Customer Reviews for

Stalin's Ghost (Arkady Renko Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Real Winner!

Mr. Smith's novels are one of the few that I must have the day it is released and I believe that "Stalin's Ghost" is one of his best. Gorky Park is my favorite. It is rare for an author of a series to be so reliably outstanding but Smith does it in style. The story with...
Mr. Smith's novels are one of the few that I must have the day it is released and I believe that "Stalin's Ghost" is one of his best. Gorky Park is my favorite. It is rare for an author of a series to be so reliably outstanding but Smith does it in style. The story with the main character Arkady Renko is solid and the author doesn't disappoint. Again, Smith demonstrates in this novel that he is a master at having separate scenarios taking place, (3 in this novel) and blending them seamlessly.

posted by LoveSeaStories on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stalin's Ghost should have stayed in the grave

This book was not up to Smith's usual standards. The plot was weak and disjointed. The characters were not believable or likeable. I expected more after Gorky Park. A disappointment!

posted by Linda42 on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Great book. Great characters.

    I love the development of Arkady Renko from Gorky Park to this novel. I love the wicked humor among the characters in the book. Martin Cruz Smith is a great writer. He's complex, and visual, and emotional. I appreciate his talent so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    a well written detective story

    This is a book that I hated to finish. I've read all of this author's previous titles, this may be my favorite. I felt I was in Moscow and although I don't really drink I began craving vodka. Authors tend to get too wordy when they use a continuing character but this book was well edited. The type is spaced well on the page too, making it really easy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is an excellent Russian police procedural

    Moscow Police Department Senior Investigator Arkady Renko is horrified by the path that the clues of his current investigation take him as he looks into an apparent murder for the ¿firm¿. The evidence stacks up that the killers have employed two former Black Beret Chechnya War heroes turned police detectives, Nikolai Isakov and Marat Urman.------------------- That murderer for hire case is bothersome because of the apparent killers being his peers. However, the second case is more bewildering as Renko investigates accounts by seemingly reputable witnesses who claim they have seen STALIN¿S GHOST in the subways. Finally he also inquires into the sudden deaths of Black Berets who served with Isakov. As he works his three cases, Arkady sees the tie between them is Isakov, who is an untouchable as he runs for public office. Still Renko, in spite of threats warning him to back off or join the growing morgue population, seeks proof that will hang even the powerful Isakov.------------------------ This is an excellent Russian police procedural that will provide acclaim to Martin Cruz Smith as he excels with this deep look at the forces manipulating contemporary Moscow. The story line is classic sleuthing as Arkady methodically works one clue at a time on his three cases. His efforts serve as the focus keeping the investigations moving forward and coherent. Readers will enjoy his sixth outing as STALIN¿S GHOST will be considered one of the sub-genre¿s top tales of 2007.---------------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Martin Cruz Smith, Stalin's Ghost

    In his sixth novel of Arkady Renko, Martin Cruz Smith continues to depict a calm, to some cold, Moscow detective, suffering through professional and personal setbacks. Arkady is challenged and even threatened by superiors and colleagues, while growing more fearful of losing his Eva to a young, popular hero of the Chechen war and fellow detective Nikolai Isakov. When Isakov takes over - and quickly solves - a couple of suspicious deaths, Arkady cannot leave it alone. But is it jealousy of a romantic rival that compels him forward or real evidence that Isakov is not what he seems. As always, Cruz enables the reader to feel life - and death - in Russia. The cold of the streets, the avarice of the new capitalists, the bitterness of the old guard. Stalin's Ghost was a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Stalin's Ghost

    He uses more swear words, much more than he used to. He didn't have to before. He can be such a good writer, he doesn't need to swear. A book you can hardly put down, like most of his. Arkady Renko is a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stalin's Ghost

    In his sixth novel of Arkady Renko, Martin Cruz Smith continues to depict a calm, to some cold, Moscow detective, suffering through professional and personal setbacks. Arkady is challenged and even threatened by superiors and colleagues, while growing more fearful of losing his Eva to a young, popular hero of the Chechen war and fellow detective Nikolai Isakov. When Isakov takes over - and quickly solves - a couple of suspicious deaths, Arkady cannot leave it alone. But is it jealousy of a romantic rival that compels him forward or real evidence that Isakov is not what he seems. As always, Cruz enables the reader to feel life - and death - in Russia. The cold of the streets, the avarice of the new capitalists, the bitterness of the old guard. Stalin's Ghost was a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1