Customer Reviews for

The St. Paul Conspiracy

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Fast-Paced Thriller

The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged d...
The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged determination, keen eye for detail, and bravery in the line of fire allow him to solve a puzzle when others can't. Author Roger Stelljes has crafted a fascinating 'who dunnit' with many twists and turns along the way. Just when you think you know the answer, you realize you don't. His descriptions of the characters and places are so vibrant you can practically picture the story taking place as you read. For those readers familiar with Twin Cities landmarks, this is even more true as many of the locations in the book bear a strong resemblance to businesses and buildings located there. This is a fun read. Well thought out and creatively written.

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jury is still out........

A little too long. Should have just stuck with the mystery plot and left out the vision with God parts. It's not that I don't believe and I can understand one vision. But to have a running conversion with Him? I also understand that the book is fiction. I just think it ...
A little too long. Should have just stuck with the mystery plot and left out the vision with God parts. It's not that I don't believe and I can understand one vision. But to have a running conversion with Him? I also understand that the book is fiction. I just think it would have made a good mystery novel dealing with the crime, the courts, and the prison story.

posted by Frankiedoodle39 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Great Story,Well Told

    A real page turner- I really enjoyed it .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I loved it.

    What a great book. I loved all of it. Im from St. Paul and its great to read about places that you've seen or been to. Im looking forward to starting the Stillwater book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I am anxious for the next book in this series!

    Living in the Twin Cities I enjoyed following the journey to areas I am familiar with.
    The characters were so believable and the story kept me guessing. I did guess the ending and the informant but it didn't keep me from wanting to get back to my comfy chair and this excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Very good book, fast paced and held my interest.

    Very good book, fast paced and held my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Extremely interesting

    Was surprised. Kept the interest up at all times. Would recommend to anyone that loves mystery & suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great read

    One of the best mysteries I have read recently. Also, it is not so graphically violent as so many books. Will read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    check it out

    enjoyed this author and book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    excellant

    This is the second book i have read of this author and its always excitting ending the one thing i really dislike is the foul language thats why i gave it a 4 star

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    fast reading detective story

    gave 4 stars. while the story kept moving to the conclusion some of the plot was not realistic. a good poolside read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommended

    2nd book I read by this author. Both terrific. MacRyan is a great character. I am going back and reading the earlier books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    ANOTHER GOOD COP

    Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Great Read!!

    This was the second book of Stelljes that I have read; great suspence; a few twists and turns; never sure of the bad guy until the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    I very much enjoyed this book. I like the fact that it takes place in the twin cities, as I was familiar with all the locations that he talked about. Very good mystery. I also enjoyed the next book in the series, Deadly Stillwater.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    This book was one of the best I have read in a while. Originall

    This book was one of the best I have read in a while. Originally, when I saw that it was 750+ pages, I was a little concerned that the story might not move along fast enough. My fears were unfounded as Mr. Stelljes did a great job moving the story along in a believable way. Being a life-long resident of the Twin Cities, I especially appreciated the authors frequent references to different areas in St. Paul. I felt as though I was there right along with the characters. There were enough characters fleshed out in this first full-length Mac McRyan novel to see how much richness there will be to not only the main characters of Mac and Sally, but also to other members of the police force. I am especially hoping that Detective Lich (called "Dick Lick" by those in the department--made me LOL every time I saw it) has a larger role in future stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    GOOD READ

    A little lenghty but definately enjoyable. I look forward to more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Was dellightfully surprised

    I got this book free on Book Bub. Never read anything from this author before. I was wonderfully surprised by how well it held my attention and the excitement in the book. So much so that I bought the other 2 in the series and can't wait to get them read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Recommend

    This book moved along quickly. I finished in just four days. I really like this authors writing style , also enjoyed finding the chapters' title line inside each chapter. Nice addition to an already gosod book. Sometimes small extra's can make a book that much more entertaing & engaging. Nice job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    How about that Bob,great!!! How about that Bob,great stuff!!!

    Simply amazing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Boo

    I LOVE THIS BOOK:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Must read

    Kept my interest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6