BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Spycatcher (Spycatcher Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a fun espionage counterterrorist thriller

In New York, MI6 agent Will "Spartan" Cochrane searches for Iranian Revolutionary Guard international terrorist Megiddo. Spartan's hunt is professional as the agencies know this terrorist has a nasty scheme and personal as this terrorist killed his father over two deca...
In New York, MI6 agent Will "Spartan" Cochrane searches for Iranian Revolutionary Guard international terrorist Megiddo. Spartan's hunt is professional as the agencies know this terrorist has a nasty scheme and personal as this terrorist killed his father over two decades ago.

Having been shot, Spartan works the case injured but will not rest until this animal is stopped. He locates the alleged former lover of Megiddo in Paris. Journalist Lana Beseisu agrees to assist Will even as they are attracted to one another. However, Spartan vows to keep his hands off his partner until the mission is completed; then all bets are off. As they get closer to their target, Megiddo proves quite elusive.

This is a fun espionage counterterrorist thriller starring a fascinating hero who seems like a combination of Doc Savage and his entire team. Spartan's extreme fitness training enables him to deal with a multitude of wounds though it still seems over the top but in an entertaining way. Fans of cat and mouse spy games will relish the chess match as this is one British field agent who prefers the cold.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Decent, but Mindless Action

Spycatcher is your typical spy thriller. Will Cochrane is an MI6 agent with seemingly superhuman powers, sent to take down the Iranian terrorist, Megiddo, who's threatening an attack on either Britain or the United States. Will is basically a rugged James Bond (ironical...
Spycatcher is your typical spy thriller. Will Cochrane is an MI6 agent with seemingly superhuman powers, sent to take down the Iranian terrorist, Megiddo, who's threatening an attack on either Britain or the United States. Will is basically a rugged James Bond (ironically, both are MI6 agents). At first I felt that the author was trying too hard to mimic Bond in his character, but later realized that Matthew Dunn was a real MI6 agent. After that, my interest shifted from the book to the author because, frankly, the book wasn't all that good. Will Cochrane is constantly withstanding life-threatening injuries and returning to the chase the next day "a little stiff". I realize it's a work of fiction, but I expected it to be more realistic, especially when it's written by a former MI6 agent. Will's impossible resilience also ruined the suspense. I soon realized that he could be decapitated and still show up for work the next day; I certainly never wondered if he would make it out alive. All things considered, Spycatcher is decent if you're looking for mindless action. If you require a bit more realism to satisfy your palate, I'd pass this up.

Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Decent, but Mindless Action

    Spycatcher is your typical spy thriller. Will Cochrane is an MI6 agent with seemingly superhuman powers, sent to take down the Iranian terrorist, Megiddo, who's threatening an attack on either Britain or the United States. Will is basically a rugged James Bond (ironically, both are MI6 agents). At first I felt that the author was trying too hard to mimic Bond in his character, but later realized that Matthew Dunn was a real MI6 agent. After that, my interest shifted from the book to the author because, frankly, the book wasn't all that good. Will Cochrane is constantly withstanding life-threatening injuries and returning to the chase the next day "a little stiff". I realize it's a work of fiction, but I expected it to be more realistic, especially when it's written by a former MI6 agent. Will's impossible resilience also ruined the suspense. I soon realized that he could be decapitated and still show up for work the next day; I certainly never wondered if he would make it out alive. All things considered, Spycatcher is decent if you're looking for mindless action. If you require a bit more realism to satisfy your palate, I'd pass this up.

    Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun espionage counterterrorist thriller

    In New York, MI6 agent Will "Spartan" Cochrane searches for Iranian Revolutionary Guard international terrorist Megiddo. Spartan's hunt is professional as the agencies know this terrorist has a nasty scheme and personal as this terrorist killed his father over two decades ago.

    Having been shot, Spartan works the case injured but will not rest until this animal is stopped. He locates the alleged former lover of Megiddo in Paris. Journalist Lana Beseisu agrees to assist Will even as they are attracted to one another. However, Spartan vows to keep his hands off his partner until the mission is completed; then all bets are off. As they get closer to their target, Megiddo proves quite elusive.

    This is a fun espionage counterterrorist thriller starring a fascinating hero who seems like a combination of Doc Savage and his entire team. Spartan's extreme fitness training enables him to deal with a multitude of wounds though it still seems over the top but in an entertaining way. Fans of cat and mouse spy games will relish the chess match as this is one British field agent who prefers the cold.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is this mission possible? You'll have to read it to find out!

    The latest novel from Matthew Dunn, Spycatcher, has so many details and expertise of scenarios that you automatically begin to see yourself as the main character. Will Cochrane is a super elite MI6 agent code named Spartan, who goes out to seek his father's killer who has plotted to strike against the US or the UK. This plot sends him and his crew on a hunt for Meggido, a mastermind behind many of Iran's terrorist plots to bring down the west.

    Little does Will know that this mission is perhaps the most perilous mission that he and his crew will face. Will's pick of the finest trained operative's may never see the end of this mission. Does Will have what it takes to bring Meggido down, or will he succumb to his most deadly nemesis to date? Spycatcher is a never ending twist of action, mystery, and never ending action that you will not want to put the book down from the moment you open the cover!

    I received this book compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I have to give this book a 5 out of 5 stars for the storyline that sounds like it came out of experience rather than imagination! A must read for all of the military, mystery, and spy junkies! Thank you Matthew for such an exhilarating ride while reading! Thank you Matthew Dunn for Spycatcher!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Spy-thriller is not my typical genre read but this one caught my

    Spy-thriller is not my typical genre read but this one caught my eye and I figured I should round out my reader's advisory.

    Will Cochrane is an MI6 agent who, over the course of the years, has lost his family, any sense of personal identity, and survives only on the adrenaline surge of his work. Suddenly, though, Will comes face to face with not only his family history and the opportunity to avenge his father's death (also a former agent), but also the call to necessarily save the West from a ruthless, elusive terrorist.

    Dunn's writing is lightening quick, engaging and seemingly well-researched, as his personal experience as an agent for British Secret Intelligence Service would indicate.

    My only questionable thought during the adventure was, "Just how many times can one man be knifed, shot, and hit in the head and walk about the next day?" Okay, maybe also, "Will they really let you fly that stoned? Maybe it's a first class thing."

    The next installment, Sentinel, comes out in August and I look forward to picking it up as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Harriet klausner and plot spoilers

    Too many plot spoilers here ruining the book including the ever present harriet klausner who absolutly ruins every book she comes across. Why do these people feel like they have to tell the entire story in their so called reviews? A simple line or two to say if its good or not is enough. Bn pleaseban these plot spoilers and delete their plot spoiling posts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Slooooooooooowwwwwww

    Extremely slow. Limited descriptions of action scenes. Could not finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Long and tedious reading

    This book is very long and the reading is tedious. Very little dialog. Descriptions are so detailed that the main thought of the description is lost. Very, very violent. I won't be buying the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What A Mess

    There is a lot to like in Mathew Dunn's novel, Spycatcher. But you have to ignore a lot to enjoy it. A terrorist threat is discovered, but where and against whom is unknown. Massive death could result. So the US spares 4 CIA agents and Britain spares one M16 agent. That's right. In the face of this horrible threat the government can only muster up 5 men to fight it. They then bring in a woman who might have ties to the mastermind of the threat. Apparent romance is ensuing between her and the lead agent. Romance that is so wooden that the reader is a fool to believe it will come to pass. So we travel the world, this tight band of men trained to kill matching wits in place after place until one or more of them is down. Does the government then come up with replacements in the face of this horror? Um, no. The resulting chase to stop the bad guys leads to a cheap New York hotel. What happens there is amazing. What happens after that is amazing. By now you know what I might mean by amazing. Enjoy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    fun action read

    "Spycatcher" by Matthew Dunn, a former MI6 spy himself, tells the story of MI6 spy Will Cochrane, a man sent on a mission to track down Meggido, a long-feared terrorist who is planning operations in the U.S. and Britain.

    The story starts with a bang, as Cochrane is forced to kill his own informer, after the two-sided spy is injured by the terrorists and Cochrane fears that if this informer is captured, he will divulge all their secrets. Cochrane is then summoned back to his boss's office who gives him the assignment that forms the basis of this book.

    Cochrane travels to Serbia where he meets Lace, a sketchy businessman who has relations with MI6 and claims he has a lead about Meggido. Supposedly, Lace met a certain dangerous man when the Yugoslavia war was raging in the early 1990s and this man was aiding certain troops, by slipping money to Lana, a journalist and his eventual lover, who secretly carried the money to them, thus enabling them to purchase weapons and other supplies-using her profession as cover. Lace suspects that this man was Meggido.

    Quickly enough, Cochrane comes up with a plan. He flies to Paris, where Lana now lives, and plans to use her as bait for Meggido. Only things are a lot more sinister than they seem.

    I thought Dunn's personal experience made this book more authentic, than many of the current spy novels out there. Fans of James Bond are likely to embrace Will Cochrane.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Suspenseful

    Really enjoyed this book. Do not usually read spy novels. This one really grabbed me from the start. Look forward to reading the rest of the series
    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    a skipper

    not just a skimmer but a skipper. I read the first 100 pages and skipped to the last 20 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    A true gut shot

    Agonizing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    If he has been there and done that it is obvious

    That the poor man is delusional and needs the royalties for therapy before he tries to fly off a cliff what are the royalties of 98 cents? writing for 15 min a day in a journal then not reading it for three months is usually part of depression therapy after meds exercise and diet and talk therapy. there is reality therapy but he missed that page counter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    A good spy tale

    Enjoyed the intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Matthew Dunn in his new book, "Spycatcher" Book One in

    Matthew Dunn in his new book, "Spycatcher" Book One in the Spycatcher series published by William Morrow introduces us to master spy Will Cochrane.




    From the back cover: Will Cochrane is the CIA's and MI6's most prized asset... and deadliest weapon. Since childhood, the only world he has ever known is a clandestine realm of elaborate lies and unholy alliances-where trust is rare, betrayal comes cheap, and a violent death is often the penalty for being outplayed by an opponent. Cochrane has never been outplayed... So far.




    Now his controllers have a new game: neutralize one of the world's most wanted terrorists, believed to be a general in the Islamic Revolutionary Guards. Cochrane's unpredictability makes him the one agent capable of catching his adversary off guard, and he believes he has the perfect plan. But on a breakneck race through the capitals of Europe and into America's Northeast, the spycatcher will discover that his prey knows the game all too well...and his agenda is more terrifying than anyone could have imagined.




    This is a great beginning that introduces us to a 21st Century spy, Will Cochrane, Code Name Spartan. In this adventure Cochrane's life is great danger as he is charged with bringing down the mastermind terrorist behind many of Iran's plots to bring down the west. I think that the really best spy stories are the ones when they are spy versus spy. Sometimes equally matched, sometimes not, one knows the other but only the one and generally the bad guy. This is the environment that Will Cochrane finds himself embroiled in. As a former MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep-cover deployments, small arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration, and conducted approximately seventy missions - all of them successful. If anyone can write about spy versus spy missions with authenticity it is Mr. Dunn. "Spycatcher" is a wonderful thriller as the tension mounts as Cochrane is on the run from Europe to America to stop a threat and keep from getting killed. "Spycatcher" is loaded with twists and turns and red herrings that will leave you guessing all the while you are flipping pages to find out what happens next. When you finish this book you will heave a hugely satisfying sigh because you have enjoyed yourself immensely. Mr. Dunn has provided us with a great spy in Will Cochrane. I am already looking forward to the next book in this series from this very talented author.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harper Collins. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    0-0

    At death sword

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Spycatcher & bullet collector

    This is a nice quick & easy read, about what else-the attempt to stop a terrorist attack before it occurs. It seems all the current thrillers have this same plot.
    Regardless, the first few pages were great, filled with a lot of action, but when the main chaaracter, Will Cochrane catches, not one, or two, but three deadly bullets in the gut, any one of which would kill any man, military trained, or not and then walks out of the hospital the next day, with only minor discomfort...this is where the novel lost it's 5th star for me. Don't get me wrong, I love a good action thriller, and this one has plenty of action, but the author should have taken more thought into the use of non-lethal injuries, if he wanted to make this story even remotely believable.
    I'm a big Matt Reilly fan, and he stretches the believable point well past the breaking point, but even his character die from unsurvivable injuries. Not so, Will Cochrane.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Fabulous!!

    A really great read. Very well written. The characters and the atmosphere really ring true. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2