship pans out or if they can make it or not or if the bad guy got kicked in the ass sorta speak or if the bad guys gave
     the go around with the good guys to find or not find what they are smuggling .. click the buy button and then read then review ..
    . and then read on for more of Dana's books of this series and more .. i give this 5 stars and two thumbs up ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2015

    Shep Lewis is with a group of undercover operatives in Texas who

    Shep Lewis is with a group of undercover operatives in Texas who are trying to stop terrorists from smuggling weapons across the Mexican border. The group is working to identify the gang boss known as Coyote so they can get the border crossing location.

    The team is not happy about the FBI sending an agent to work with them, but Shep is shocked to see that the agent is Lilly Tanners who he hasn't seen in ten years. Lilly was a very difficult teenager and Shep was her parole officer. She ran away when she was 17, stealing Shep's car, burning his house down and getting him fired. Obviously he never forgot about her but now that she is a woman sparks fly. To make matters even worse, Lilly is also there to evaluate the SDDU team.

    Dana Marton definitely brings her characters to life in a big way. Shep and Lilly helped carry her story forward so that I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them. They really made this an enjoyable reading experience for me. 

    This author’s creativity and ability to charm her audience are put together in a well written package that you won’t be able to put down. Not only is this a brilliantly crafted story, but it is also a hard hitting tale. The conflicts between duty and what an individual wants stand out starkly in this story. It was a very unique and touching contrast.

    I am happy to have won this book in a giveaway and highly recommend this romantic suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    JAIDEN!

    Guess what.....TIMES UP! Someone spilled the beans! Now your found! PIECE A CAKE you guys aint top secret at all!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Heckathorne

    No TMS did not. Im still here. What we will do is coninue what TMS started. We will along with commander if he isnt dead yet will run the SSC. Chief, I need you to go to All of the Allegiant books. People post places for their nook s.e.x. My name will now be essence, because thatcis who I came to you guys as. I am Essence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Chief

    Tms left us to die

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    TMS TO ALL

    I have realized that I have an uncontrolable addiction to nook messaging, and it needs to stop. Now. Heckathorne, Chief, and Commander I hope I can leave you in charge. I am sorry it haad to be this way. Good luck, goodbye, and may the odds be ever in your favor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Even though I hadn't read the beginning of the series, I picked right up and wasn't lost. That is the way a book with multiples should be written. Excellent work!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    This book was great from start  to finish. There was a lot of tw

    This book was great from start  to finish. There was a lot of twist and turns.  keeps you reading to see what happens next.  You feel like you are part of the story.  I couldn't put it down.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    I was really excited to read this one as I loved My Spy. I was a

    I was really excited to read this one as I loved My Spy. I was a little let down but still pleased with the overall book. I found the characters a little off. I feel like Shep wasnt as 'manly' as i expected him to be. However, it was a great book with some really good action and suspense. I have still reccomended it to my friends even though i wasn't as into the main characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Chopped off a star for violence. Lots of deaths required to achi

    Chopped off a star for violence. Lots of deaths required to achieve security. Undercover commando action
    in the wars against terrorists and romantic feelings. Action-packed requiring Shep and Lilly to escape, get caught, escape, get caught again. They made discoveries about each other and themselves. I was sent a copy to give an honest review..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿ When Shep Lewis hears that an F





    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿








    When Shep Lewis hears that an FBI agent is going to join their covert government operation by the name of Lilly Tanner, he never thought it could  be the same Lilly who about ruined his life just ten years before. But there was no mistaking the woman who walked into their offices and set her eyes on him in obvious recognition. The little hellion was not so little anymore.




    Lilly had been eager for this assignment when she spotted Shep's name on the list of operators, she wanted an opportunity to apologize for the trouble she caused him, but also in part to show him that she had made something of herself after all. Finding out the extend of the damage she had left behind took all the cockiness out of her, however.




    Working together is going to be a bit of a challenge, since ten years does not seem to have diminished their mutual attraction one bit. Good thing that they are constantly kept on high alert in the middle of a smuggling operation, complicated with the threat of terrorists and weapons coming accross the border along the same route.




    But when their undercover explorations puts them in danger, their feelings can no longer be denied and those long dormant sparks flare into full fire. They will now have to fight to stay alive and save each other.....




    *****




    Although not with quite the same impact as Dana Marton's previous book in the series MY SPY, this story once again blends a strong suspense story line full of action, with a softer more emotional and insightful romantic tale.




    I didn't get to know enough about Shep. There didn't seem to be sufficient context for me to properly connect with him, although quite an appealing character on the surface, I didn't really figure out what makes him tick........why he is how he is. Shep's lingering feelings of responsibility for Lilly initially rule and overshadow his everpresent attraction, until he experiences first hand how much Lilly has developed and strengthened. Then he is able to put his full trust in her, both professionally and personally and lets loose on his passion.




    I got a better look at Lilly, who didn't have the happiest of childhoods and ended up in the system, leaving her with understandable feelings of unworthiness and unwantedness. Shep never made her feel that way.....not ten years ago and not now. Lilly always had a strong physical response to Shep and finds it more difficult now to keep her hormones in check. Back then she was not ready for all he represented, she needed time to come into her own, although her feelings have never changed, her outlook and her attitude have. She is ready, willing and able!!




    Dana Marton is very knowledgeable about standard police and FBI operating procedures and such details always make for clean and flawless investigative stories. Although Shep's unit skims the edges of proper procedure on a regular basis, the fact that they do, is clearly pointed out. It is one of the reasons Ms. Marton's books are such a pleasure to read. It is obvious a tremendous amount of appropriate research has been done, which is always a compliment to a discerning reader.




    A good, solid, quick and stimulating read by Dana Marton, who never disappoints.




    ¿Fast-paced, steamy-hot and action-packed!!¿




    **ARC provided in return for an honest review**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Another suspenseful adventure from Dana Marton that does not dis

    Another suspenseful adventure from Dana Marton that does not disappoint. You can feel the urgency the characters feel to find and stop the terrorists, but you can also feel the heat between the two main characters that keeps you turning the pages faster and faster to see how their story unfolds. You should definitely pick this book up as your next adventure into drama! The story line is relevant to topics of concern to everyone today with the plot twist of attempting to stop a terrorist attack on the US, but is interwoven with the story of Shep and Lilly which turns the heat up on the plot! Great character and emotional development as always! Can't wait to read the next Dana Marton story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2