Customer Reviews for

Stalemate (Eve Duncan Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Winter 琴

    Layed her head gently, her breathing slowing as she fell asleep, her somach gently rising and falling with her breath. (Gonna go to bed now, bw back tomorrow.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Excellent book to read!

    In the book Stalemate, the book focuses in on a woman named Eve Duncan. Eve Duncan's daughter Bonnie, has gone missing and could possibly be dead or in a fatal state. Luis Montalvo has contacted Bonnie, and he wants her to help him by using her amazing forensic skills and knowledge to help him on his reconstruction process.

    Even though she doesn't want to help him personally, she wants to find her daughter. I thought that this book would be an excellent book to read if you like suspense and mystery books. The criteria involved in the book is one that I'm sure a plethora of people enjoy to pick up. It is also a great book of conflict as many dilemmas appear.

    I believe that it might not have been the best book of the Eve Duncan series, in my opinion. Some of the other books seem to have caught my attention more as I was reading. Even though this might not have been my favorite, I would still recommend this book to anyone looking for a book, or you like Iris Johansen. It is certainly a book I would talk about and tell others around me about.

    There are some parts of the book that are a bit more dry than others, but once you pick this book up, you can't put it down. I spend hours reading this book and had a hard time putting it down when I had to. Whenever I got the chance, I read more of this Eve Duncan thriller. It is suspenseful, and will give you a major thrill.

    I can think of plenty of moods and topics presented in this book. Suspense, thrill, romance, and even action will send you through a loop. Iris Johansen is one of the few amazing authors that you love every one of their books. This book is written by one of those authors, that makes you want the book to go on forever.

    Visit Barnes and Noble, or any book store for that matter, to pick up a copy. I can assure you it will give you the thrill of a lifetime in every chapter. You can't pass up a book like this. Stalemate, by Iris Johansen, is a book that you absolutely need to read. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Stalemate by Iris Johansen

    I would say that Stalemate is worth getting from your library. However, don't bother buying it. The book is OK but the plot isn't perticularly good. It can be hard to tell which parts are from which character's piont of view. However the story line is interesting because a lot of it takes place in the Columbian Jungle. It is about a drug lord, a weopons dealer, and a forensic sculptor. the forensic sculptor, who herself lost a child is hired by montalvo to provide proof that a skull he found is that of his wife whom was killed by the drugs lord. In a battle that is both physical and emotional she must choose between her lost daughter, bringing an innocent woman to justice, and Joe Quinn, a good friend. the book stays suspenseful to the end and always has a suprisse even if it is confusing. I rate it 4 out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I got a Great Story and a Good dose of Forensic Science!

    My good friend told me about this book, since she knew I got "hooked" on the field of forensic medicine after watching a certain tv show. Tv is fine, but for me nothing is better than a good novel that can weave a story around a subject that I'm interested in. Anyway I thought "Stalemate" was a fantastic novel and the forensic professor Eve Duncan was just the character I was looking for to keep me hooked on the field of forensic science. I was thrilled with the author's detailed descriptions of this field and way she just pulled me into this fascinating story. In summary, I really enjoyed Iris Johansen book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Not bad

    When I read fiction I like a happily ever after. I like to believe that love is the most important thing. This book was interesting but I didn't like the rift between Eve and Joe and her attraction to another man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A THRILLER PUNCTUATED WITH FORENSIC DETAIL

    Following on the heels of her wildly successful last thriller starring forensic professor Eve Duncan (On The Run, 2006), the writer who has been called 'the queen of suspense' now presents an equally terrifying tale that pits Eve against a fearsome killer. As fans of Iris Johansen know she wastes little time in roping readers/listeners in. It all begins with a phone call, in fact the third she has received from Luis Montalvo, a Colombian drug lord. She's hard at work reconstructing a skull and wants no interruptions but can't resist picking up the phone to tell Montalvo in no uncertain terms that he's not to call her again. But, this is a man who does not take no for an answer, and says, 'I'm convinced you'll be my guest in a very short time.' 'Why?' 'That would spoil the surprise. I like to see a plan unfold like a beautiful night flower.' 'You mentioned Joe and my adopted daughter. You touch them and I'll kill you.' 'That violence again.' His tone was amused. 'I'd never be that stupid. That would be the trigger that would send you into the fray to take me down. I want your cooperation.' As much as she detests the man he has the one key that will make her agree to go to him - information about her daughter, Bonnie, who was abducted years ago and is presumed dead. Once in the jungles of Colombia Eve finds herself trapped, caught in a battle between drug dealers. And neither side cares whether Eve lives or dies. If you like to see a heroine battling for her life and favor thrillers with dashes of forensic detail - this one's for you! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    THE PERILS OF EVE DUNCAN ABLY NARRATED

    Following on the heels of her wildly successful last thriller starring forensic professor Eve Duncan (On The Run, 2006), the writer who has been called 'the queen of suspense' now presents an equally terrifying tale that pits Eve against a fearsome killer. As fans of Iris Johansen know she wastes little time in roping readers/listeners in. It all begins with a phone call, in fact the third she has received from Luis Montalvo, a Colombian drug lord. She's hard at work reconstructing a skull and wants no interruptions but can't resist picking up the phone to tell Montalvo in no uncertain terms that he's not to call her again. But, this is a man who does not take no for an answer, and says, 'I'm convinced you'll be my guest in a very short time.' 'Why?' 'That would spoil the surprise. I like to see a plan unfold like a beautiful night flower.' 'You mentioned Joe and my adopted daughter. You touch them and I'll kill you.' 'That violence again.' His tone was amused. 'I'd never be that stupid. That would be the trigger that would send you into the fray to take me down. I want your cooperation.' As much as she detests the man he has the one key that will make her agree to go to him - information about her daughter, Bonnie, who was abducted years ago and is presumed dead. Once in the jungles of Colombia Eve finds herself trapped, caught in a battle between drug dealers. And neither side cares whether Eve lives or dies. With numerous Broadway, film and television appearances to her credit actress Jennifer Van Dyck is again well cast as the voice of Eve Duncan. Many well remember her fine voice performances on other Johansen favorites such as Killer Dreams and On The Run. Van Dyck's trained voice ably reflects both Eve's toughness and her vulnerability. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2