Customer Reviews for

Spy the Lie: Former CIA Officers Teach You How to Detect Deception

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    I just completed this book in one sitting. I could not put it do

    I just completed this book in one sitting. I could not put it down. Practical, useful and something you can put into effect immediately. It delivers what other books just promise and is obviously the work of experts who have had to use these skills in the field when the stakes are high; that alone makes it the best in the field.

    As for the person who gave one star because it was not shipped on time. That is a critique of B&N and not the book, and so has no place in a book review section.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Spy the Lie is a very interesting and straight forward book that

    Spy the Lie is a very interesting and straight forward book that has given me tools that I can use in my daily life as a father and businessman. The knowledge and experience from the authors couldn't be more credible. I would recommend this book to everyone whether your a parent, Business owner, co-worker, retired. etc.. Also its' a good reference when at the end of the day I question myself on something that happened that day.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Spy the Lie provides credible information on the practice of det

    Spy the Lie provides credible information on the practice of detecting deception. The authors—Philip Houston, Michael Floyd, and Susan Carnicero—have thorough experience interviewing criminal suspects, CIA employees, and ordinary people from their former careers as CIA officers. Their skills are specialized for determining whether they are being told a lie. I chose this book over many others like it, for the book cover captivated me in the possibility of being able to elicit the truth when needed and that CIA officers are the ones informing me.
    The best quality of this nonfiction piece is the honesty of the authors. They let the reader know that the book will not transform you into a perfect lie detector nor is there "such [a] thing as a human lie detector” (15). Furthermore, the techniques, included in the text, need to be fully understood and practiced before being used. In the book, it identifies faults that are embedded in the human mind that need to be overcome before one is able to spy the lie. The authors write on a level that allows the reader to connect with their own experiences. For example, Philip Houston was questioning a man when “he found himself looking for reasons to believe him” (14). I, on many accounts, dismiss the lies and search for truth. The book lets the reader know it’s a natural human habit that can be fixed with some practice. Tips given are to be utilized into transforming your mind for detecting deception.
    Another quality of this book to be noticed is the variation of tools used to express their ideas. Two diagrams illustrate the idea of the “cluster rule” previously explained to be two or more deceptive behaviors occurring after a question (34-35). Visual learners benefit from the diagrams, for they give visual examples of the techniques put to use in real life contexts. Throughout the book, inserts of examples are provided to enhance the readers understanding of what to look for. By including this, the authors give definitive examples to keep you from guessing which statements are deceptive. It gives you specific elements that are often used to hide the truth.
    Overall, this nonfiction work is qualified for a five star review. I have incorporated the information I learned into everyday life, and the effects are incredible. Although I am not stopping terrorists or saving the world, I am eliminating the lies I believed from my life and uncovering the truth every day. Many people I associate with think they are sneaky by lying to my face, but little do they know Spy the Lie has given me the upper hand on my peers. I recommend this book to anyone who has ever wanted to detect the deception in their life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    A very Good Read on the subject of Deception

    I have read this book and find it very enlightening and informative. I have used some of the techniques that are described in this book when I was interviewing suspected perpetrators.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Excellent info

    This is one of the best books I've read on interrogation techniques. But it also has practical applications for everyday life in dealing with people. I originally got this from the library but now wanted my own copy. Right after I finished the book, I watched the Benghazi hearings. Clinton & Co. were textbook examples of the strategies used by those who want to evade the truth: changing the subject, blaming others, the excuse that "everyone does it", the eye shifts, etc. Would highly recommend this one to anyone interested in intelligence matters or psychological techniques. A fascinating & informative read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    This book is not a lie

    It works I've used it a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    This book is interesting and easy to read.  The authors teach pr

    This book is interesting and easy to read.  The authors teach principles for spotting possible deception when someone is answering your questions.  They use examples from real life situations in the news and from their own previous cases to illustrate their principles.  They cover a variety of types of situations, including giving specific helps to parents trying to figure out if their child is telling them the truth.  The authors caution that employing their principles will not tell you absolutely that someone is lying but it will let you know when someone is likely to be lying and gives suggestions regarding digging more deeply into the suspicious answers.




    I would encourage all adults to read this book.  Most if not all of us face situations where we wonder if someone is really telling us the truth, and this book gives useful information on evaluating people's responses and also includes practical suggestions for how to follow up on unsatisfactory answers.  The information in this book is something almost all of us can use; it does not require special skills, such as the ability to detect minute changes in facial expressions, that some methods of detecting deception rely on.  This book contains easy to read information that should be useful to just almost everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1