Customer Reviews for

The St. Paul Conspiracy (McRyan Mystery Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Fast-Paced Thriller

The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged d...
The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged determination, keen eye for detail, and bravery in the line of fire allow him to solve a puzzle when others can't. Author Roger Stelljes has crafted a fascinating 'who dunnit' with many twists and turns along the way. Just when you think you know the answer, you realize you don't. His descriptions of the characters and places are so vibrant you can practically picture the story taking place as you read. For those readers familiar with Twin Cities landmarks, this is even more true as many of the locations in the book bear a strong resemblance to businesses and buildings located there. This is a fun read. Well thought out and creatively written.

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jury is still out........

A little too long. Should have just stuck with the mystery plot and left out the vision with God parts. It's not that I don't believe and I can understand one vision. But to have a running conversion with Him? I also understand that the book is fiction. I just think it ...
A little too long. Should have just stuck with the mystery plot and left out the vision with God parts. It's not that I don't believe and I can understand one vision. But to have a running conversion with Him? I also understand that the book is fiction. I just think it would have made a good mystery novel dealing with the crime, the courts, and the prison story.

posted by Frankiedoodle39 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    Stelljes a gem

    Roger Stelljes is amazing!!!! In his first novel he has transpired mystery and murder into a hometown feel that brings you into the action. His character development is uncanny and his storyline is astoundingly exciting. This book will keep you turning the pages, one after the other, until you find yourself searching online for his next book! A great read and expertly researched on the finer points of St. Paul, Minnesota!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    good story

    good stort

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    I am anxious for the next book in this series!

    Living in the Twin Cities I enjoyed following the journey to areas I am familiar with.
    The characters were so believable and the story kept me guessing. I did guess the ending and the informant but it didn't keep me from wanting to get back to my comfy chair and this excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Very good book, fast paced and held my interest.

    Very good book, fast paced and held my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    excellant

    This is the second book i have read of this author and its always excitting ending the one thing i really dislike is the foul language thats why i gave it a 4 star

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    fast reading detective story

    gave 4 stars. while the story kept moving to the conclusion some of the plot was not realistic. a good poolside read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    ANOTHER GOOD COP

    Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Great Read!!

    This was the second book of Stelljes that I have read; great suspence; a few twists and turns; never sure of the bad guy until the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    I very much enjoyed this book. I like the fact that it takes place in the twin cities, as I was familiar with all the locations that he talked about. Very good mystery. I also enjoyed the next book in the series, Deadly Stillwater.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    GOOD READ

    A little lenghty but definately enjoyable. I look forward to more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Recommend

    This book moved along quickly. I finished in just four days. I really like this authors writing style , also enjoyed finding the chapters' title line inside each chapter. Nice addition to an already gosod book. Sometimes small extra's can make a book that much more entertaing & engaging. Nice job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Excellent Read and a Great Start to a New Series

    I just discovered this local author. His three books are definitely worth the read. The characters develop throughout the books and there are numerous plot twists that keep the reader engaged. While the books are long - they are a quick read because you want to know what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    loved the suspense of the book and the characters, Just read them in order

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    Home Grown Suspense Novel

    I read this book in a matter of days. I love that this novel is set in Minnesota. It was a fun read, with lots of suspense to keep you reading late into the night. I did find a few grammatical errors, but was able to overlook them as I believe the publishing company is quite small. Hopefully this novel will give Roger some much deserved recognition by a larger publishing house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Good Book

    Ignore the kiddie chatter and read this book Barnes and Noble will lor sales because no one wants to wade thro the chatter to read reviews something should be done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    Good read

    This kept my attention and was well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    &rose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    There's a Clan here?

    Funny, this is the second result of a My Little Pony rp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Read, good

    Good book. I can't add anything new to what the reviews have already said. But this series is not chick lit. For adults.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Dg

    Dyyee y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2