Customer Reviews for

Stalking Susan

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great summer read!

Julie Kramer's first novel is awesome! It is suspenseful and humorous and keeps you interested until the end. Her character, Riley Spartz, is funny and sophisticated, as she tries to unravel the mystery of the murders of the Susans. She also follows another news stor...
Julie Kramer's first novel is awesome! It is suspenseful and humorous and keeps you interested until the end. Her character, Riley Spartz, is funny and sophisticated, as she tries to unravel the mystery of the murders of the Susans. She also follows another news story that involves pet cremation. Julie mixes Minnesota landmarks in with the fiction, which makes it interesting and fun to read. Once you are finished, you will want to go out and purchase her next novel, Missing Mark, to read.

posted by cjsthoughts on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent start to a strong stable of mysteries

After years on my to-read list, "Stalking Susan" was very rewarding -- far better than I expected from a first novel. So now Julie Kramer's books are on my read-the-rest list, along with books of Grisham, Sandford, Krueger, and another new Minnesota author, Colin Nelson...
After years on my to-read list, "Stalking Susan" was very rewarding -- far better than I expected from a first novel. So now Julie Kramer's books are on my read-the-rest list, along with books of Grisham, Sandford, Krueger, and another new Minnesota author, Colin Nelson, among others.

posted by Artful_Codger on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Excellent start to a strong stable of mysteries

    After years on my to-read list, "Stalking Susan" was very rewarding -- far better than I expected from a first novel. So now Julie Kramer's books are on my read-the-rest list, along with books of Grisham, Sandford, Krueger, and another new Minnesota author, Colin Nelson, among others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Stormpatch to Talonfang & Pearlstar

    Talonfang, go to the next result & read your instructions. Pearlstar, go to eighth result. Ill c u 2 there.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    A great summer read!

    Julie Kramer's first novel is awesome! It is suspenseful and humorous and keeps you interested until the end. Her character, Riley Spartz, is funny and sophisticated, as she tries to unravel the mystery of the murders of the Susans. She also follows another news story that involves pet cremation. Julie mixes Minnesota landmarks in with the fiction, which makes it interesting and fun to read. Once you are finished, you will want to go out and purchase her next novel, Missing Mark, to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SADLY DISAPPOINTING

    I kept reading and hearing about this book and wanted to snatch it up as quickly as possible. I ran right home and started reading it.

    I was bored after the first couple of pages. Nothing grabbed my attention. But I decided to drudge through and it give it a chance. It was a quick read and before I knew it I was up to page 198. I put the book down and reflected on how I felt about the book at that point. It wasn't horrible. Worse. It was forgettable.

    I still had no bonds to the characters even though some back story was given on them. I didn't really care who the killer was, or if the lead character was going to be killed or not. I was tired of being school on cop talk and news-caster talk.

    About ten pages away from the ending, there was still no suspense. I wasn't enticed to keep turning the pages to see what would happen next. Everything seems really choppy and disjointed and contained absolutely no drama. This book is listed under: mystery and thriller. Neither of which actually appeared in the book. I just have two words for this book.

    SADLY DISAPPOINTING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Wow!

    Fantastic book! Great newer author! A must read:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    New writer the I love

    I recently read this first story in an incredible new series.
    That I was shocked and at the murderer and I can say that
    at one point I thought that it was the retired cop in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Talonfang

    He ca.e back. Talonfang

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Caught me right away

    Great easy ride. Words flow smoothly! Set to Mnpls/St. Paul area, helpful to know some of the area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    Great story with lots of twists and turns. I enjoyed every minute of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read full of cliches

    I enjoyed this book. It had some cliche dialouge but all in all it was a good read and I bought the other two books that follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Great Read

    This is a light, easy to follow mystery. Great beach read or perfect when you're curled up next to the fire on a cold Minnesota winter night! (The book is set in Minneapolis)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    What luck, A new detective has found us!

    Julie Kramer has created a new heroine,Riley Spartz just right for the fans of Sue Grafton and Marcia Muller. This time she is a TV reporter, with a sad history and a way of getting into trouble. By getting away from the heroine as detective, being an investigative reporter gives some new twists to the cases that must be investigated. This series will just keep getting better, as can be seen in her next book MISSING MARK which was recently released. A great read, and a joy to look forward to new entries in this adorable series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Best thriller I've read in a long time!

    Great writing, great plot, great entertainment. I can't wait to read her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    TV Producer helps trap killer

    Because of her background, author Julie Kramer has a significant leg up with her debut novel. She's had a solid career as television producer in the Twin Cities (Minnesota) and her avatar, Riley Spartz, is a credible protagonist with a rich plate of angst, mis-steps, difficult co-workers, sharp insight and one or two mistakes.

    A long-time local police source retires and at the same time dumps a couple of questionable cases in her lap. Whether a real lawman, retiring after a long distinguished career would violate the ingrained instincts of his adversarial stance toward reporters, is never dealt with. Similarly, there are a few facts which form part of the basis for the early action, which are questionable. Throughout the novel, reporter Riley Sparks occasionally takes actions which move the action forward, but which an experienced, aware female reporter would simply not do.

    Those criticisms posed, the writing throughout the novel is strong, the narrative drive is good, the characterizations present several interesting characters and once things get really moving-about a third of the way into the novel?a number of questions arise, questions which yield answers that frustratingly raise other questions. Handling this plot is tricky and the author does a good job of it. One of the nice aspects of this book is the amount of insider information presented and the way it's handled. Some of the information is inconsequential and almost frivolous, some relates directly to the main story line. In all cases such background is presented on a need-to-know basis, in fragments that almost never get in the way of the main narrative.

    In sum, in spite of the rare lapses of good judgment by Riley Sparks, and the occasional logical holes, this is a very enjoyable novel. We'll watch for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    A Great Book

    Julie Kramer's first novel is awesome...well-written, memorable characters,and humorous. This is a fast moving mystery with a good plot.I can hardly wait until her next book arrives this summer. Great gift for a friend....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    Great read!

    Being from the area, enjoyed the references to the Twin Cities. Interesting insight into investigations from a reporter's perspective. I don't like to analyze books, just read and "crawl" into the story, which was easy to do with this novel. Looking forward to another!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    WRITTEN IN FIRST PERSON

    I wish bn.com would give us a heads up when a book is written in first person. Personally, I really hate first person and just dont read books written that way..

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Great characters study in this debut novel!

    Rarely does a debut author get my enthusiasm so completely, but Julie Kramer 'author of STALKING SUSAN' has made me a fan from page 1. Her unique voice hit me as decisively as Robert Crais did when I first discovered his Elvis Cole PI series. And that¿s saying something. By the title and book summary, you may think this is mainly a serial killer story. And the premise read like a cliché to me at first¿TV news reporter draws out a serial killer 'not even the police think exists' with the help of her cop friend. We¿ve all seen this type of story before. But what really stands out in this book is the humanity of the main character. Riley Spartz is a media savvy reporter who can take a mediocre story and turn it into media gold '40-share+ rating' simply by how she filters the facts through her own humanity. The character¿s cynical humor is a joy to discover, but there is another poignant thread through this book that really resonated and took me by surprise. Without giving too much away, I will say that the ¿dealing with grief¿ thread will remain with me long after I¿ve shelved this book with my favorites. Kramer begins and ends her story with it and I¿m sure it will haunt me for a long time to come. If you are reading this book to find a creepy scary story about a serial killer, you may not find what you¿re looking for. This is a character driven story about a courageous woman doing her job as a news reporter with an endearing circle of friends, co-workers, and quirky neighbors. Other news coverage is just as compelling to watch as the stories unfold and you can see how a TV reporter and a TV station thinks about news. An interesting perspective. And since Julie Kramer is a freelance TV news producer 'for NBC¿s Today show, Nightly News and Dateline', her experience really shows in the behind the scenes look at the ¿business¿ of news coverage. If you keep an open mind when you read STALKING SUSAN, this spunky TV reporter can make you laugh and cry. She felt so real to me that I wanted to know her as a person too. In short, I fell in love with this book and can¿t wait for the next one in the series. Kudos, Julie Kramer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Good Read

    Really liked this book it moved along and for a first Novel was very good. Hope there will be more. Liked all the Minnesota referances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2