BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Standing in the Rainbow

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Such an enjoyable novel!

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. This was my first experience reading a novel by Fannie Flagg. I found the scope of this novel to be quite impressive. I loved the fact that it followed this family and their acquaintances through fifty years. I found the characters to be...
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. This was my first experience reading a novel by Fannie Flagg. I found the scope of this novel to be quite impressive. I loved the fact that it followed this family and their acquaintances through fifty years. I found the characters to be both lovable and unforgettable. I also enjoyed that the novel was split into episodes with their own quirky titles rather than just chapters. Such a nice change of pace and just a breath of fresh air.

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What is this book about?

I like 'slice of life' fiction, but this book just 'lays there.' Nothing happens. A number of characters are introduced and many are not developed. I liked the short chapters, but I wish the characters would have been more woven together and a little more plot and ch...
I like 'slice of life' fiction, but this book just 'lays there.' Nothing happens. A number of characters are introduced and many are not developed. I liked the short chapters, but I wish the characters would have been more woven together and a little more plot and character development had been employed in writing the book. The prose is very easy to read, and I really wanted to like this book. However, I just never found anything meaningful in it to grab hold of.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Such an enjoyable novel!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. This was my first experience reading a novel by Fannie Flagg. I found the scope of this novel to be quite impressive. I loved the fact that it followed this family and their acquaintances through fifty years. I found the characters to be both lovable and unforgettable. I also enjoyed that the novel was split into episodes with their own quirky titles rather than just chapters. Such a nice change of pace and just a breath of fresh air.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    What a treasure!!!

    This is the 3rd Fannie Flagg book I've read and so far my absolute favorite!!! (All I have left is 'Welcome to the World, Baby Girl'). I grew up on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi and can sooo relate to small-town life, particularly in the South. Fannie Flagg captures it perfectly with all her zany characters and their crazy shenanigans. I can see many of them in my own family. LOL! I found myself laughing out loud more times than I can count. I even read an excerpt to my 12 yo son and he laughed along with me. I became invested in the characters from page one and would often find myself sneaking in the bathroom and staying longer than was necessary just so I could spend a little more time with them. I quite unexpectedly cried my eyes out when some of them came to their journey's end and still others reflected on life in simpler times. It only reinforced to me that often the things we take for granted in life are the very things we end up missing once they're gone. I will recommend this book to all my friends because this is no doubt one of the best reading experiences I've ever had. Keep 'em comin', Fannie Flagg!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Blissful

    I can't say how much I enjoyed this book. I loved the old time values. this book really makes you think back to better times where morals and values were purer and you could take in a stranger for dinner and not worry that the stanger would kill you and your family. This book gives you a lot to think about, like your place in the world and in your town and in your family, identies as a child vs. adult, our limited time on earth and how we deal with the ups and downs. A terrific story with other things to think about afterwards

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2003

    My sides hurt from laughing!

    I am from a small town in the midwest so I could identify with the characters and the small town living which I love.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    A tale that is as colorful as any rainbow could be

    Reading Standing in the Rainbow made me walk back into memory lane and enjoy the scenary of my childhood. 1946 was a time loooooong before I was born, being a college student now. But the words Flag used in this novel could touch anyone's heart to remember the days when you had suppers with the whole family around the table, a nice bed to sleep in, and a friendly neighbourhood that was filled with smiles and gossip. Flag succeeded to expend a simple story on everyday life into an ironic plot of politics, losses, and the reality of life. It's amazing how one little character could affect the whole story, how one little incident changed lives, and how one little smile brings laughter and joy. The story got me all sentimental!! This is a great story that is told in a very simple and easy-going way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    What is this book about?

    I like 'slice of life' fiction, but this book just 'lays there.' Nothing happens. A number of characters are introduced and many are not developed. I liked the short chapters, but I wish the characters would have been more woven together and a little more plot and character development had been employed in writing the book. The prose is very easy to read, and I really wanted to like this book. However, I just never found anything meaningful in it to grab hold of.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Pointless

    Remember 'the show about nothing' on TV? Well, I thought this book was the book about nothing. This is my first Fanny Flagg book and I hated it. Who was the story really about? Lots of chopped up plots leading to nothing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    Not Up to Flagg's Standard

    As a big fan of Flagg's, I was excited to read this book. Unfortunately, this book is excruciatingly slow and meandering. I kept waiting for something to happen. Although the book picked up for the second half, it took me forever to get through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    This is no 'Fried Green Tomatoes....'

    This book is totally pointless and beneath Ms Flagg' former work. I've wasted alot of time lookng for something of interest in this book but unless I had no life of my own, I couldn't find any reason for writing or reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    NO RAINBOW FOR ME!

    I fell in love with FLAGG'S first two books, and bought the last two eagerly expecting to be glued to the book to the finish...and left wanting more. WRONG! I had no desire to finish RAINBOW....it was boring, uneventful, plotless, meaningless, FLAGGLESS! SORRY! I am just glad I read FRIED GREEN TOMATOES and DAISY MAE before I read this one, otherwise I would have never discovered the beautiful writing style of FLAGG! SORRY this one wasn't a winner with me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Love

    I work in a thrift store and picked this up one day to read at lunch time. So began my love of Fannie Flagg. This story and it's characters was amazing. I literally cried at the end which I never do. Will never forget these wonderful people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I love all her stories. They're very well written & you feel

    I love all her stories. They're very well written & you feel a part of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Wholesome entertainment about down to earth people

    People who enjoyed this book probably grew up in a time when neighbors actually knew, cared about and looked out for each other. A time when, if you were a kid, you didn't dare do anything bad because you could be sure a neighbor would call your mom and report. "Standing in the Rainbow" is chuck full of humor, understanding and hope. I love Fannie Flagg's books, especially Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man. It was my first Flagg book, but not my last and in every case, I hated to see the story end. What a refreshing change from the politically correct claptrap that usually makes the best seller list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Wonderful story telling!

    Wonderful story telling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Excellent read.

    As always Fannie Flagg has the ability to capture Americana. Warts and all, with humor. Love reading her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Love it!

    I will never get enough of Fanny Flagg's writing. Here's more of the same that we've all come to expect...wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Funny...Light reading

    Enjoyed this book very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    I would love to see this book as a movie!!! This was a woderful book. One of the best ones ive ever read. I am really enjoyig reading Fannie Flagg!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Didn't want it to end...

    This is such a nice story, and the characters made me want to live next door. I wanted it to last and last. I am totally hooked on FannieFlagg now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5