Customer Reviews for

Stained

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

This is a MUST read!

The first night I started reading Stained, I was so engrossed in the story that I fell asleep dreaming I was chasing Demons on the streets of Memphis. It is the very rare book that makes it into my dreams. The bantering between Julia and Kayne was endearing, hilarious a...
The first night I started reading Stained, I was so engrossed in the story that I fell asleep dreaming I was chasing Demons on the streets of Memphis. It is the very rare book that makes it into my dreams. The bantering between Julia and Kayne was endearing, hilarious and at times frustrating, but it was consistently entertaining. Like any relationship, you'll want to slap Kayne just as much as you'll want to kiss him. It only added to the enjoyment of their adventure and growing relationship. I was on the edge of my seat through most of the book, right up until the end. the last page will have you drooling for more. Lastly, being a Tennessee girl who's been to Memphis several times, I loved that Julia and Kayne's story begins in Memphis.

posted by WhatsBeyondForks on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Minus stars

What a big load of rubbish. Probably one of the worst books i have ever tried to read. File this garbage under DNF and deleting rapidly. Would not recommend at all.

posted by 8888649 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Loved it

    Read 1&2 waiting for 3rd of the month so i can read 3 need money .you wont be disapointed leaves you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Hello Hello. Hello?

    This is a good good good good good good great great great great great great great great great great great great great great great great awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome book. READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Amazing!! I have had this book on my Kindle for a whi

    Absolutely Amazing!! I have had this book on my Kindle for a while now & I can't believe I didn't get to it sooner!! I was completely drawn in by the first chapter and by the time I got halfway through, I went to Amazon to buy the next 3 titles in the series because I knew I was completely hooked! Julia is brave and strong, despite all she's been through. And Cayne, whooo! Definitely the type of sexy, bad-boy that you wouldn't mind 'dropping in' on you anytime! The action is immediate and non-stop, so don't plan on this being a relaxing read. It will keep you up reading all night! Then right on into book 2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    It was really boring; Like really.

    Just seemed too boring ,and kept loosing me.

    The whole book is basically about Julia who looses her adopted parents were killed in a fire because a half-demon wants her dead. So she goes on a "trip" to get revenge and meets a guy. They go on the trip together.

    THE END. Yeah it sucks.dint waist your time.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good Start to the Series - I'm interested to see where it goes from here.

    Julia is returning home late at night after sneaking out to help some friends. She comes back to her house being on fire and a death flying about it. She goes on the run. She doesn’t want to go back into the foster system. While hiding at a pecan factory, she meets Cayne, when he crashed through the roof with death following him. Julia heals Cayne and gets the attention of death, who is actually a nephilium named Samyaza and he has been hunting people like her.

    Cayne reluctantly allows Julia to tag along with him on his hunt for Sam. Cayne has memory loss but he knows that Sam tried to kill him years prior, he just doesn’t know why and he figures Julia would be perfect bait. But it’s hard to keep thinking of Julia as bait for his hunt with Sam when the more he is around her he starts to like her.

    I really liked where the story is going. It’s a good start to the series with new character powers that got me interested. I liked Julia’s abilities and want to find out more about them. I also liked the different nephilium and how some were more likely to be recruited based on their abilities.

    The parts I didn’t like were the characters. I do feel for Julia loosing her foster parents and I don’t expect her to be constantly crying. But what got me was how obsessed with Cayne she got. All she did was fawn over how hot he was. And Cayne was just a brooding jerk. I couldn’t stand either of them.

    Having said that, just because I didn’t like the characters doesn’t mean the book was bad. I liked the dynamics and do want to know what is going on. Stained with an abrupt cliff hanger but I will read the next book to see what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When a character has a distinct voice (in my head) within the fi

    When a character has a distinct voice (in my head) within the first few pages, I get a little excited. When the story has its own take on a species (Nephilim) along with plenty of action, mystery and emotion...I'm ecstatic! I was quickly drawn in to Stained and was enthralled throughout.

    Julia is not your average high school senior. Soon after we meet her, we learn she has some unique abilities. We then learn Julia has led a difficult life. She's endured a lot of loss, having lost her birth parents and then having been bounced around foster homes, and finally suffering the loss of her adoptive parents. Now she's joined with Cayne to track down the half-demon who killed her parents and she just might learn a few things about herself...and her abilities. Julia's a strong heroine, which I enjoyed. She's not looking for someone to save her.

    Cayne is a mystery in the beginning. He refuses to tell Julia anything other than he's hunting Samyaza, the being responsible for Julia's recent trauma. Once he begins to open up, we see he's a kind person. As we learn more and more about him, there are some startling revelations made. But we know he intends to protect Julia at all costs.

    I'm definitely intrigued by this world Ms. James has created. The Nephilim aren't exactly good and there are different classifications among them, which is interesting. We discover Julia is Stained but we don't yet know exactly what that means. However, it does seems as though Nephilim and the Stained don't like each other. The pacing of the story is nice and I enjoyed how Ms. James provided backstory and even glimpses of the future through memories as well as dreams. 

    There were a few places where I got a bit confused. I felt Julia's visions were difficult to follow and I was puzzled when Cayne did something to protect Julia only to undo it when she was actually in danger. But I'm sure everything will be explained as the series progresses. And I am enthralled with this story. I must know what's going on - why Julia's being hunted by both the Stained and the Nephilim, why these beings are embittered towards each other, and are Julia and Cane safe after the events at the end of the book.

    By the way, Stained does end with a cliffhanger - but not one that had me wanting to bang my ereader against a wall. I knew things were not going to be wrapped up, as this is an over-arcing plotline. And it ended in a reasonable way.

    With lots of pulse-pounding action, mystery, intrigue, and sexual tension too, Stained is a riveting start to a series. It's told in 3rd person POV and changes between Julia, Cayne, and Nathan, who is one of the Stained looking for Julia. Nephilim are a species I love reading about and Ms. James' take on them is new and exciting to me. And her prose paints the story so vividly. I'm anxious to start the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Omfg

    This is the best book i have ever read!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    That--

    Wow. A really amazing book! Incredible and picture-perfect detail, well-built characters, intriguing plot, unique and different story of parallel universes. My only concern: that cliffhanger! *gasp* That was so... ugh.. I cannot. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    I genuinely wanted to like this book, just for the sake of a pre

    I genuinely wanted to like this book, just for the sake of a pretty cool story concept. The idea itself isn't too bad, and should even be fascinating. However, a lack of depth in the main character and an incredibly ridiculous number of spelling errors made this book absolutely unlikeable for me. "Peaked" instead of "peeked", "knocked an arrow" instead of "nocked an arrow", "likely" instead of "lightly", "breaks" instead of "brakes", "strait" instead of "straight", etc.

    Additionally, I had to wonder if the author had ever ridden on Amtrak. She makes a point to say that they hero and heroine had only enough money for one ticket, yet, that ticket turns out to be for a private boarding car with leather chairs? That costs enough to have purchased four coach tickets.

    The main character has no depth at all. She's irritating, whiny, and frankly I couldn't care less what happens to her. I won't be buying any more books in this series. Cayne, the hero, isn't much better; he goes from broodingly sexy to whinging constantly about what a Bad Guy (TM) he is. No depth whatsoever. I didn't even finish this book, and I am curious enough that I generally always finish a book I start. I gave it one star for the story concept, and that's the best I can do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a prime example of why I don't like YA. Her foster paren

    This is a prime example of why I don't like YA. Her foster parents are dead, tragically killed in a house fire. Yet all she can think about is this guy and how hot he is. So, you're now homeless, on the run from something paranormal that wants you dead, the guy you can't stop drooling over is a jerk, yet all you can do is drool over him when you're not thinking of your hot pink all stars or whatever stupid shoes kept being mentioned. I made it to page 27. After the mention of Twilight, I was totally done trying to give it a chance. Her healing abilities seemed like it would help make for a good story but alas, apparently all it's good for is helping her heal hot jerks so she has some one to complain about/to while running around town trying to entice death so she can keep hot guy in her sights instead of trying to figure out what to do now that she's homeless, her loving foster parents are burnt to a crisp and something wants her dead too. Besides me, that is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The book was a gift from the author and Paranormal Romance &

    The book was a gift from the author and Paranormal Romance & Authors That Rock for an honest review

    This book is about a girl named Julia and a nephilim named Cayne. Julia’s parents were caught in a house fire and killed. She was meant to be in that fire but wasn’t. She ran because she didn’t want to go back into foster care again and was almost 18 anyway. While sleeping in a sleeping in an abandon building a very handsome boy falls through the roof. A fight with a half-demon in sues. After the fight the boy Cayne just tries to walk away. However Julia isn’t about to let that happen. Julia wants to know what Cayne is. Cayne only wants to kill the half demon that is he just fought. He comes up with a plan to use Julia as bait to get the half demon to come out and kill him. Julia learns she is part of group called the stained. The have different abilities. Julia can heal people and see their auras. Cayne has his own abilities. People do what ever he wants them to do. The longer the are together the more Julia is attracted to Cayne and Cayne to her. Then he gets his memories back and decides she is better off with out him. Again Julia isn’t about to let that happen.

    I liked this book. Reading about how Julia is trying to figure out why they want her dead and what exactly she is was fun. She is determined to get what she wants. What she wants most is Cayne. Cayne just wants to use her to get to the half demon at first. After awhile he wants to kill him even more to make sure Julia is safe. He learns some things about himself that he had forgot and is conflicted for awhile. It makes it even better when he finally makes a choice. I am excited to read the next book in this series to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Disapointed

    It took me two days to read this and I usually finish a 200 page book in one. Way too much filler in here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I loved this entire series  i got soo sucked into the story i re

    I loved this entire series  i got soo sucked into the story i read all 4 books in 2 days lol 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Iggy17295

    Cayne doesn't hurt the story at all. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I tried to like this

    After seeing all of the high reviews, I was excited for this book. I was definitely let down. First of all, reading it was incredibly annoying. The dialogue between the two main characters was terrible. Like listening to two 10yr olds. I couldn't stand it. On top of that, it was boring. I kept reading and reading, hopelessly waiting for it to finally get exciting. The book just seemed to be all over the place. I didn't even fully understand what was taking place during the first 30 or so pages.

    I finished the book, but doubt I will purchase the 2nd. I'd like to know what happens, but at the same time, I do not want to pay for something I do not enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    I loved the book! It's funny and frustrating at the same. If you

    I loved the book! It's funny and frustrating at the same. If you're into Nephil/Nephillim, then this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Julia is a whiny character that breaks down a lot. Besides helpi

    Julia is a whiny character that breaks down a lot. Besides helping Cayne (the boy she meets who is also after Samyaza, the Nephilim who burned her house along with her foster parents) by distracting Samyaza to look in her direction every now and again, giving Cayne an advantage, she was pretty much useless. She couldn't do anything without Cayne and bawled her eyes out at the thought of him not there to protect her.

    They occasionally ran into Samyaza and others who were after her and Cayne, but other than that, they pretty much sat/drove around and thought of plans that in the end, meant nothing. The plot was really a bunch of nothing.

    It was only Cayne's character that got me through the book even though I really wanted to give up and stop reading. I liked learning new things about him throughout the book. He was always tough and strong until the end when he finally admitted his feelings for Julia. Then he turned mushy, always holding her hand, tickling her, and giving her kisses. That just completely ruined the only reason I was reading the book. You can be in love without getting mushy. You can't just go from being tough then googley in a freaking minute.

    She also mentioned Twilight... NO. Any book that mentions Twilight is already a terrible book in my opinion. She copied off some parts from Twilight which she shamelessly (though it should of been shameFULLY) admitted. She clearly just wanted to write a book like Twilight. Well, she did a good job because this book sucks as well.

    Needless to say, I'm not going to read any other books in this series, and despite the reviews and ratings, I wouldn't recommend this book unless you're into cheesy characters and nothing-really-happened endings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Amazing Book

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Not great

    A much better book like this is called hush hush by becca fitzpatric

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8