Customer Reviews for

Staging Your Comeback: A Complete Beauty Revival for Women Over 45

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Staging Your Comback

Not that I ever left... but this is a wonderful "reminder" book for those of us over 45 years of age. Beauty is everywhere, and Christoper reminds us about simple, as well as sophisticated and imaginative, ways to dress, do our makeup and hair. The books talks about b...
Not that I ever left... but this is a wonderful "reminder" book for those of us over 45 years of age. Beauty is everywhere, and Christoper reminds us about simple, as well as sophisticated and imaginative, ways to dress, do our makeup and hair. The books talks about body types, color choices, and many other interesting things. The only reason I didn't give this book five stars is because I would have enjoyed a more "tailer made for ME" approach in the book. In other words, dreaming's free. HA I've read Staging your Comeback cover to cover, loaned it to my girlfriends, and made sure I got it back so I can read it again. BRAVO!

posted by LindyMom on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

I may not have read the other reviews carefully enough, but this book was not at all what I thought it would be. The 'instructions', hints, etc. were just too vague & I hoped for more info on what the actual products he used were. Also, I was expecting much more help ...
I may not have read the other reviews carefully enough, but this book was not at all what I thought it would be. The 'instructions', hints, etc. were just too vague & I hoped for more info on what the actual products he used were. Also, I was expecting much more help about how to dress my age. Next time, I'll be more careful about reading the book descriptions.

posted by Anonymous on May 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Had some good ideas but.....

    He seemed intent on the idea that all women over 45 should have short hair and that seems a little dated to me. I thought that some of the makeovers were very good but some seemed a little frumpy for my taste. All in all it had some good ideas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Staging Your Comback

    Not that I ever left... but this is a wonderful "reminder" book for those of us over 45 years of age. Beauty is everywhere, and Christoper reminds us about simple, as well as sophisticated and imaginative, ways to dress, do our makeup and hair. The books talks about body types, color choices, and many other interesting things. The only reason I didn't give this book five stars is because I would have enjoyed a more "tailer made for ME" approach in the book. In other words, dreaming's free. HA I've read Staging your Comeback cover to cover, loaned it to my girlfriends, and made sure I got it back so I can read it again. BRAVO!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Not what I expected

    I may not have read the other reviews carefully enough, but this book was not at all what I thought it would be. The 'instructions', hints, etc. were just too vague & I hoped for more info on what the actual products he used were. Also, I was expecting much more help about how to dress my age. Next time, I'll be more careful about reading the book descriptions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Staging your comeback at ANY age !

    This is a book for all ages, but certainly is wonderful for the 45 above audience. Christopher's stories are funny, blunt and helpful tools for all women and he has proven results of his ideas. A super tool for any woman and an easy read/guide to making anyone look and feel lovely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Over 45 - Restart with 'Class'

    Very easy read - funny and informative - I got a lot of great ideas !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Terrific

    Easy read with informative clues. Shows it's never too late to make a new first impression. All women need to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    A must read for any woman over age 50!

    This wonderful book has become my "Go To Guru" when pondering what to wear, what makeup flatters me and what my personal style demands! I love Christopher Hopkins' honesty, straight forward manner, and hilarious sense of humor! His insight as to what looks best on youth challenged women is AWESOME! I love detailed fashion, make up and hair styling tips. The before and after photos are truly wonderful as visual support for all of his wonderful pointers. Wonderful graphics, examples and hilarious personal anecdotes. Definitely a MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Informative and effective book

    The book was enjoyable to read and look at. It was useful and informative and was enjoyed by those to whom we gave it as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Gave one to my hair dresser, today so many TV programs, magazines, etc. are directed to younger women, and this book was so refreshing. Like other reviews, if you do not live in that area, where do you go to find someone like Christopher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    Life changing

    So many books out there, but this one makes a difference. Inpirational, funny, motivational and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Love it! Great attitiude, great advice.

    From the get-go, Christopher has a great attitude about the subject. He's interested in helping us look our best, and supportive in the process. I'm fortunate to be a resident of MN, where I get to listen to him occasionally on the radio, and visit his salon if I want to. For those who can't come to MN or hear him, this book is fab-yoo-luss! I'm not even 40 yet (quickly getting there!), and I knew I had to have this book. What great advice, inspiration, and motivation. I'm proud to be pushing 40, and look forward to 40+ more years. Thank you, Mr. Hopkins, for the great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Loved it!

    Christopher is a natural at doing makeovers. His compassion shines through as he works with women and shows them that they truly are beautiful in the 'over 40' years! I plan on buying copies for all my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    I'm coming back!

    I love this book Christopher! It is an easy read, entertaining and HELPFUL. Thank you for the perfect guide to help me get back in the grove and out of the slump!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    New and Improved after 40

    I truly enjoyed the how-to-info in this book. It was informative and entertaining. I shared it with friends at work and they went out and purchased their own copies we all enjoyed it so much. I was moved to set-up my own make over appt with the man himself and am looking forward to a new and improved me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    New Hope!

    The pictures of the (lucky) people who received make overs were outstanding. The information in the book was informative and helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    A great read for women over 45

    The day I saw Christopher on a local Twin City show and subsequently bought the book was my lucky day! It's an easy, fun read and offers great tips. The before and after photos are unbelievable and inspiring. I have been struggling to find a hairdresser since relocating to the Twin Cities and had high hopes that Christopher would be my salvation. The only disappointment is that I have only made it to the wait list. Like all good things, I have to believe that the appointment is well worth waiting for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2