Customer Reviews for

Standing in the Light: The Captive Diary of Catherine Carey Logan, Delaware Valley, Pennsylvania, 1763 (Dear America Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE THIS BOOK!

I read this book many years ago, and recently read it again. I never get tired of reading this book. It's for all ages and it's very touching. An adult version of this book is "The Red Heart" by James Alexander Thom. I actually bought the movie of this and it was really...
I read this book many years ago, and recently read it again. I never get tired of reading this book. It's for all ages and it's very touching. An adult version of this book is "The Red Heart" by James Alexander Thom. I actually bought the movie of this and it was really good. The book is about a young Quaker girl who was kidnapped with her brother walking to school. They live with the Native for many months until they are recovered. She finds love with a Native American and they were supposed to marry, but he was murdered. She never does find love after "Snow Hunter" but instead fighting for rights for Native Americans. She eventually with intense research discovers the young brave who she was going to wed, was a white settler taken when he was very young.

posted by Izy on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cool

I havent read it but from all the reviews it sounds soooooo cool i am going to read it right know wish me luck

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    I wished snow hunter lived!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Millie's reveiw

    A thrilling book. Very intense and is exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    H

    Well I would like to slap the ppls who took her back until their face was red!!! She seemed a whole Lot happier with the indians! And the people who lived there invaded the indians territory and treated the indians like dirt! Those people didnt even know what the indians were like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Good read


    I love this book! If you're the kind of person that has time to sit down and read you will so do so with this book. It's a story with romance,suspense, and twist and turns. If you can I suggest buying or borowing the book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    soooo good but soooo sad i liked it pretty well but it isnt my f

    soooo good but soooo sad i liked it pretty well but it isnt my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book was actuly really good I like it alot for most of the time but there were some things I did not understand about it at all like I am not kiding about this and Iwas trying to give it 4.5 stars but I did not know how to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book was such a great read. I actually learned something, but i enjoyed learning it. The charicters are well described. I would recomend anything from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    This book was one of the best

    i loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    INTERESTING BOOK

    the book is kind of boring at the beginning but the middle was Perfect! I loved the indians. It felt like I was living with them. I would let you read but it might not be what you thought. HISTORY LOVERS MUST READ IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    You might loose intrust but its still EXELENT

    This book is good but it can get sorta borring. Its really cool. I don't wana give out any good information about the book so ill leave ya with this. Check it out of the library and see how good it is 4 your self. It has a lot of good info on the indians and how they were misunderstood and treated badly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    Sometimes it Flows and Other Times it's Too Choppy

    Catherine tells about how she is kidnapped by indians and what life is like with them. The beginning of this book is excelent in the way that Mrs. Osborn writes about Catherine's obsession with Jess Owen and then on the next page she has been captured. Throughout the book one sees ho0w Catherine matures and thinks of other things then hair ribbons and boys and changes her heart's attitude towards the her captors. However this book is choppy and repetive much of the time. Other then that one complaint I do recomand it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    A Sad Historical Book

    If you were to read this book, you would feel crushed. I know that I cried twice(sad,happy tears). It was exciting and amazing and was so anginized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    A Great Book!

    This Book opened my eyes to how the Native Americans were treated by White Men. I never thought snything of it until I read this Book. I also loved how she Fell in Love with the one Indian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    a reviewer

    A young girl who lives in the Delaware Valley in 1773 is captured by Native Americans. She goes on a journey that not only helps her realize who she is, but helps her realize that the important things in life are closer than any boy or friend could ever be! They are her younger bothers, sisters, and her parents. She writes in the diary her father gave her so her father knows about what she learned. If you want to know more go to any book store and get "Dear America Standing In The Light".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    This is a great one!

    I really enjoyed reading this book very much! The only thing I didn't like was that Snow Hunter got killed. I was really dissapointed. Besides that it was an eKimgrad2003@Yahoo.comxcellent book and I love reading it over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1