Customer Reviews for

Spying in High Heels

Average Rating 4
( 1601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(624)

4 Star

(521)

3 Star

(260)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A truely enjoyable series

Stumbled over this book when I was purchasing the 3rd book in the Dorothy Howell series (a must read also) - the High Heel Series is definitely worth reading - totally enjoyable and entertaining, you fall in love with the characters and the author keeps you totally enga...
Stumbled over this book when I was purchasing the 3rd book in the Dorothy Howell series (a must read also) - the High Heel Series is definitely worth reading - totally enjoyable and entertaining, you fall in love with the characters and the author keeps you totally engaged in each book!!! I read the first 4 books in 1 week - saving the 5th book to read on the plane to Vegas this week!!!

posted by luv2read2PA on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Author in need of an editor

had i actually highlighted alll the spelling errors, tense issues, and grammatical errors nearly every page would have some color. that aside, the story line contained mix of pg-rated romance, drama, and murder mystery. a quick and easy read.

posted by KShaw_PA on December 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Author in need of an editor

    had i actually highlighted alll the spelling errors, tense issues, and grammatical errors nearly every page would have some color. that aside, the story line contained mix of pg-rated romance, drama, and murder mystery. a quick and easy read.

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    An ok read but I was hoping for more.

    Would have been much better without the annoying pregnancy subplot. Would be willing to read another in this series if it was free/cheap.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    This chick is quirky but makes so many dumb choices its hard to

    This chick is quirky but makes so many dumb choices its hard to root for her. I wanna know what happens with Ramerez but thats about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    it's okay

    It's okay although I didn't finish the book. I know there are more than 5 books in this series. Looked interesting enough but once I got to reading it reminded me a lot of the Lexi Graves series. Which I love! So it may have been the fact that I have already read that series and this one was to much like it. The writing was not bad nor was the story line, but for me it just wasn't working.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Definitely a copycat attempt at the Stephanie Plum books, but no

    Definitely a copycat attempt at the Stephanie Plum books, but nowh
    ere near them in believable characters Janet Evanovich writes!  
    It is simply a story about a ditzy girl who thinks her own thoughts
    are just too cute!  She's just a bumbling horny twenty-something with 
    a brain that has read only comic books and catalogs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    This book is good for a laugh, but Maddie is just not believable

    This book is good for a laugh, but Maddie is just not believable for long. She gets herself into so much trouble that you wonder why anyone would be interested in her and how she can possibly not learn from past mistakes. I enjoyed the first book but gave up after the second. It's too repetitive and the romance is a tease for no good reason.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Boring

    This is one book I didn't finish.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Eh

    It was ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Poor writing style

    I was not impressed with Gemma Halliday's writing style. She always included all these afterthoughts and I found it very annoying and immature. I can see where 14 year olds might like her books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Quick read, mindless but mildly imaginative

    I purchased this book as an under $5.00 for my Nook. The cover and other user reviews made it intriguing enough to give Gemma Halliday a try.

    The Nook Book is close to 700 pages, which is fine - if the plot isn't as repetitive and trite as this tome is. She is obsessed with her heroine, Maddie Singleton's, diet of junk food, describing Maddie's mother's 1980's get ups, repetitive in describing her mother's best friend's "waddle" and 300 pound frame. It gets old quickly. She is also quite juvenile in her heroine's relationship with her fantasy boyfriend, Jackson Wyoming Ramierez. You will have no idea why he is attracted to her, a junk food loving, exercise eschewing, meddling, naive shoe designer-cum-"private investigator". The non-relationship relationship also gets old and annoying.

    All-in-all, if you have nothing better to read on a plane or beach vacation, this is harmless enough. The killer will be a bit of a surprise - but that's about it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Not my cup of tea!

    The plot was a little silly and predictable. I can't recommend it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    bubblegumm

    well, its a cute read and good sexual tension between lead character and cop but it gets a little old reading about her late period and not wanting to take the pregnancy test. not sure if I will read any of the others...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Recommended but has problems!!

    My book download stopped at page 578! Easy to read but has MANY grammer and punctuation problems.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    what's missing?

    I did finish it but I don't know why. Just could not get into this or care about the plot or characters. Where was the girlie fun or excitement?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Very Light Reading - A Bit Too Light

    I think this was one of the free Friday books, or it might have been one of the 99 cent specials, so I guess anything you get for that is worth it. However the rest of the books in the series are $3.99 and I don't think I will purchase the rest. It is definitely light reading. I think this book might appeal to young adult women, the same age group as the main character. I did not find there was enough plot or character development to hold my attention. Maybe a good read for the beach.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A little too stupid

    Easy read but, the main character is a little too stupid to take in large doses. I could only read about an hour at a time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Ok

    Pretty good story line. I really did not like all the curse words.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    I deleted subsequent books in the series from my Nook reading list

    I would expect better writing and command of the English language from someone who has been the "recipient of numerous awards" (according to her website. There were times I had to stop and re-read a sentence to make sense of it, due to lack of punctuation. I had to stop counting the dangling participles and incomplete sentences, which were very distracting.

    Aside from the language and writing errors, this book is a light beach read at best. By the time I hit the halfway mark in the book, I really didn't care much about the characters, the end of the story was predictable and it was the literary equivalent of eating a couple bowls of cotton candy. Not that I expected it to be much else, but don't get this book thinking there will be red herrings or twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat. Many words are spent detailing driving the Los Angeles freeways, which seems to have little, if anything, to do with moving the story forward. I live in Los Angeles and not only are the freeways not that interesting, on a normal day you'd find it impossible to get from point A to point B as fast as this character does.

    In general, this book is a messy fluff piece and I've deleted any subsequent books by this author from my Nook sample reading list.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Disappointed

    I am a sucker for cheesy girlie books, so I really thought I would enjoy this book. I made it a few chapters in and stopped. Rather than being able to actually describe the temperature, surroundings, or feelings, she used an endless supply of similes. I was hoping for something a little more like Lauren Weisberger.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Dont know how it ends!!!

    This book downloaded as having 790 pages?! I was able to read until the 19th chapter when it just stopped. Not too happy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5