Customer Reviews for

Standing in the Light: The Captive Diary of Catherine Carey Logan, Delaware Valley, Pennsylvania, 1763 (Dear America Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE THIS BOOK!

I read this book many years ago, and recently read it again. I never get tired of reading this book. It's for all ages and it's very touching. An adult version of this book is "The Red Heart" by James Alexander Thom. I actually bought the movie of this and it was really...
I read this book many years ago, and recently read it again. I never get tired of reading this book. It's for all ages and it's very touching. An adult version of this book is "The Red Heart" by James Alexander Thom. I actually bought the movie of this and it was really good. The book is about a young Quaker girl who was kidnapped with her brother walking to school. They live with the Native for many months until they are recovered. She finds love with a Native American and they were supposed to marry, but he was murdered. She never does find love after "Snow Hunter" but instead fighting for rights for Native Americans. She eventually with intense research discovers the young brave who she was going to wed, was a white settler taken when he was very young.

posted by Izy on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cool

I havent read it but from all the reviews it sounds soooooo cool i am going to read it right know wish me luck

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I read this book many years ago, and recently read it again. I never get tired of reading this book. It's for all ages and it's very touching. An adult version of this book is "The Red Heart" by James Alexander Thom. I actually bought the movie of this and it was really good. The book is about a young Quaker girl who was kidnapped with her brother walking to school. They live with the Native for many months until they are recovered. She finds love with a Native American and they were supposed to marry, but he was murdered. She never does find love after "Snow Hunter" but instead fighting for rights for Native Americans. She eventually with intense research discovers the young brave who she was going to wed, was a white settler taken when he was very young.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    One of my favorite books

    Standing in the light is about a young girl named Catherine who lives in Delaware Valley, Pennsylvania in the year 1763. While she and her young brother are on their way to school one morning, they are captured by a tribe of the Lenape Indians. Catherine must go through many ordeals while with the Indians. But soon she comes to love her Indian family. This book is very educational about the Lenape Indians and how things were back then. Catherine has a wonderful personality that you cant help but love. This book is filled with adventure, happiness, sadness, and romance. This is a great book and you wont regret reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Cool

    I havent read it but from all the reviews it sounds soooooo cool i am going to read it right know wish me luck

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book was very touching I read page 46 and it said snow bird captures snow hunter. When snow hunter kissed Caty i knew I had to keep reading. When I found out that snow hunter was killed I instantly felt bad because Caty will never marry snow hunter. This book was a good book. I think you should read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This book was absolutely amazing. I'm a senior in high school an

    This book was absolutely amazing. I'm a senior in high school and I still read this book. I would recommend this book to anyone, and everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Luv it

    I love it so good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    This is such a great book!!!!!! I loved it from beginning to start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    I read this book !!!

    I like the part where she falls in love with snow hunter
    But its realy sad that snow hunter gets killd:(-sigh

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Awsome

    It is great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Look under your pillow

    Say i love dear america 5 times and look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    I wished snow hunter lived!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Awe Awesome

    Great book i have read it bout 6 times :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Millie's reveiw

    A thrilling book. Very intense and is exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    I love this 100%

    This book is has a happy begining but a sad ending. This was about a girl that was captured by some lenape indans. But in the end she gets back to her family in the end. If you like this book as much as I do try reading the other Dear America books like A Long Way From Home.
    Sincerly,
    Gianna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Luv 2 read

    Best book ever with a very sad ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Dear diary

    I watch this show on qubo channel they are so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    E

    I love this book i almost have all the books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Best one!!!

    I sobbed when i heard that the snow hunter had died. It was heartbreaking! I still havent gotten over it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    I thought it was ok but really short considering it cost like seven dollars (it only had sixty pages). The end was depressing. Over all it did not meet my exspectations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    H

    Well I would like to slap the ppls who took her back until their face was red!!! She seemed a whole Lot happier with the indians! And the people who lived there invaded the indians territory and treated the indians like dirt! Those people didnt even know what the indians were like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6