Customer Reviews for

Stalemate (Eve Duncan Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Winter 琴

    Layed her head gently, her breathing slowing as she fell asleep, her somach gently rising and falling with her breath. (Gonna go to bed now, bw back tomorrow.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Struck

    Struck rested is chin on his paws, his purring fading as he fell asleep. <p> Same Gtg BbtAS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Ok

    Not her best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    So So....

    I'm a big fan of these Eve Duncan books. I was glad to see this book go back to being about Eve and not just Jane (Jane's character is a little annoying to me).. but this book wasn't overly exciting. I think it's strange that Eve is constantly getting offered these odd jobs & she's always putting herself into situations with people she knows are dangerous, even if they promise to find Bonnie! She knows that Joe isn't going to like it & that he's going to be angry. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Montalvo wasn't THAT bad of a guy... he actually turned out to be really caring. However, if Eve & Joe are married, I do not want to read about her being attracted to someone else! It just doesn't seem right. But I did enjoy the plot and the ending did take me by surprise... but it didn't blow me away. I'm just ready to read about what finally happened to Bonnie. I don't see this series getting too much more exciting until we start really getting to the nitty gritty of the Bonnie mystery. Now I will move onto Quicksand. I'm hoping to be blown away & be left saying "wow" like I was when I first started reading this series....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Excellent book to read!

    In the book Stalemate, the book focuses in on a woman named Eve Duncan. Eve Duncan's daughter Bonnie, has gone missing and could possibly be dead or in a fatal state. Luis Montalvo has contacted Bonnie, and he wants her to help him by using her amazing forensic skills and knowledge to help him on his reconstruction process.

    Even though she doesn't want to help him personally, she wants to find her daughter. I thought that this book would be an excellent book to read if you like suspense and mystery books. The criteria involved in the book is one that I'm sure a plethora of people enjoy to pick up. It is also a great book of conflict as many dilemmas appear.

    I believe that it might not have been the best book of the Eve Duncan series, in my opinion. Some of the other books seem to have caught my attention more as I was reading. Even though this might not have been my favorite, I would still recommend this book to anyone looking for a book, or you like Iris Johansen. It is certainly a book I would talk about and tell others around me about.

    There are some parts of the book that are a bit more dry than others, but once you pick this book up, you can't put it down. I spend hours reading this book and had a hard time putting it down when I had to. Whenever I got the chance, I read more of this Eve Duncan thriller. It is suspenseful, and will give you a major thrill.

    I can think of plenty of moods and topics presented in this book. Suspense, thrill, romance, and even action will send you through a loop. Iris Johansen is one of the few amazing authors that you love every one of their books. This book is written by one of those authors, that makes you want the book to go on forever.

    Visit Barnes and Noble, or any book store for that matter, to pick up a copy. I can assure you it will give you the thrill of a lifetime in every chapter. You can't pass up a book like this. Stalemate, by Iris Johansen, is a book that you absolutely need to read. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Stalemate by Iris Johansen

    I would say that Stalemate is worth getting from your library. However, don't bother buying it. The book is OK but the plot isn't perticularly good. It can be hard to tell which parts are from which character's piont of view. However the story line is interesting because a lot of it takes place in the Columbian Jungle. It is about a drug lord, a weopons dealer, and a forensic sculptor. the forensic sculptor, who herself lost a child is hired by montalvo to provide proof that a skull he found is that of his wife whom was killed by the drugs lord. In a battle that is both physical and emotional she must choose between her lost daughter, bringing an innocent woman to justice, and Joe Quinn, a good friend. the book stays suspenseful to the end and always has a suprisse even if it is confusing. I rate it 4 out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I got a Great Story and a Good dose of Forensic Science!

    My good friend told me about this book, since she knew I got "hooked" on the field of forensic medicine after watching a certain tv show. Tv is fine, but for me nothing is better than a good novel that can weave a story around a subject that I'm interested in. Anyway I thought "Stalemate" was a fantastic novel and the forensic professor Eve Duncan was just the character I was looking for to keep me hooked on the field of forensic science. I was thrilled with the author's detailed descriptions of this field and way she just pulled me into this fascinating story. In summary, I really enjoyed Iris Johansen book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Why so popular?

    This is the first book I have read by Johansen, so obviously the first I have read in the Eve Duncan series. So, Eve has an unusual profession. She leads an interesting, exciting, sometimes sad life. Really, the storyline was "out there." Besides the thin, unbelieveable plot, the dialogue is pretty weak. I don't get why this author and this series are so popular. There are many writers that far surpass this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great read, do we expect anything less?

    Iris Johansen provides another edge of your seat thriller with probably one of my favorite characters. The strong, stubborn, save everyone she loves without help, Eve Duncan. Of course Joe and Sean can't help but try to save her. What else can I say but Iris Johansen did it again. I read this book in 2 days, and I am sure you will too. I was grabbed and pulled through this book from the minute that I picked it up and tried really hard not to close it, but you just have to sleep sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Pesonal Read

    I've been a long-time fan of Iris Johansen, especially the Eve Duncan series. Although STALEMATE is decidedly different from the other stories starring Eve Duncan from the past, I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed it--so much so that I stayed up until 3am to finish the book. <BR/><BR/>Yes, the Eve in this story isn't the saintly, never-do-anything-wrong Eve that many readers have come to know and love. She becomes attracted to a bad guy who, at least in the beginning of the story, is the mother of all bad guys. Montalvo, however, isn't what he appears to be--just, as it would turn out, the same way that solid, ever-steady Eve isn't just the pushover we've always thought her to be. <BR/><BR/>The action in this story is non-stop, with a great appearance by Galen (one of my favorite characters of all-time) and with a great new character, 19-year-old Miguel. Montalvo, I'll admit, is a very, very appealing character; whether he's being a bad guy who seems to kill without compunction or a sensitive man who lost his wife to a drug lord, you can't help but find yourself drawn to him. <BR/><BR/>I, for one, am hoping that Ms. Johansen brings Montalvo back for more stories. Whether or not Eve and Joe (who, by the way, acted like a giant, ego-bruised baby throughout most of this story) can get their relationship back on track, or whether Eve will allow her attraction to Montalvo to grow, we'll have to wait and see. <BR/><BR/>But STALEMATE is definitely not a disappointing read. Kudos to Ms. Johansen for bringing back an Eve Duncan who actually started to act like a real, fallible human being, instead of a perfect, wounded princess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Not bad

    When I read fiction I like a happily ever after. I like to believe that love is the most important thing. This book was interesting but I didn't like the rift between Eve and Joe and her attraction to another man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    OMG

    Eve Duncan is such a compelling character and the forensic aspect of the book is not as distracting as I thought it would be. Iris Johansen is not to be looked down upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Cheesy & boring

    Too much talk and not enough action! The characters spent a lot of time talking about what they were going to do and nothing really happened. This Maldavo was supposed to be such a bad guy but she didn't really make him out to be all that bad by the time Eve got to Columbia. The sentences were about 3 words too short and cheesy to boot. I won't read any other Iris Johanson books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    Well.....

    The book was OK. It did offer the usual suspense, twists and turns. The book was a little too predictable. Not up to her usual standards. Eve was written with different characteristics that were not flattering. Her nature seems to have changed from strong and determines to selfish and a bratty. I didn¿t like that she was attracted to someone else and her constant fighting with Joe was disappointing. She and Joe have always had a strong relationship and I¿d like to see that come back in the next book. I think the Eve Duncan series needs to end. She needs to put Bonnie to rest and move on to a new crew of people she can branch out on. Although, I have to admit I will buy her next book as soon as it hits the stands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    She did it again!

    I absolutely loved the book. Iris Johanson keeps the suspense going. It was a wonderful read as usual. I can't wait until the next book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Tiresome...

    As with most of the other reviews, I've read all of the Eve Duncan titles, and have enjoyed them. This one is not one of my favorites. The dialogue is tedious and repetitive. I feel compelled to mention that the reader of the audiobook makes all of the Colombian characters sound like Dracula!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Disappointed

    My title says it all. I think this series has been played out. Eve and Joe's marriage is just painful. I've read all of Johansen's books and have never been this disappointed before. I will be borrowing her future books from the library and spending my money on other authors until she comes up with something better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A THRILLER PUNCTUATED WITH FORENSIC DETAIL

    Following on the heels of her wildly successful last thriller starring forensic professor Eve Duncan (On The Run, 2006), the writer who has been called 'the queen of suspense' now presents an equally terrifying tale that pits Eve against a fearsome killer. As fans of Iris Johansen know she wastes little time in roping readers/listeners in. It all begins with a phone call, in fact the third she has received from Luis Montalvo, a Colombian drug lord. She's hard at work reconstructing a skull and wants no interruptions but can't resist picking up the phone to tell Montalvo in no uncertain terms that he's not to call her again. But, this is a man who does not take no for an answer, and says, 'I'm convinced you'll be my guest in a very short time.' 'Why?' 'That would spoil the surprise. I like to see a plan unfold like a beautiful night flower.' 'You mentioned Joe and my adopted daughter. You touch them and I'll kill you.' 'That violence again.' His tone was amused. 'I'd never be that stupid. That would be the trigger that would send you into the fray to take me down. I want your cooperation.' As much as she detests the man he has the one key that will make her agree to go to him - information about her daughter, Bonnie, who was abducted years ago and is presumed dead. Once in the jungles of Colombia Eve finds herself trapped, caught in a battle between drug dealers. And neither side cares whether Eve lives or dies. If you like to see a heroine battling for her life and favor thrillers with dashes of forensic detail - this one's for you! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    THE PERILS OF EVE DUNCAN ABLY NARRATED

    Following on the heels of her wildly successful last thriller starring forensic professor Eve Duncan (On The Run, 2006), the writer who has been called 'the queen of suspense' now presents an equally terrifying tale that pits Eve against a fearsome killer. As fans of Iris Johansen know she wastes little time in roping readers/listeners in. It all begins with a phone call, in fact the third she has received from Luis Montalvo, a Colombian drug lord. She's hard at work reconstructing a skull and wants no interruptions but can't resist picking up the phone to tell Montalvo in no uncertain terms that he's not to call her again. But, this is a man who does not take no for an answer, and says, 'I'm convinced you'll be my guest in a very short time.' 'Why?' 'That would spoil the surprise. I like to see a plan unfold like a beautiful night flower.' 'You mentioned Joe and my adopted daughter. You touch them and I'll kill you.' 'That violence again.' His tone was amused. 'I'd never be that stupid. That would be the trigger that would send you into the fray to take me down. I want your cooperation.' As much as she detests the man he has the one key that will make her agree to go to him - information about her daughter, Bonnie, who was abducted years ago and is presumed dead. Once in the jungles of Colombia Eve finds herself trapped, caught in a battle between drug dealers. And neither side cares whether Eve lives or dies. With numerous Broadway, film and television appearances to her credit actress Jennifer Van Dyck is again well cast as the voice of Eve Duncan. Many well remember her fine voice performances on other Johansen favorites such as Killer Dreams and On The Run. Van Dyck's trained voice ably reflects both Eve's toughness and her vulnerability. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    What happened???

    What in the world happened to this book? I have read every Eve Duncan book and was very annoyed with this book. I could not stand Eve in this book. She had such a know-it-all attitude. To have Eve and Joe's marriage challenged like it was in this book was awful. Please be done with this series if you are going to continue to write Eve and Joe like this. Plus, I still cannot stand Jane. She thinks she knows everything. Her attitude stinks. This book ends in the worst possible way. You have to buy the next book to even see what happens. I am not even sure I will go buy it. This series is getting a little boring. To much of the same thing in every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4