Customer Reviews for

Standing at the Scratch Line

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Great book but ebook is "buggy"

    I loved it but I found the ebook edition buggy. The page load was not smooth on mny occasions and the font was not always clear. I frequently restarted my Nook Color while reading.

    Gripping storytelling by Guy Johnson. I hope the second novel is less buggy than the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    A TRUE STORY TELLER

    Excellent...riveting, a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended ...

    i'm on book two of "Standing At The Scratch Line" and reading it too fast. Filled with life lessons and full of Heroes. Can hardly wait until Guy Johnson writes again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    I could not put this book down. Very very addictive! Guy Johnson does an excellent job weaving a story through time and eras! So loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    A Winner

    King Tremain is a all true man. I read this books years ago and now I have purchased it for my Nook. It's one of those books you want to have in your permanent library. The story line and characters come together seamlessly. It's really the stuff that makes real good movie material. Would love to see it as a series on HBO but I don't think 2012 is ready for King Tremain. But I am.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    it gets 5 stars because it's stellar

    could not put this book down. it has become the best book i have ever read...hands down. king tremain was a true man among men. if you don't think this is the best book you've ever read... ya'll better say joe, cause you sho don't know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    One of the best books written 

    One of the best books written 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read!! I wonder why he doesnt

    One of the best books I have ever read!! I wonder why he doesnt have many book publications....I would read all of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    This is a wonderful series. I fell in love with King and his gr

    This is a wonderful series. I fell in love with King and his grandson. I could not put this book down and when I did Immediately started on Echos of a distant summer. These books have spoiled me and I always look for another by Guy Johnson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    this is a must read book

    The writing is so informative and interesting that it is difficult to put the book down. The author has done considerable research about the time period in history that is often misintrepreted and misleading. I especially liked the diary style writing.
    I am reading this book because my book club suggested it; we decided to read it and discuss it in two sections (because of the volumne). The first discussion was very animated and interesting by every book club member. I am proud of the characters in the book because they embody the spirit of people that are strong, intelligent, insightful, and resilient. Our club has scheduled the sequel of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR ALL.... YOU WON"T BE DISAPPOINTED

    BEST BOOK I EVER HAVE READ.... FIRST READ IT IN HIGH SCHOOL, FELL IN LOVE WITH IT AND BOUGHT BOTH SERIES FOR MYSELF TO KEEP FOR LIFE!!!!!!.... ABOUT TO BE DONE WITH COLLEGE AND I FIND MYSELF SOMETIME READING THIS BOOK OVER AND OVER AGAIN.... ITS ALWAYS LIKE THE FIRST TIME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Greatness!!!

    This book is my favorite book of all time! This book is everything that makes reading great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Our book club gave this book 9's and 10's. It was exciting from beginning to end. An adventure with a bit of history. Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    LOVE THIS!!

    This is one of the BEST stories I have read in a long time. When my husband recommended it, I was a little hesitant and to be honest, I only started reading it so he wouldn't say I never read what he recommends. But after the first 3 pages...I couldn't put it down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Great Book.

    This book is great read from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Guy Johnson is an excellent writer, it is time for his next novel.

    Standing at the Scratch Line is the first of two thrilling books by Guy Johnson. I found it difficult to put the book down. The plot and the characters are excellent and he pulls them all together perfectly.
    Please write another book very soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book! Excellent Read!

    This is a great book! I loved it, and the sequel (Echoes of a Distant Summer). I hope he writes a third novel for this series. Very Strong characters with a great story line. My mother and I often trade books, but this is the first book I read that I knew she would like, but also my father would read. My dad is strictly a hunting magazine type reader, but He loved both books, and keeps asking if there will be a third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    one great book

    This was one of the best books i have ever read. guy johnson has definetly got a fan from here on out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    guy johnson book lover

    I boought the book when it first came out and I read it over and over. Never gets old. keeps you not wanting to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    It takes a man to raise a boy into a man

    I could not put this book down and even when I did, I found myself thinking about Leroi King Tremain and would happen next. Standing at the Scratch Line pulls you into one aspect of the daily struggles of being black during the 1900s. King Tremain won my heart because he was a man of loyalty, courage, honor, intelligence, and determination. He is a solid FAMILY MAN who displays his love & devotion the best way he can. Women can do a fantastic job raising a son, but as King Tremain reminds us, men live by a different set of rules. It takes a GOOD man to navigate a boy through the unspoken codes to manhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3