Customer Reviews for

Stalin's Ghost (Arkady Renko Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is an excellent Russian police procedural

Moscow Police Department Senior Investigator Arkady Renko is horrified by the path that the clues of his current investigation take him as he looks into an apparent murder for the ¿firm¿. The evidence stacks up that the killers have employed two former Black Beret Chec...
Moscow Police Department Senior Investigator Arkady Renko is horrified by the path that the clues of his current investigation take him as he looks into an apparent murder for the ¿firm¿. The evidence stacks up that the killers have employed two former Black Beret Chechnya War heroes turned police detectives, Nikolai Isakov and Marat Urman.------------------- That murderer for hire case is bothersome because of the apparent killers being his peers. However, the second case is more bewildering as Renko investigates accounts by seemingly reputable witnesses who claim they have seen STALIN¿S GHOST in the subways. Finally he also inquires into the sudden deaths of Black Berets who served with Isakov. As he works his three cases, Arkady sees the tie between them is Isakov, who is an untouchable as he runs for public office. Still Renko, in spite of threats warning him to back off or join the growing morgue population, seeks proof that will hang even the powerful Isakov.------------------------ This is an excellent Russian police procedural that will provide acclaim to Martin Cruz Smith as he excels with this deep look at the forces manipulating contemporary Moscow. The story line is classic sleuthing as Arkady methodically works one clue at a time on his three cases. His efforts serve as the focus keeping the investigations moving forward and coherent. Readers will enjoy his sixth outing as STALIN¿S GHOST will be considered one of the sub-genre¿s top tales of 2007.---------------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stalin's Ghost should have stayed in the grave

This book was not up to Smith's usual standards. The plot was weak and disjointed. The characters were not believable or likeable. I expected more after Gorky Park. A disappointment!

posted by Linda42 on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Winner!

    Mr. Smith's novels are one of the few that I must have the day it is released and I believe that "Stalin's Ghost" is one of his best. Gorky Park is my favorite. It is rare for an author of a series to be so reliably outstanding but Smith does it in style. The story with the main character Arkady Renko is solid and the author doesn't disappoint. Again, Smith demonstrates in this novel that he is a master at having separate scenarios taking place, (3 in this novel) and blending them seamlessly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Arkady endures

    I fell in love with William Hurt in the movie Gorky Park; I got over him in The Big Chill... But I digress. I discovered that the author of GP, Martin Cruz Smith, has written sequels with the same droll investigator as the central character. I took a trip to modern day Russia with his novel Stalin's Ghost, and enjoyed the non-stop action - a bit "Bourne" - while the historical detail was interesting as it shed some light on my shadowy concepts of that part of the world and its history. In the CD version, the narrator has this gruff Russian accent which adds to the ambiance. Definitely adult language, content, so be forewarned. (originally posted in my now-defunct book blog 5/22/08)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Good Addition to the Arkady Series

    Arkady is back, a little more worn and torn, and although far from the freshness of Gorky Park I still found it an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This Ghost Is Recommended

    Not a fan of mystery novels, I did find Stalin's Ghost a true page turner due to the intensity of the series of events and outcomes. The story starts where Renko has heard of the sighting of Stalin's ghost, which gives everyone chills. Arkady Renko can be identified as a man who's "private life is a shambles", as well as an investigator who is devoted and obsessed with his work. He is also the guardian of an orphan named Zhenya who loves to play chess. He pursues the investigation and comes across the ideals of human morals which includes corruption and dishonesty that surrounds him. The major themes in the novel are the realities of human morals which plays well within the story. Although, one thing I do dislike about the novel is how short the story is. It could've been longer, which could have also given the audience more feeling of obscurity, which would prolong some events. But, I did enjoy the dialogue of the characters because it gave the feeling that the characters had a sense of life in them, unlike other mystery novels which I find that many characters have similar characteristics from other mystery novels. I believe that others should read this just for sheer fun, and the gripping sensation of a great mystery novel. I truly enjoyed this book and would recommend Gorky Park, and Wolves Eat Dogs to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book

    An in-depth book, very imaginative and complete. This book does not leave you hanging. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great reading very different plot

    Very intreagueing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    Arkady Renko...I couldn't resist re-visiting this old friend. Satan's Ghost takes us back into his world, a new Russia where crime and mobsters rule rather than Soviet bureaucrats. Cruz Smith does his usual good job except that the suspense of his previous novels is not quite here. This is more of a leisurely walk than a high-paced thriller. He left me wanting more...in this book and hopefully many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1