Customer Reviews for

The Staircase

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    A Review

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It is a good read for anyone and everyone.

    Lizzy, although not the most religious girl in the world, cares about her pets and dead mother, and doesn't care for Latin prayers. She is different from the Catholics surrounding her, yet matches them – perhaps more – in helping others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Wonderfully written

    New Mexico historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Books

    Hey i have to do a book and one of my least favorate genres historical fiction so when i saw this at the library and it was already checked outi thought my nook so is it wotlrth buying or should o get it from my other libraryfor cheap?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Totally Recommended!!!!!!

    This book is awesome!!! I recommend it for all ages! This is a very good book! Favorite book of mine! You should definitly read it! :) :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    REAL!!!! IVE BEEN THERE MYSELF!!!!

    The staircase is real, I saw it myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Absolutely loved it!

    As someone who lives in NM, is a practicing Catholic, have heard the story of the miraculous staircase and seen it for myself- I have to say this was an amazing story & one I could definitely appreciate. Two thumbs way up! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    love it

    read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    OK.......

    not Rinaldi's best. i got bored at times. the legend it is based on is cool, but this one doesn't have enough detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    A Great Legend retold in a fascinating way

    Ann Rinaldi is a terrific author of historical fiction novels. It is no wonder her books are award winning and widely recognized. After being abandoned at a Catholic convent school by her Father in Sante Fe Lizzie Enders, a 13-year-old Methodist girl struggles to fit in her new home. By inviting a beggar carpenter to build as staircase at the church, she unknowingly participates in a miracle. Ann Rinaldi did a fantastic job at intertwining a classic legend from Sante Fe's history with the adventures of a young girl struggling to grow up in a new place where she doesn't quite fit in. Lizzie has many adventures and makes some good friends along the way, whose stories make it impossible to set this book down. "The Staircase" was a fun and easy read. This book will captivate the imagination of anyone who enjoys historical fiction. It is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Excellent!

    I have read a great many books in my time, literally more then 1,000. And this was most certainly one of the best. Lizzy Enders is a strong and self-sufficent girl, who copes bravely with her father's abandonment, and befriends an old lady, who is considered senial by the nuns. She's the only non-Catholic in the school, and her roommate is the Bishop's grand-niece, who is insufferable. Lizzy is alone in a world she doesn't understand, but not for long. The friends she makes and the adventures she takes leave her memories for a lifetime. And, as as is in all good books, the story has a happy ending, one which will make you smile, no matter what the mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    ANOTHER WINNER FOR RINALDI FANS

    BASED ON LEGEND, THIS STORY HOLDS THE READER FROM THE FIRST CHAPTER. THE CHARACTERS ARE WELL DEVELOPED. SET IN SANTA FE, WE GO WITH LIZZIY ENDERS TO EXPERIENCE LIFE AMONG CATHOLIC NUNS WITHIN THE CONVENT WALLS. BEAUTIFUL STORY WITH LOTS OF HISTORIC DETAIL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    Staircase

    This book is very different from Ann Rinaldi's other books. Her other books usually take place in a northern eastern coast city or state. This book takes place in New Mexico. Instead of having English ties, the characters in this book have Spanish ties. Yes, this book is different, and that is why I like it. It does take place in history, of course, but not in a highlighted time of American History. This book concentrates on the life for convent school borders, which was very harsh. If you want to read something different from Rinaldi, then read this. I love all of her other books, but I guess that it just shows that Rinaldi can write in different styles and still make a book great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    Staircase

    Lizzie Enders has just witnessed her mothers death, had to leave her best friend, had a 60 day trip to Santa Fe, and her father has just abandoned her at a Catholic School for girls. Lizzie is Methodist and finds it very hard to fit in at a Catholic School. She makes no friends with her peers, but instead with some adults, one of whom is a 'begger man carpenter'. The church is in need of a staircase to the choir loft, so they start a novena for Saint Joseph, yet resent letting the carpenter in to work. Lizzie of course does not understand how they can believe that praying will make a staircase 'magically appear.' Through her struggles in Santa Fe, Lizzie meets many who make a difference in her life and in her opinions. This book was really good, and if you read all of Ann Rinaldi's books like I do, then I definately reccomend reading it, it won't be a waste of time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1