Customer Reviews for

Stallions at Burnt Rock (West Texas Sunrise Book #1): A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Stallions At Burnt Rock

    Stallions at Burnt Rock
    Have you ever ridden horses through the wild west on a scorching hot day? If not, this book is for you! This book has everything from baby horses and broncoes to saloons and gunfights.

    The main character, Lee Morgan, a female that owns a ranch and loves horses, goes on many adventures throughout the story. She makes a race with her friend Jonas and pits her best horse Slick against one of Jonas' horses. But when something happens to Jonas, Lee is on her own to keep track of the race.

    I encourage anyone that hasn't set foot on the wild west to read this exciting and thrilling book by Paul Bagdon.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Very good book

    Very good, weii written, excellent story line and great characters that seem to come alive on the page dragging you right inti the action of the story. If you are a lover of animals, especially of horses, this is a book for you. Also a very descriptive view of what West Texas is like during the summer and into fall. To the average person it is just mile upun endless mile of utter desolation but if you look closely ther is lots of life and beauty there. This author brings rhat out excepptionally wrll. I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this book.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    Very good western

    Lee Morgan is an oddity among women. She is no Southern Belle, but a horse rancher, tough and strong as any man. Determined to prove her capability, she agrees to race her stallion against a neighbor's, despite her misgivings about the wisdom of gambling and horse racing. ......The races have brought danger and a low element to Burnt Rock, making Marshall Ben Flood's life harder. It also endangers both him and Lee. The wildness evolves into murder. It is too late to stop the race though, and it will take every resource in Lee to win it. Faith and courage are key elements to proving herself. ***** This innocent novel will appeal to fans of Louis L'Amour and Zane Grey. It shows that faith can carry into every aspect of life, even those not traditionally thought of as requiring it. Both parents and children can share this book as a family read. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1