Customer Reviews for

The Stand: Complete and Uncut

Average Rating 4.5
( 1566 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1171)

4 Star

(245)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

M-O-O-N. That spells The Stand.

I first read the originally-published version of The Stand in 1984. I became so immersed in it that I would pause from reading, look up and around me, and for a long, unsettling moment feel that I was one of the survivors of Captain Tripps. I since read that version a...
I first read the originally-published version of The Stand in 1984. I became so immersed in it that I would pause from reading, look up and around me, and for a long, unsettling moment feel that I was one of the survivors of Captain Tripps. I since read that version another time and then read this expanded version a few years later. I am about to read it once more. No other book calls for me the way this one does.

The Stand is an tale of the epic struggle between good and evil. It is God vs. the Devil. Liberal vs. conservative. It is the battle between the good angel and the bad angel that reside on your shoulders, whisper advice into your ears and use your mind as their battleground. One side will lose. In the end, we (the survivors, yes, you will be one too) learn that while we don't get what we want, we do get what we need. Where will you make your stand?

M-O-O-N. That spells The Stand.

posted by Pangea on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great Character stories but....

It seems like Stephen King spent A LOT of time focusing on characters and then realized by Book Three (close to 1000 pages in) that Uh Oh!! I've got to wrap this up. I also noticed he did the same thing in his most recent long book Under the Dome. In my opinon, he does...
It seems like Stephen King spent A LOT of time focusing on characters and then realized by Book Three (close to 1000 pages in) that Uh Oh!! I've got to wrap this up. I also noticed he did the same thing in his most recent long book Under the Dome. In my opinon, he doesn't do well when writing books this long, he loses sight of the plot and gets caught up in characters.

posted by Doodlebug1071 on July 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1574 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 79
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    The best book ever written

    THE STAND is arguably the best book ever written....if ever there was a story depicting the true nature of a wide variety on US citizens in a time of crisis and the struggles with surviving in a post apocalyptic world, the stand delivers...a must read for anyone with the patience of 1100 pages...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    A Masterpiece

    It is a classic tale of good vs. evil. However, the characters are rich and deep, giving the story a authenticity rarely achieved in post-apocalyptic tales.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Truly Horrifying

    This book is by far one of my favorite SKs out there, but it is by far one of the scariest that I have read. Once you finish the book, and really start to think about what happened, it sends chills down your back for weeks to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    In my opinion, Stephen King's best novel

    I enjoyed The Stand. It is, in my opinion, Stephen King's best novel he has ever written. I read both the 800 page version and the much longer 1400 page version, and still found both stories to be great. The story concerns a man-made plaque, yes man-made, that wipes out more than 99% of Earth's population. It is fast and within a few months everybody is dead, except for a few survivors who start having dreams of a dark man named Randall Flagg and a kindly old lady named Mother Abigail. These dreams eventually lead to survivors taking either the side of Randall Flagg, the evil side, or Mother Abigail, the good side. All the characters are deep, and even minor characters are given an in depth view. I believe that is one of the reasons The Stand is one of Stephen King's greatest novels ever. The details are rich, and the story itself is epic in scope. These are also reasons for this being one of the best he has ever written. I've read just about everyone of his stories and novels, and The Stand still stands out over all the rest, and that is saying something. This is the same author of It, The Mist, Carrie, The Shining, Salems Lot, etc. I didn't much like The Tommyknockers, but everything else he has written, including the Dark Tower series, has been above average. That's why I consider The Stand his greatest work ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Extremely Overrated

    The Stand has been made out to be a terrific book, and I admit it was addicting at first. But after a while (say 300 of its 1100 pages), the story becomes this boring tale that goes on and on, it loses your attention. You expect things to pick up, but not until a long, long time after do they actually do this. Definetly for those that love a dark story though.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    Most Dissapointing

    This book was boring, the first part was great, until they were all together. Dissapointing King Work

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    OFF THE CHARTS !!! The Uncut Version is Incredible..I read the e

    OFF THE CHARTS !!! The Uncut Version is Incredible..I read the edited version first, then when the Uncut book came out I got it, and WOW... !!!. I tried to keep up when King first began, even his alter-named (Backman) books, there are so many now. I have kept my hardcover King books, and re-read them every so often and even though I know the plot they still freak me out !!!! Still a top Author in my Library . 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Worth it

    It may be a little slow at times but its sooo worth it its really good! Check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Stephen king

    Stephen King has got to be an amazing writer if someone who is not easily scared can look at the covers of one of his books and think "Oh God, should I read this?" He is just a spectacular writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book!

    This is an amazing read! It is very long but so interesting I could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    a literary classic

    This is easily one of the best books I have ever read. Day 1 - I couldn't put it down, read all night. Day 2 - Read all day, but I managed to squeeze in a couple of meals. Day 3 - Finished it. Whew !! I'm exhausted. Stephen King is a genius !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    King's Masterpiece--and one of the best Modern Fiction books ever written

    My headline says it all. Any King fan already knows it, and anyone who hasnt read this but likes King's style will love this. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a well-crafted story, with richly drawn characters and complete with the ultimate villian. If I had only one book on a desert island, this would be it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I love this book so much. It's really scary but it's very interesting and frightening. It's recommended for people who love horror, drama, action, adventure and people with strong stomachs. You will love this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    WONDERFUL READ!!!

    This is still one of my all-time favorite books. I lost my original copy in Hurricane Rita (here in southeast Texas) and finally ordered another copy. Have read the re-issued unabridged version 4 times and own the DVD of the television miniseries which I have watched several times.
    Of course, Stephen King is one of my favorite authors and I have read everything he has written. I love the way he "puts words together" (my way of say syntax).
    If you haven't read this, please order it. Money very well spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    King is still King!

    I read it the first time many years ago and was supremely pleased to see the original the way it was meant to be....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Loved it!

    One of his best!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    Feels like coming home

    That's how I feel whenever I pick up Stephen King's The Stand. This is an amazing story told by a wonderful author. This novel just pulls you in and keeps you enthralled until the very end. I've read it three times over the past fifteen years and I'll read it again and again!<BR/>Also recommended: Firestarter, Needful Things and The Long Walk (the Bachman Books).<BR/>You might also like: Dean Koontz (the older ones), as well as Lee Child and John D MacDonald (the Trav McGee series).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Favorite book of all time!

    This is my most favorite book of all. I have read it so many times I lost count. It just grabs you from page one, I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    My all-time fave King book

    I really just want to tell you to read it & decide for yourself, since I rarely listen to other people's reviews. I prefer to form my own opinion. Anyway, 'The Stand' is basically the ultimate battle between good & evil. An important part of the theme is God. I'm an atheist & strangely, the prevalence of God in this book does not bother me. I just thoroughly enjoy King's version of the way world ends, & the stories of those who triumph. His imagination is unbelievable.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Grossly engaging.

    In The Stand, Stephen King is at his very best. A wholly engaging novel that ties together so many believable, fluid characters. Definitely one my picks for favorite book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1574 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 79