BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Stand by Me

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Story

Since the day I picked up the first book in the Yada Yada Prayer Group series, I have enjoyed Neta Jackson’s writing. Within the first few pages, I fell in love with the characters and their stories. When she had completed the Yada Yada series, I was happy to see that s...
Since the day I picked up the first book in the Yada Yada Prayer Group series, I have enjoyed Neta Jackson’s writing. Within the first few pages, I fell in love with the characters and their stories. When she had completed the Yada Yada series, I was happy to see that she followed some of her characters in the House of Hope series. So, imagine my excitement when I realized she had decided to continue the stories of her characters and introduce some new ones in her latest series, Souled Out Series. I enjoyed reading this book just as much as I enjoyed all of the previous books. Each series reveals a little more about her most beloved characters and makes you want to delve deeper into their world. I cannot wait until book number two in this series comes out!

A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

posted by JamieLittle on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Stand by Me, by Neta Jackson Kathryn is a white woman who left m

Stand by Me, by Neta Jackson
Kathryn is a white woman who left medschool after many problems and recently found herself in religion by a Christian school, when she meets Avis, a black woman with a successful career as a director in the school and in life. They meet in t...
Stand by Me, by Neta Jackson
Kathryn is a white woman who left medschool after many problems and recently found herself in religion by a Christian school, when she meets Avis, a black woman with a successful career as a director in the school and in life. They meet in the church and Avis to be older,judges Kathryn's character before she knows her. Women have many differences, but their paths will intersect. The author can descrive from a very real way the character flaws of each, as well as their qualities, all that defines them as women and as human beings. Both of them have family problems, but together they will try to cross these differences to be better people.
The book helps to reflect on the kind of person we are, and really try to improve every day, being more sympathetic to the next, in order to become more human, and better people.

posted by PaolaSevero on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great book

    You will enjoy this book. It help you to realize you should never stop praising GOD even if you are going through something. And to open you heart and mind to others you never know why some people comes into our life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Kathryn (Kat) Davies comes from a prominent Phoenix family, whos

    Kathryn (Kat) Davies comes from a prominent Phoenix family, whose father wants her to go to med school so she could practice with him. After attending a Christian music fest, Kat becomes a Christian and drops out of med school and goes into education, creating a deeper chasm within her family. Kat also starts attending SouledOut Community Church in Chicago, a mixed race community of believers.

    Avis Douglass is the principal of one of Chicago’s best performing elementary schools, an over-the-hill newlywed–second time around for her, a founding member of SouledOut Community Church, and one of its main worship leaders. Her faith and relationship with the Lord is strong. However, her estrangement from her daughter haunts her every day, though she prays diligently for her.

    Kat’s dramatic enthusiasm for living the “sold-out” Christian life clashes with Avis’ more stable, reserved faith. Therein develops the ‘grain of sand’ irritation in Avis’ shoe, so to speak. How can they develop a relationship when they are so different? Kat appears so care-free and Avis has an estranged daughter.

    Neta draws out Kat’s outspoken mannerisms that wreak havoc in Avis’ spiritual walk, wondering how she can become so unglued when this young student speaks out so brashly. Though Kat seems mostly oblivious to Avis’ feelings, the tension is heightened when Kat and her friends rent the condo below the Douglass’s, one of whom is a guy. A secret known only to Kat, Brygitta and Rochelle turns into a conundrum for Kat. New in her faith, Kat wonders how God will bring it all to pass.

    Faith, praise and prayer, especially through the Yada Yada prayer group, permeate the story line, but Neta keeps you intrigued as to how God will answer those prayers. His ways are higher than ours!

    I found the interactions between the different races at the church to be honest and sincere, as well as the characters. Avis’ thought life becomes known to the reader, which adds depth to the story. Tensions do arise, particularly after Pastor Clark’s death. The possibility of dissension and racism rear their ugly heads. How will it all be worked out? Will the church survive? The author does a wonderful job of working through all the circumstances that touch not only Avis, but her daughter and Kat in a way that melts your heart. The touch of humor helps to level out the stress and tension.

    God brings difficult people into our lives. It’s not to make our lives miserable, but to bring us to maturity. Stand by Me is a book that shows how God brings out that maturity, though we are sometimes kicking and screaming. The touch of humor levels out the stress and tension. I would summarize Stand by Me by this, “Iron sharpens iron; so a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.” Proverbs 27:17

    Special thanks to Rick Roberson The B&B Media Group, for sending me a review copy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I was a little caught off guard with this book. I really wasn't

    I was a little caught off guard with this book. I really wasn't expecting to enjoy the characters as much as I did. I've read a lot of reviews
     about Neta Jackson and her Yada Yada Prayer Group series. I haven't read any of those but after reading this and the way she is so
     detailed with her characters and their interaction with each other, I'm going to look into that series. Kathryn is a white woman
     who after finding herself with many problems left med school and found religion by going to a Christian school. She meets a
    very successful black woman by the name of Avis who judges Kathryn without knowing her first, as I'm sure we all can relate to.. I know
     I can. Throughout the book you read about the struggles these women go through in life and family and how their paths cross and how
     they deal with these things to become better women, better people.t really makes you think about yourself as a person and what you
    can do to improve yourself as not only a woman, in my case, but also as human being.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze Blogger Review Program. I was
    not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever had that situation where you were reading a book a

    Have you ever had that situation where you were reading a book and you find yourself just plain irked with the characters? I mean they were really getting under my skin, their choices, what they say, how they are treating the people in their lives, etc. As I started reading Stand by Me by Neta Jackson I gotta say, I was feeling a little irked.

    If you have read any of the other novels by Neta Jackson , then you will see yourself once again returning to Chicago and once again you will see some of her Yaya Yada prayer group characters in this novel, mainly Avis Douglass and her husband Peter as the novel opens with them celebrating their 6th anniversary. Sadly Avis’ daughter Rochelle is in a tough spot as she tries to make things work in her life, a single mom, HIV positive, an abusive ex-husband, and now she has lost another job and shown up on her Mother and Step-Father’s doorstep once again. Peter takes a stand and recommends using tough love with Rochelle in not letting her stay with them indefinitely. But the rub is that Rochelle has Conny- Avis’ 6 year old Grandson in tow, so poor Avis is conflicted in what the right thing to do is. Rochelle leaves with Conny and no word and no contact.

    Enter in Kat Davies, a college student who is new to the Souled Out Community church that Avis and Peter are long time members and leaders of as well. Kat saunters in one Sunday with many friends in tow and sort of plops herself among them rather like a bull in a china shop. She is so eager to make a difference in an Urban experience program that she sometimes fails to see the people and their real needs. One of her counselors at her college urged her to “talk less and listen more” which she got a little bit better at as the book went on, but it was a real struggle for her. She is a relatively new Christian with lots of zeal but little discernment.

    Kat and friends end up renting an apartment below the Douglass’ and Kat proceeds to rub Avis the wrong way again and again. This is where the irksome moments come into play as I kept getting mad at these characters for how they were treating each other, Avis’ constant irritation with Kat, Kat’s impulsiveness and tendency to run off at the mouth, Avis’ daughter continually shying away from getting help, etc. But as the story played out, as the character’s were honest with each other, etc. I realized that all this frustration with these characters was a good thing as it revealed to me that these characters read as real people. They all had their own inward motivations as to why they responded as they did and Neta Jackson does a great job with this storyline in making you really connect and care about these characters. I was irked because I really wanted the best for them. You see people are rarely what we take them as at face value, in that there is usually a lot going on and if we take the time to stop, care, listen and truly find out what their needs are, then amazing relationships are formed and especially with those people that we maybe didn’t like at first.

    Great read! 4 stars

    A free copy of this book was provided for me through the Booksneeze program through Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1