Customer Reviews for

Spy in the Saddle (Harlequin Intrigue Series #1459)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    Although I was a little disappointed in the character of Shep, D

    Although I was a little disappointed in the character of Shep, Dana has done a wonderful job compensating for the wonderful attention to detail with non-stop action and adventure and a little romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Spy in The Saddle by Dana Marton I'm always thrilled to read an

    Spy in The Saddle by Dana Marton

    I'm always thrilled to read another adventure by Dana Martin. I'm drawn in immediately to the story and believable, imperfect characters. And while it's an spy action romp, I love the humor she includes in the story as well. This was a fast paced, fun romance novel and typical of Dana's style. I've included a couple of quotes below that show the humor and why I love Dana's writing style. Yes, a little silly on my part, but no reason romance can't be fun IMO. I will definitely read more of her novels.

    Shep Lewis, undercover commando part of a six-man team with credible intelligence that terrorists with their weapons of mass destruction would be smuggled across the border on October first. His team’s primary mission was to prevent that.
    Lilly Tanner is an FBI agent assigned to the group to provide assistance. Lilly and Shep have a history and maybe a little more?
    This book wraps up the open issues in the prior books from the series. It can be read as a stand alone.

    "Are we still part of the top secret Special Designation Defense Unit, or is this now the Wrecked by Cupid Team? Have changes been made while I’ve been out?”

    "Shep wished he knew where the button was to project him into an alternate universe."

    "No way was he going to do it again. Unless he absolutely had to kiss her to keep their cover. He would hate it next time. For sure."

    I received a copy of this book from the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Even though I hadn't read the beginning of the series, I picked right up and wasn't lost. That is the way a book with multiples should be written. Excellent work!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    I was really excited to read this one as I loved My Spy. I was a

    I was really excited to read this one as I loved My Spy. I was a little let down but still pleased with the overall book. I found the characters a little off. I feel like Shep wasnt as 'manly' as i expected him to be. However, it was a great book with some really good action and suspense. I have still reccomended it to my friends even though i wasn't as into the main characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Chopped off a star for violence. Lots of deaths required to achi

    Chopped off a star for violence. Lots of deaths required to achieve security. Undercover commando action
    in the wars against terrorists and romantic feelings. Action-packed requiring Shep and Lilly to escape, get caught, escape, get caught again. They made discoveries about each other and themselves. I was sent a copy to give an honest review..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿ When Shep Lewis hears that an F





    My rating: 4 of 5 ¿¿








    When Shep Lewis hears that an FBI agent is going to join their covert government operation by the name of Lilly Tanner, he never thought it could  be the same Lilly who about ruined his life just ten years before. But there was no mistaking the woman who walked into their offices and set her eyes on him in obvious recognition. The little hellion was not so little anymore.




    Lilly had been eager for this assignment when she spotted Shep's name on the list of operators, she wanted an opportunity to apologize for the trouble she caused him, but also in part to show him that she had made something of herself after all. Finding out the extend of the damage she had left behind took all the cockiness out of her, however.




    Working together is going to be a bit of a challenge, since ten years does not seem to have diminished their mutual attraction one bit. Good thing that they are constantly kept on high alert in the middle of a smuggling operation, complicated with the threat of terrorists and weapons coming accross the border along the same route.




    But when their undercover explorations puts them in danger, their feelings can no longer be denied and those long dormant sparks flare into full fire. They will now have to fight to stay alive and save each other.....




    *****




    Although not with quite the same impact as Dana Marton's previous book in the series MY SPY, this story once again blends a strong suspense story line full of action, with a softer more emotional and insightful romantic tale.




    I didn't get to know enough about Shep. There didn't seem to be sufficient context for me to properly connect with him, although quite an appealing character on the surface, I didn't really figure out what makes him tick........why he is how he is. Shep's lingering feelings of responsibility for Lilly initially rule and overshadow his everpresent attraction, until he experiences first hand how much Lilly has developed and strengthened. Then he is able to put his full trust in her, both professionally and personally and lets loose on his passion.




    I got a better look at Lilly, who didn't have the happiest of childhoods and ended up in the system, leaving her with understandable feelings of unworthiness and unwantedness. Shep never made her feel that way.....not ten years ago and not now. Lilly always had a strong physical response to Shep and finds it more difficult now to keep her hormones in check. Back then she was not ready for all he represented, she needed time to come into her own, although her feelings have never changed, her outlook and her attitude have. She is ready, willing and able!!




    Dana Marton is very knowledgeable about standard police and FBI operating procedures and such details always make for clean and flawless investigative stories. Although Shep's unit skims the edges of proper procedure on a regular basis, the fact that they do, is clearly pointed out. It is one of the reasons Ms. Marton's books are such a pleasure to read. It is obvious a tremendous amount of appropriate research has been done, which is always a compliment to a discerning reader.




    A good, solid, quick and stimulating read by Dana Marton, who never disappoints.




    ¿Fast-paced, steamy-hot and action-packed!!¿




    **ARC provided in return for an honest review**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Another suspenseful adventure from Dana Marton that does not dis

    Another suspenseful adventure from Dana Marton that does not disappoint. You can feel the urgency the characters feel to find and stop the terrorists, but you can also feel the heat between the two main characters that keeps you turning the pages faster and faster to see how their story unfolds. You should definitely pick this book up as your next adventure into drama! The story line is relevant to topics of concern to everyone today with the plot twist of attempting to stop a terrorist attack on the US, but is interwoven with the story of Shep and Lilly which turns the heat up on the plot! Great character and emotional development as always! Can't wait to read the next Dana Marton story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Spy in the Saddle is the third book in the HQ:Texas series, abou

    Spy in the Saddle is the third book in the HQ:Texas series, about a team of undercover commandos, part of the Special Designation Defense Unit on patrol at the Texas Mexico border. This story concerns Shep Lewis, a former parole officer who was fired from his job ten years ago when his seventeen year old charge stole his car, set his house on fire, and then sent emails to him saying she ran away because she was romantically attracted to him. Sharp thought he had put all this behind him, until the new FBI consultant walks into their office and turns out to be his former charge, Lilly Tanner, ten years older and more beautiful and alluring then ever. Can he work out his attraction to her and complete their mission, preventing the very credible threat of terrorists crossing the border into the US with weapons of destruction? Can he stop the elusive Coyote, mastermind behind these threats, as well as drug and gun smuggller? And then with all this, Lilly insists on going undercover at the local bar suspected to be involved in the smuggling. I enjoyed the story, which had a good mix of romance and action. Disclosure: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1