Customer Reviews for

Star Bright (Kendrick-Coulter-Harringan Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

tense romantic suspense

Knowing how lethally dangerous her affluent influential husband Peter Danning is as he has killed two previous wives and not desiring to be next when he finally goes over the edge with her, Lorraina Ann with help from her friend Janet arranges for her death on a ship at...
Knowing how lethally dangerous her affluent influential husband Peter Danning is as he has killed two previous wives and not desiring to be next when he finally goes over the edge with her, Lorraina Ann with help from her friend Janet arranges for her death on a ship at sea to fool him when he searches for her. Rainie Ann no longer exists as Anna Pritchard is born. Besides altering her appearance, Anna plans to disappear to isolated tiny Crystal Falls, Oregon.
---
In the small town, Anna obtains work as a bookkeeper at Parker Harrigan's horse ranch. However, Parker believes his new employee is not just hiding secrets, but concealing her identity for whatever reason. As their attraction grows, Anna fears it because she knows all she can give to her beloved employer and his extended family is death if her psychopathic spouse finds her in Crystal Falls.
---
The third of the five Harrigan siblings romantic suspense tales (see MORNING LIGHT and SUN KISSED) is an exhilarating tale that refreshes the theme of a woman in peril from her insane but connected husband (think of Roberts-Bergen in Sleeping with the Enemy). The story line is fast-paced from the moment Rainie Ann no longer exists and Anna Pritchard with her Elvira wig does. Fans will enjoy the latest Harrigan saga as the besieged brave woman and the readers know the maniacal predator is coming for her.
---
Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Same old, same old

This book followed the same pattern as all of her other books. She has done the spousal abuse/deranged busband thing at least twice before. This story is not original; only the names have changed. I think this will be my last CA book. I am tired of investing in the ...
This book followed the same pattern as all of her other books. She has done the spousal abuse/deranged busband thing at least twice before. This story is not original; only the names have changed. I think this will be my last CA book. I am tired of investing in the same story retold with a new title.

Additionally, making her vet character against spaying/neutering was wrong on so many levels I can't even get into it without seeing red.

posted by 1458486 on June 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    tense romantic suspense

    Knowing how lethally dangerous her affluent influential husband Peter Danning is as he has killed two previous wives and not desiring to be next when he finally goes over the edge with her, Lorraina Ann with help from her friend Janet arranges for her death on a ship at sea to fool him when he searches for her. Rainie Ann no longer exists as Anna Pritchard is born. Besides altering her appearance, Anna plans to disappear to isolated tiny Crystal Falls, Oregon.<BR/>---<BR/>In the small town, Anna obtains work as a bookkeeper at Parker Harrigan's horse ranch. However, Parker believes his new employee is not just hiding secrets, but concealing her identity for whatever reason. As their attraction grows, Anna fears it because she knows all she can give to her beloved employer and his extended family is death if her psychopathic spouse finds her in Crystal Falls.<BR/>---<BR/>The third of the five Harrigan siblings romantic suspense tales (see MORNING LIGHT and SUN KISSED) is an exhilarating tale that refreshes the theme of a woman in peril from her insane but connected husband (think of Roberts-Bergen in Sleeping with the Enemy). The story line is fast-paced from the moment Rainie Ann no longer exists and Anna Pritchard with her Elvira wig does. Fans will enjoy the latest Harrigan saga as the besieged brave woman and the readers know the maniacal predator is coming for her.<BR/>---<BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    another winner

    I love Catherine Anderson's Kendrick/Coutler/Harrigan series, and this was another winner! I couldn't put the book down, I loved reading about Rainie and Parker and their interactions. It is a very touching book, I felt Rainie's terror of her ex-husband and felt happy with how she was welcomed into the Harrigan family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    Same old, same old

    This book followed the same pattern as all of her other books. She has done the spousal abuse/deranged busband thing at least twice before. This story is not original; only the names have changed. I think this will be my last CA book. I am tired of investing in the same story retold with a new title.

    Additionally, making her vet character against spaying/neutering was wrong on so many levels I can't even get into it without seeing red.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    This was a really good story

    I checked out this book because I thought it looked like a good read, and I was right. I read this in a matter of days...could not put it down. I like how Parker not only offered to protect Rainie, but he also gave her self-confidence and made it his goal to help her learn how to defend herself. The romance was slow to start, which was actually a good thing considering what Rainie had gone through, and Parker was great at being so patient with her, but once it got started, things heated up pretty quickly. (steamy, even) The ending, of course I won't spoil it, but it had me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next. My only complaint? The way Parker talked annoyed me after a while, but he's such a sweet guy so I'll forgive him! Great book, check it out :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Abused Wife Flees

    I love Catherine Anderson's novels. The characters are believable, down-to-earth people. Each novel Ms. Anderson writes, involves real life problems. The twists are great. In Star Bright, I enjoyed the courageous, family-centered characters. It took a lot of daring for Rainie to leave her abusive husband, and start her life again. I'm glad Rainie found love again with the protagonist, Parker. The novel left me with a warm feeling, and I slept like a baby. Keep writing, Catherine Anderson, and I'll keep reading!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner

    Love it. Horses and a sexy cowboy. Its also my favorite theme of abused woman seeking solitude and then meets the man that can heal her past. A keeper.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book, just like all the other Catherine Anderson books. It does not dissappoint.

    I love the gorgeous hero cowboy who saves the girl. Parker is so into Rainie, and will do anything to help her. I love that Catherine Anderson books make you feel warm and good inside, the books are so good you don't want to put them down. This is no different. I really enjoyed this book, it is a great get away.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Book review

    I enjoyed the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Harrigan/Coulter family Classic

    If you loved Catherine Anderson's other Coulter, Kendrick and Harrigan family books then you will love this installment. This time it's Parker Harrigan's turn to find love.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Before the first chapter is over, you are in love with the characters.

    When I want to read a book that will leave me feeling warm and good all over, I pick up something from Catherine Anderson. I fell in love with her writing when I read the Harrigan and Coulter family series of books. She makes you want to live where they live and know them personally. This book did not disappoint, romance, suspense, and touching characters hooked me immediately. I finished it with a smile on my face - which is what I want in the books I read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    catherine anderson at her best

    loved it, loved it, loved it!! Couldn't put it down, of course!! It is a catherine anderson, enough said!! I felt for the heroine and hero both. I was literally sitting forward reading this story. I didn't even read the back cover to look at the story because it was going to be mine no matter what and I am never disappointed with her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I loved it!

    If you like Anderson¿s novels you will definitely enjoy this book. The main character is a fighter and a survivor. She makes a good main character as she moves her way through getting over the abuse that she received by her husband both physically and emotionally. Her struggle to get away from him and learn how to trust her heart keeps you drawn in with the story telling of this great author. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome back Catherine Anderson!

    After CA's last book, I was left a little deflated but Parker and Rainie's addition to the Harrigan Family put her back at the top of my must haves list. The sweetness of the developing romance was sprinkled with a thrilling drama and made for a great read. I read it in one day. I recommend this one for anyone looking for the book that blends great characters with great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Star Light, Star Bright...Wishes do come true!

    Romance is the main theme in this book, but the suspense puts some action on the page. The characters have a great chemistry and are well thought out.<BR/><BR/>This is a must read for anyone who loves a true romance novel. <BR/><BR/>Rainie marries the man of her dreams just to discover he is really a nightmare. And a murderer. She fakes her death and changes her looks to escape him. Her new boss suspects something is up with her, but he is careful and not pushy. His strength and support help Rainie to overcome her fears and a romance begins.<BR/>But, her ex husband discovers she is still alive and comes for her!<BR/><BR/>It was snowing outside when I read this. I was all cuddled up in a fluffly throw blanket near the fireplace. It was so easy to tune out the business of my life and take a little time for myself. I highly recommend the book...and the experience!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Wonderful book

    I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Jak

    Night falls asleep with jer in his arms

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Warriors Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    AMAZING as usual

    This book is just another one of Catherine Anderson's many WONDERFUL books! I always get so into her books and can never put them down, this one was no exception. The detail of characters and setting and series of events pulls you right in and you can almost see what she is writing. Another GREAT read by Catherine Anderson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Oh. My. God.

    I love this book. For someone who usually loves the traditional he-man characters I was surprised to love this book as much as I do. It was adorable. I can't count the number of times I almost cried. Parker is the sweetest most fantastic man EVER. He and Rainie's story made me utter more girly sounds than I care to admit. I realize Catherine Anderson's plotlines get EXTREMELY repetitive but I think it was worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To Trust And To Love

    Rainie Hall was desperate! If she didn't escape her abusive husband, Peter Danning, she was certain he would kill her, perhaps in the same way that he murdered his other two wives. Rainie's friends help her and she flees to the small town of Crystal Falls, Oregon, a place where she hopes Peter will never find her.

    With her borrowed funds rapidly dwindling, Rainie takes a job on a horse ranch run by handsome Parker Harrigan. Harrigan hires her as his accountant, but Rainie's skittishness puzzles him. She seems to be terrified of her own shadow and men frighten her for some reason. Parker does a background check and quickly realizes most of what is on Rainie's job application is a lie, a fable meant to deceive him into hiring her.

    Parker is angry and upset with himself for trusting her. He was really beginning to like Rainie and eagerly looked forward to their impromptu discussions. When the truth comes out, however, Parker realizes Rainie is a woman on the run, someone desperately in need of a champion. Chivalrous Parker Harrigan would never turn from a woman in trouble.

    Parker and Rainie contact the authorities, who stage an elaborate plan to use Rainie as bait to trap Peter Danning. The FBI has the serial killers' monikers and present a web of entrapment to fit the profile. Unfortunately, Peter is a serial killer with a twist - a twist that may very well spell the end of both Rainie and Parker. Will Peter succeed in cornering Rainie despite the FBI's precautions or will Rainie somehow find the strength to fight for her own life and for a love she cannot deny?

    Anyone who has been involved in or has witnessed an abusive relationship will identify with the characters in this book. Catherine Anderson has captured the incredible amount of damage that can be done to those victimized by their abusers. The toll goes well beyond the broken bones and bruises and into the psyche itself. Normalcy is twisted into some dull aberration, trust disappears and concept of self is beaten down relentlessly until only a glimmer of the former individual glows in the farthest reaches of the mind. I applaud Ms. Anderson's portrayal of the slow, gradual healing process as well and the incredible restraint and love that must be shown by those who seek to bring the victims back into the light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4