Customer Reviews for

Standing in Another Man's Grave (Inspector John Rebus Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Old soldiers may never die and John Rebus hopefully will never


Old soldiers may never die and John Rebus hopefully will never fade away. After a couple of years in retirement he’s back as a civilian consultant on cold cases (which seems to be becoming a trend in resurrecting protagonists in crime fiction). In the course of this ...

Old soldiers may never die and John Rebus hopefully will never fade away. After a couple of years in retirement he’s back as a civilian consultant on cold cases (which seems to be becoming a trend in resurrecting protagonists in crime fiction). In the course of this work he is informed by the mother of a girl who disappeared many years before that her daughter may have been the first in a series of disappearances ( and presumably murders) along a northern highway (serial murders apparently are becoming de rigeur among retired detectives as well). And Rebus is off to the wars, albeit with no official standing.

Rebus worms his way into an active investigation with the help of his old sidekick, Siobhan Clarke. And he uses all the old techniques frowned upon by his old nemesis, Malcolm Fox, of the Complaints, including consorting with the likes of gangsters such as Rafferty to gain information. While a massive police force goes about the investigation by the book, of course Rebus goes it alone.

It’s good to have Rebus back, and hopefully more is in store because the rules have been changed and he has applied for reinstatement. All he has to do is pass the physical. Can he do so, despite all that hard liquor and cigarettes? And, of course, if successful, Fox is looking forward to Rebus making a colossal mistake on the job to justify his enmity.

As with all the previous novels in the series, this one is highly recommended.

posted by tedfeit0 on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

?

May have been good, but excessive plot spoilers ruin it. Refuse to pay $13 for a book when rude ppl reveal everything about the story.

posted by 8888649 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Old soldiers may never die and John Rebus hopefully will never


    Old soldiers may never die and John Rebus hopefully will never fade away. After a couple of years in retirement he’s back as a civilian consultant on cold cases (which seems to be becoming a trend in resurrecting protagonists in crime fiction). In the course of this work he is informed by the mother of a girl who disappeared many years before that her daughter may have been the first in a series of disappearances ( and presumably murders) along a northern highway (serial murders apparently are becoming de rigeur among retired detectives as well). And Rebus is off to the wars, albeit with no official standing.

    Rebus worms his way into an active investigation with the help of his old sidekick, Siobhan Clarke. And he uses all the old techniques frowned upon by his old nemesis, Malcolm Fox, of the Complaints, including consorting with the likes of gangsters such as Rafferty to gain information. While a massive police force goes about the investigation by the book, of course Rebus goes it alone.

    It’s good to have Rebus back, and hopefully more is in store because the rules have been changed and he has applied for reinstatement. All he has to do is pass the physical. Can he do so, despite all that hard liquor and cigarettes? And, of course, if successful, Fox is looking forward to Rebus making a colossal mistake on the job to justify his enmity.

    As with all the previous novels in the series, this one is highly recommended.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Excellent read

    Mr. Rankin is one of the best authors since he started writing. Can't wait for the next one. Bringing Malcolm Fox into a John Rebus book worked very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Recommend all of the Inspector Rebus series.

    Please bring back Rebus again and again and again. The Rebus' personality is perfect for his ability to cross the line during investigations. In retirement, he has more opportunities to do things his way. This book is perfect for displaying his not always acceptable choices to solve a crime.

    I will miss picturing Rebus traveling the streets of Edinburgh. Rankin makes me see and feel the atmosphere of the city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This was a great, dark, mystery about the underbelly of Edinburgh and the detective who is at the end of his career. Rebus is rebellious to his chain of command. He has brilliant analytical powers and insight. He solves the crime, but never makes points with the top brass.

    This book is for the person who enjoys the dark mysteries that seem to come from the dismal Northern climes. Rebus is in the category of Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole and Wallender. The character has a deep relationship with alcohol and has strained family relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Good Read

    John Rebus is the old-school detective who does things his own way, which is not always smiled upon by the his superiors. It is his character that really makes for the story. The plot is not one that I think you can really discover until the author reveals it. It is a bit of a "letdown" to not be able to confirm any suspicions as to who did it. Having said this, I still think it is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    ?

    May have been good, but excessive plot spoilers ruin it. Refuse to pay $13 for a book when rude ppl reveal everything about the story.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Save your money

    One of the worse books I've ever read. If I got this book at the library I would of taken it back before finishing it. On that, the ending was awful.
    Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Another great Rebus book and an excellent read. 

    Another great Rebus book and an excellent read. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    A Welcome Return

    I was very happy to find that Rankin had not completely given up on John Rebus. I thought it one of the best in the series. With Rebus' normal grousing and grumbling yet finding ways to get the job done. Thoroughly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Rebus is back!

    His best Rebus to date!! Very enjoyable ..... sad to finish!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Good read

    first time I have read a book by Ian Rankin and I put him up their with James Patterson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A mature Rebus with depth and complexity from an accomplished writer. One of my favourites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    A MUST READ

    IT'S IAN RANKIN AT HIS FINEST, I HAVE READ EVERY BOOK IN THE JOHN REBUS SERIES AND AM SO GLAD REBUS IS BACK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    A Big Bore!!

    I had high expectations for this book since I had never read anything by this author. However, the first 233 pages read more like a Fodor's Guide to Scotland. Every highway and city between Edinburgh and the northern tip was mentioned multiple times (along with every scotch distillery) with no action of any kind. And most of the names were unpronounceable. It took 233 pages before they finally found a body. I did enjoy the character of John Rebus: sarcastic, annoying to authorities, smart mouth, a smoker and drinker. Possibly some of his earlier books are better, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I just finished this book. A typical Rebus story with the inclusion of Rankin's new series.
    If you like the Rebus series, you will enjoy this. The plot goes right to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Tartan Noir Memoir

    I have waited in great anticipation to read every book in the Rebus series to date - and this one did not disappoint. Rankin does a magnificent job of guiding the reader through the peaty maze of John Rebus' psyche with a warmth and familiarity that belies the unpredictability of both the plot and our old friend John. The same can be said of Rankin - once again on top of his game, his love of Scotland and music played through the narrative as easily as a bagpiper on a leisurely stroll up the Royal Mile. The only thing that was off-putting about the whole affair was that John Rebus' story is shortly coming to an end. And no offence, Malcolm, but the middle is as high as you could ever reach. In my book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    A real page turner!

    Couldn't stop reading this book! It held my interest til the last page! Ian Rankin writes a great mystery and this was my first reading by this author. I was motivated to read more of his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2