Customer Reviews for

Spying in High Heels

Average Rating 4
( 1597 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(622)

4 Star

(520)

3 Star

(259)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A truely enjoyable series

Stumbled over this book when I was purchasing the 3rd book in the Dorothy Howell series (a must read also) - the High Heel Series is definitely worth reading - totally enjoyable and entertaining, you fall in love with the characters and the author keeps you totally enga...
Stumbled over this book when I was purchasing the 3rd book in the Dorothy Howell series (a must read also) - the High Heel Series is definitely worth reading - totally enjoyable and entertaining, you fall in love with the characters and the author keeps you totally engaged in each book!!! I read the first 4 books in 1 week - saving the 5th book to read on the plane to Vegas this week!!!

posted by luv2read2PA on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Author in need of an editor

had i actually highlighted alll the spelling errors, tense issues, and grammatical errors nearly every page would have some color. that aside, the story line contained mix of pg-rated romance, drama, and murder mystery. a quick and easy read.

posted by KShaw_PA on December 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 622 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A truely enjoyable series

    Stumbled over this book when I was purchasing the 3rd book in the Dorothy Howell series (a must read also) - the High Heel Series is definitely worth reading - totally enjoyable and entertaining, you fall in love with the characters and the author keeps you totally engaged in each book!!! I read the first 4 books in 1 week - saving the 5th book to read on the plane to Vegas this week!!!

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    A really fun mystery

    Maddie Springer is the lead character and she gets into all kinds of funny situations and stumbles across a dead body. Her and her best friend Dana, an actress/fitness trainer, dress up as hookers to investigate, and then they get into all kinds of trouble. This is just the first book in the series and they get better and funnier as you go along.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In Los Angeles, shoe designer Maddie Springer thinks she might be pregnant when she misses her period, a biological condition that the government could use to set the atomic clock. She goes to her every Friday lunch date with her boyfriend Richard Howe planning to tell him about her concern, but though she is late (a usual occurrence unlike her always on time period) when Maddie arrives at the law office of Dewy, Cheatum, and Howe he tells her he cannot do lunch. A few days later, Maddie is worried about her boyfriend whom she has not heard from since his abrupt end to their lunch. She soon learns that LAPD detective Jack Ramirez suspects Richard embezzled $20 million. She believes he is innocent and sets off with the help of her best friend Dana to prove he is not guilty so he can be there when she takes the rabbit test. As the amateurs investigate and stumble over corpses and clues while destroying crime scenes, their inquiries lead them to believe a blond female has killed two suspects and is trying to murder everyone associated with the embezzlement including two bumbling sleuths. This amateur sleuth chick lit tale runs on full octane even with the heroines prancing around L.A. in stiletto high heels. The amusing story line is fast-paced as Maddie and Dana cause havoc to the killer, the cop, and a bunch of eccentrics who believe the daring duo are crazy weirdoes. No Birkenstock with this duo as Gemma Halliday provides an inane zany but totally fun whodunit, chick lit style. Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    I might have rated it if i could read it!

    This book would not open. Thank goodness I didn't spend any money on it and wanted to see the free sample first. Obviously this is a problem based on the past reviews. I GUESS BARNES AND NOBLE TOO BIG A CORPORATION TO CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION as they have proven YET AGAIN! (I am also speaking about the "SAMPLE COOKBOOK" that they downloaded to nooks during the latest software update that you have to be a computer engineer to delete. I love my Nook but I can't say I'm surprised by Barnes and Noble's lack of attention to detail yet again. Just sit back and count your money guys, don't worry about us.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ohmigod!

    I absolutely loved this book! I finished this in one day, I just couldnt get myself to put my tablet down! When I did put it down I couldnt wait to get back to it! Cant wait to start the next one!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    A laugh out loud experience.

    The first of a really fun and enjoyable series. You must read them all. She and Stephanie Plum must be sisters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    An Outrageously Funny Cozy Mystery

    This book was hilariously awesome. Almost every page had something that had me laughing out loud. Sometimes so hard that I was tearing up and getting a bellyache! The pacing was excellent, and the plot was great. The whodunit aspect was done so well that I never figured out who it was until the end. And I just loved the touch of suspense during the climax! The characters were a blast. So funny, all of them. Except Ramirez… he was just plain hawt! I loved Maddie too. Which was kind of surprising because she is somewhat ditzy/flaky. But, in my opinion, it added to the hilarity of the story. I just adored the slapstick humor she brought. Think Lucy Ricardo with Dana (Maddie's BFF) as a loose version of Ethel Mertz. Like I said, the cast is so great in this book, and I can't wait to see them again in the rest of the series. I did have one minor issue with the book… the use of route numbers and unfamiliar road terms was very confusing for me. It seemed like this was written with Californians in mind because I had to look up certain terms also, such as CHP. Which I had no clue what that was until I looked it up online. It would have been better had it just been something like 'south towards Hollywood' or something. I realize some might not be bothered with this issue, but for me it was very annoying and ultimately kept me from tagging the book with a Favorite. Overall, awesome book! I can't wait to read the rest of the series. Highly recommended to fans of cozy mysteries and funny stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Enjoyable light-hearted mystery...

    I enjoyed this fast page turner. The heroine is a shoe designer who gets involved in a mystery concerning her boyfriend/lover. There is a touch of romance but mostly the suspense is the focus. If you like women sleuths, light-hearted mystery with little violence or gore, and shoes, then you will enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Skeptical first - Won me over within a chapter!

    So, I was very skeptical of reading this as I didn't think it would have the plot to keep you guessing and intrigued to continue... Boy, was I wrong! Fabulous characters that are tremendously described throughout, fast moving storylines, along with a comedy aspect that you don't always get in mysteries. Love!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Excellent Series

    This book is funny and delightful. It can bring a smile to your face while it entertains you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Great book

    Very funny book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    A Fun Read

    Maddie is a character and manages to get herself in some dangerous situations. She's funny, irreverent and fun to know. I've already gone on to the 2nd and 3rd book in the series and will start the 4th soon. While Maddie is about the same age as my children, I do, sort of, identify with her. If you are looking for a book with a message this isn't for you. It's strictly fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Loved to read it

    Great Read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Go ahead and get it :)

    This book was a comical, romantic, & easy read. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    A must read

    Loved this book! A fun read. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    I stumbled on this book looking for cheaper books to purchase when i bought my nook and i enjoyed reading it so much i read it in less than 3 days. Just bought tye rest of the series and cant wait tobsee what happens next. Defiantly worth the money to buy the books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Page turner!!!

    My friend, Amanda, lent me his book. When I saw how many pages it was on my nook i thought oh geez this is way too long...but i absolutely loved it! I couldnt stop reading it! I cant wait to read the rest of them! It kinda reminds me of the Stephanie Plum series. But just different enough to tell them apart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended you must check it out.

    I read on and when on line and got the whole series. Great writing and lot of laughs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Quick fun read

    Really cute. Cant wait to read the others in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Quick, cute easy read

    I like humor with a mystery, which this provides. Do the mental talk to self on many occasions, so can TOTALLY relate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 622 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32