Customer Reviews for

Stairway to Heaven: Led Zeppelin Uncensored

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Good Zeppelin stuff

    If your into Led Zeppelin, you will have no problem reading this book. Very informative written by the bands tour manager so it is very accurate in my opinion. I have always wanted to read more on Zeppelin since I read "Hammer of the Gods" back in the 80's. I got the ebook edition. Liking it very much so far! I highly recommend this book to all Zeppelin fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Very good book

    It was nice to see a non band members view on life back then. I think he told some hard truths about egos and attitudes but also the kinder side of each member. I would put this one up there with Hammer of the Gods.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    One of my favorites

    I'm currently reading this book for the second time around - that's how much I loved it the first time. Though I'm a big Led Zeppelin fan, it's the first biography-style book I'd read on them. Because of that, I was almost afraid to read it, thinking it would be filled with pointless/useless facts, with nothing really giving it any substance or telling us some things we didn't already know. I had no reason to worry, though! This book takes you from the beginning to the end of the Led Zep glory days with great humor, insight and care. You really feel like you get to know everyone in the book and I think this may be what makes it so endearing. You can totally imagine the scenes playing out. Cole tells the story as he saw it, and I would like to think it's mostly true, since he was very close to the band for all those years. Sure, there may be some embellishments or stretches here and there but it all makes for great reading. It made me laugh out loud many times, and how often do books make us do that anyhow? There are many great passages in the book that make you wish you were part of the fun. The sadder moments for the band are also there, described in a way that really makes you feel for everyone. Nothing is left out. I think this book should be read by any Led Zeppelin fan. It's really enjoyable and a light read. It may be a thick book, but you'll find you go through it in no time because it's just so fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Pretty good book...

    I thought this book was pretty good, it had many anecdotes and your not sure if the members of Led Zeppelin actually would ever say the things the book says they did. You do find out information on the band, but its not from their point of view (which I would prefer), it's how their tour manager viewed everything...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Wonderful Led Zeppelin Book

    The most comprehensive and interesting Led Zeppelin book around. If you are a Led Zeppelin fan and haven't read this, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR??!!??!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    A Candid Portrayal of Led Zeppelin

    The novel Stairway To Heaven: Led Zeppelin Uncensored is a truly adventurous novel that provides a candid portrayal of the colossal band, Led Zeppelin. Throughout the lengthy novel the reader discovers the most vivid description of each of the band members. After reading the book I feel as if I have drunken tea with Robert Plant or even jammed with Jimmy Page. The author and former road manager, Richard Cole, leads the reader on a wild escapade from the band¿s heroin addiction to their obsession to J.R.R. Tolkien¿s Lord Of The Rings. The book provides an ample background for each of the band members¿ pre-Zeppelin days and also follows up on the members¿ lives after the band¿s downfall. The vast range of the novel touches lightly on many events while only focusing much attention on certain events. While describing the band¿s many wild experiences, Cole eloquently adds extra meaning and depth to many of Led Zeppelin¿s songs, which turns a fan like myself into a raving zealot. After reading the biography I have found myself even more passionate about the band¿s music and it has fed my hunger to learn more about the seemingly mysterious band of generations past. The novel was very well written, providing both a pinch of drama to an abundance of comedy. The best feature of the novel was the author¿s input on many of the songs that the band produced. His input usually derived from what Robert Plant and Jimmy Page, the two main writers of most of their songs, had to say about the music they produced. The most interesting piece of information is that the song ¿Stairway to Heaven¿ was originally written with reggae-style music and accent but on the band¿s first cut they played it without their intended reggae influence and produced that copy. Cole also invites the reader into each of the band members¿ lives outside of the band, which is usually not done because rock stars treasure the little privacy they receive. The worst thing about the book is that some events of the band¿s long journey are not touched upon very strongly. Some events draw much interest but because there is so much to say, Cole neglects to elaborate on many interesting events that the band experienced. Also, the time period for much of the biography is not very clear, which isn¿t too bad, but it is good to know when all the events occurred. Cole toured with the band for many years and developed a much stronger relationship with Jimmy Page than with Robert Plant, which produces a biased opinion on some conflicts and also directs much of the book¿s focus on Jimmy Page while largely neglecting John Paul Jones. Jimmy and Robert are the most famous and many readers know plenty about them already, and a main reason for reading the book could have been to discover more about the less popular members.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    The Real Thing

    This was an excellent book. It says the whole story. I can never put it down.This has everything anyone wanted to know about 'Led Zeppelin' Definitely a must for any Led Zeppelin fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    the worst book ever

    this book is terrible. it is all about richard cole's life. like anyone cares about him. the info is OK, but he puts too much info on himself in it. if you look at the pictures, they are all about him. its like, 'me with ----' 'and me with---' this is terrible. do not buy

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1