Customer Reviews for

The St. Paul Conspiracy (McRyan Mystery Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Fast-Paced Thriller

The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged d...
The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged determination, keen eye for detail, and bravery in the line of fire allow him to solve a puzzle when others can't. Author Roger Stelljes has crafted a fascinating 'who dunnit' with many twists and turns along the way. Just when you think you know the answer, you realize you don't. His descriptions of the characters and places are so vibrant you can practically picture the story taking place as you read. For those readers familiar with Twin Cities landmarks, this is even more true as many of the locations in the book bear a strong resemblance to businesses and buildings located there. This is a fun read. Well thought out and creatively written.

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jury is still out........

A little too long. Should have just stuck with the mystery plot and left out the vision with God parts. It's not that I don't believe and I can understand one vision. But to have a running conversion with Him? I also understand that the book is fiction. I just think it ...
A little too long. Should have just stuck with the mystery plot and left out the vision with God parts. It's not that I don't believe and I can understand one vision. But to have a running conversion with Him? I also understand that the book is fiction. I just think it would have made a good mystery novel dealing with the crime, the courts, and the prison story.

posted by Frankiedoodle39 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    A Fast-Paced Thriller

    The St. Paul Conspiracy is a fast-paced thriller. The story follows St. Paul, Minnesota homicide detective Mac McRyan as he solves some of the city's most notorious murder cases. Those investigations, though, shed light on other criminal activities. McRyan's dogged determination, keen eye for detail, and bravery in the line of fire allow him to solve a puzzle when others can't. Author Roger Stelljes has crafted a fascinating 'who dunnit' with many twists and turns along the way. Just when you think you know the answer, you realize you don't. His descriptions of the characters and places are so vibrant you can practically picture the story taking place as you read. For those readers familiar with Twin Cities landmarks, this is even more true as many of the locations in the book bear a strong resemblance to businesses and buildings located there. This is a fun read. Well thought out and creatively written.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    A really quick and compelling read!

    I loved this book. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this first time novelist could seemingly have such an established, engaging, and consistent writing style. The well written story peeled away nicely to reveal a complex and compelling plot. I don't know, I just think that Roger Stelljes nailed it on this first book of his. I have every reason to believe that his second book will not be disappointing.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    A Must Read

    The St.Paul Conspiracy will grab you from the opening page. Mac McRyan ia an engaging and energetic character who will appeal to any reader. The book is a collection of mystery, suspense with a little romance and betrayal thrown in. Stelljes' fast paced style has you engaged from beginning to end. I highly recommend the book, anticipate the sequel and congratulate Stelljes on his successful first novel. Minneapolis, Minnesota

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Outstanding

    Excellent writing, very hard to put down, read it in two days.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    I Couldn't Put it Down!!

    From the first page of 'The St. Paul Conspiracy' to the last, Roger Stelljes has you captivated! The story line is compelling and Stelljes' characters quickly come alive -- you join them in their adventures through areas of St. Paul that are accurately and colorfully described. A brilliant and exciting new author -- I can't wait until his next book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Awesome book couldn't put it down.I reead this in three days.

    Awesome book couldn't put it down.I reead this in three days.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    I've really enjoyed the book, infact I want to ready the rest of the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good Read

    I've read two of Roger Stelljes books now and have enjoyed both. If you like a mystery I would recommend reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Definitely Reccomend!

    I found Roger Stelljes accidentally on a free book and really enjoyed it so when I found this one I grabbed it! Good read!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    LE

    This book was great to read. Easy to like main characters. Very good plot and follow through on concept. I read a lot of crime stories and this ranks up there in the top of them.

    Ranks up there with James Patterson, Lisa Gardner and others. Will read other books by him.

    LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Excellent Read

    i really enjoyed this riveting story and its characters. Kept me on the edge of my seat. A lot of thought went into this plot. You will just love Detective McRyan and his determination. Suspense, romance, and a thrilling ride. I will buy more of this series. I didnt want it to end. 304 pgs. Of great reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    A GREAT read. I found it extremely hard to put down! Just wish I

    A GREAT read. I found it extremely hard to put down! Just wish I had started reading it earlier in the day, so I could have finished more before going to bed. This is an author I will DEFINITELY have on my list of writers I will be looking to read more by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    A natural storyteller

    Breath of fresh air in storytelling style. Easy to read. Compelling character development, and surprising twists! I can't wait to complete the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    A gratifying read

    An entertaining story with well written characters. I enjoyed the Minneapolis/St Paul surroundings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    I stumbled upon this novel, looking for something that compared

    I stumbled upon this novel, looking for something that compared to some of my favorites, such as James Patterson, Jeffrey Deaver and Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. I was not prepared to be blown away by this book. The author writes in such a way that I was never confused with all the twists and turns, and the number of characters. He seems to use clever conversations within the book to reiterate the plots, the sub-plots and characters names, which always kept me in the loop. The story lines were incredibly entertaining and I was continually surprised by each shocking revelation. I've read a lot of mystery murders, and count this as one of the best I've read. I've since read every other novel by this author. It as nearly 800 pages on my nook and I enjoyed every of them and was sorry when I read the last page.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Excellent book.

    Riveting read. One of those you won't want to put down. Look forward to the next one. I realy like all the "plots".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Enjoyed the whole mystery series.

    Lots of plot twists and good character and setting development. Makes me wish there were more books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Great Story,Well Told

    A real page turner- I really enjoyed it .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I loved it.

    What a great book. I loved all of it. Im from St. Paul and its great to read about places that you've seen or been to. Im looking forward to starting the Stillwater book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Extremely interesting

    Was surprised. Kept the interest up at all times. Would recommend to anyone that loves mystery & suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4