Customer Reviews for

Star Island

Average Rating 3.5
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(148)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Hiaasen is almost back!

Carl Hiaasen's "Star Island" is a return to his core novels (Skin Tight, Tourist Season, et al), that put him in my library.

For the past few years, he has written Young Adult novels plus one about his experience attempting golf. Entertaining, but not the reason I re...
Carl Hiaasen's "Star Island" is a return to his core novels (Skin Tight, Tourist Season, et al), that put him in my library.

For the past few years, he has written Young Adult novels plus one about his experience attempting golf. Entertaining, but not the reason I read Hiaasen.

Skink, the one-eyed former Governor, and Chemo w/weed-whacker as prosthesis return in "Star Island"

But, Hiaasen is out of practice after the other novels. Star Island is a good read but a bit stale for Hiaasen. Let's hope that he returns to his wacky glory days of the early novels.

posted by Gybe on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Starless

If I were an author, I would hope that my fans would do me proud with a review that honored me rather than embarrassed both the reviewer and me.
But, I am not an author, nor a fan of Carl Hiaasen. This is the first, and now the last, book of his that I will read. It is...
If I were an author, I would hope that my fans would do me proud with a review that honored me rather than embarrassed both the reviewer and me.
But, I am not an author, nor a fan of Carl Hiaasen. This is the first, and now the last, book of his that I will read. It is not an easy read, cluttered as it is with pointless happenings of no interest whatsoever. And it is not funny, which I had been led to believe it was. What it is is awful, truly one of the worst books I have read this year. Save yourself the time and trouble and read the Enquirer instead. It may not be funny either, but at least it might be interesting.

posted by KenCady on August 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hiaasen is almost back!

    Carl Hiaasen's "Star Island" is a return to his core novels (Skin Tight, Tourist Season, et al), that put him in my library.

    For the past few years, he has written Young Adult novels plus one about his experience attempting golf. Entertaining, but not the reason I read Hiaasen.

    Skink, the one-eyed former Governor, and Chemo w/weed-whacker as prosthesis return in "Star Island"

    But, Hiaasen is out of practice after the other novels. Star Island is a good read but a bit stale for Hiaasen. Let's hope that he returns to his wacky glory days of the early novels.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OUTRAGEOUS...OVER THE TOP...HILARIOUS

    You know what they say confession is good for...so here I go: I'm a huge fan of Carl Hiaasen, hence this probably will not be an unbiased review. He always makes me smile, and I'm constantly amazed by his imagination, his productivity. After all, this is an author who not only pens bestsellers, but popular children's books, and writes a weekly column for The Miami Herald. If he has a vitamin regime - hope he'll share it.

    Second, there is another admission: I'm about to become a fan of Stephen Hoye's. He delivers an apt, easy listening narration of STAR ISLAND. Would imagine that Hiaasen's works are not the easiest to read - one must have the proper inflections for all the zingers delivered and a trained voice that can easily move from character to character without missing a beat - another challenging task because as has been shown this author's characters are really outre. Hoye succeeds in all areas.

    With STAR ISLAND Hiaasen takes on the celebrity life - to be precise the rollicking, ruinous life of over-the-hill alcohol and drug prone pop star Cherry Pie. Quite obviously, Cherry can be a bit of a handful for her producer who still marvels at her success when she has no discernible talent. Nonetheless, it will do her sagging career no good when she's too spaced out to make a public appearance. What's her stage mom supposed to do? Solution? Hire an actress to impersonate Cherry when she's "unavailable."

    Of course, it takes more than a producer and mom to keep the randy, reeling Cherry in line - there are twin publicists (well,, not actually twins but plastic surgery does wonders); a big, ugly bodyguard called Chemo; a determined paparazzo; and Clinton Tyree (former governor of Florida now hiding out in a swamp).

    The plot is driven by a multitude of hilarious, impossible situations. Hiaasen, it seems, can make even the most outrageous funny, and he does it once again with gusto in STAR ISLAND.

    Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Starless

    If I were an author, I would hope that my fans would do me proud with a review that honored me rather than embarrassed both the reviewer and me.
    But, I am not an author, nor a fan of Carl Hiaasen. This is the first, and now the last, book of his that I will read. It is not an easy read, cluttered as it is with pointless happenings of no interest whatsoever. And it is not funny, which I had been led to believe it was. What it is is awful, truly one of the worst books I have read this year. Save yourself the time and trouble and read the Enquirer instead. It may not be funny either, but at least it might be interesting.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Wanting to read this!

    So far all of the books this author has written i have loved/liked and now I'm excited for reading this one. So I'm definitely gona read this right when it come out.

    3 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nutty, Fun, and Razor-Sharp!

    Carl Hiaasen is at his gleefully twisted, cheerfully maniacal best in Star Island, which was released in paperback earlier this year. He has once again unleashed his clear-eyed vision of people and their foibles, this time in the fertile fields of no-discernible-talent celebrities and the parasites surrounding them.
    Cherry Pye is a character everyone will recognize - she could be any number of hard-partying girls in Hollywood who seem to be famous for nothing more than drinking, drugging, rehab, and perfume endorsements.
    Chock-full of real name dropping, Star Island is an unsentimental unveiling of the story behind the glossy magazine covers. And this is one of the reasons I love Carl Hiaasen's writing so much - he spares very little sentimentality for people, showing them as they really are, warts and all. This is not ncessarily unsympathetic - for instance, we learn that Cherry Pye was turned into a sexy little prepubescent by her own mother, and then signed to Jailbait records by a music producer who really likes his young clients. But the flip side is that Cherry really is a self-involved, hard-partying simpleton. Her double, Ann DeLusia, also has beauty but also brains and a sense of right and wrong, yet her upbringing was little better than Cherry's. After Ann is kidnapped by the Cherry-besotted Bang Abbott, Ann is hurt and angered to learn that Cherry's mother has not reported her kidnapping to the police. Word of Ann's existence would be financially disastrous for Cherry's "comeback", and that is more important than Ann's life. Luckily for Ann, she has met and charmed both Skink and Chemo who each have their own methods of dealing with situations such as this. And in Hiaasen's world, situations like this are the norm creating an incredibly entertaining and wild ride full of laugh out loud moments. I would recomment NOT drinking a beverage while reading this book - there are too many funny parts.
    As with most of his books, the greedy get punished and the good folks have a happy ending. The ending of Star Island felt a bit forced to me, which is the only negative in an otherwise fantastic book. I didn't understand Ann's need to drag Skink to a night club (name and theme of "Pubes" - ha!) to confront the clueless Cherry, and it felt contrived. But after the wild ride of this hilarious, wacky story it's a small complaint. This book is fun and entertaining - read it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very disappointing

    I agree with the other readers who stated this book was a waste of time and pointless. I found this book hard to get through. I kept waiting for it to get to the point. Surely a three star book would at some point in the story have some ultimate conclusion or reason for the story to be told. It was boring through and through.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Unable to recommend.

    Maybe if you can buy into an improbable premise with wildly exaggerated characters that can only exist in the author's mind, you might enjoy it. I struggled to finish the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Waste of time!

    I'm the kind of reader that sticks with a book. I give it time to develop....however, this was a very hard book to finish. It was exceedingly tedious!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I love his books!

    I love his books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Yay

    This is good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Funny

    Love writer,s involved stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Carl Hiaasen returns to form by switching up. Star Island gives

    Carl Hiaasen returns to form by switching up. Star Island gives the author's despoliation-of-Florida theme a rest by providing him with another target for his considerable store of outrage: pop celebrity.

    The chief offender is Cheryl "Cherry Pye" Bunterman, a teenage Britney manque with a singing voice "like a sack of starving kittens" and a dysfunctional entourage that enables (and covers up) her many assaults on common sense. Her perfect foil is overweight, self-deluded paparazzo Bing Abbott. Together, they'll make you fear for the future of the species.

    Hiaasen has plowed this turf before (ten years ago, in Basket Case), but here he lets out the stops. He doesn't need to condemn Cherry, her clueless parents, conniving twin PR gurus, or the "maggot mob" of paparazzi; he simply gets out of their way and through pitch-perfect portraits lets them hang themselves with their own words and actions. A few stock Hiaasen characters show up -- the grotesque sociopathic thug, the venal real-estate developer -- but at least there's no obvious stand-in for the author, which relieves the plot of some of the fantasy wish-fulfillment tropes that have marred some of his more recent works.

    Star Island is crazy, profane, nasty fun. If you've had your fill of reality-TV "personalities" and marginally talented "entertainers", you should enjoy watching them get skewered in this book. If you're already a Hiaasen fan, you'll enjoy seeing him break out of his formula and regain his satirical mojo. Either way, enjoy the ride. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Stupid Beyond Belief

    I got through the first 100 pages waiting for something realistic and/or funny to occur, but there just is no there there.

    This was a complete waste of money and time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Silverflame

    Falls over onto her back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Flametail

    Pushes in one last time before letting out a loud mrroww. C.m ozzed out inside you everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Dont understand the negative comments

    Star Island has become my favorite Hiaasen work to date. I love his irreverent take on the life of a spoiled pop princess and the lengths her entourage go through to keep the divas music selling career afloat. To me it was very easy to get through this book, filled with Hiaasens witty writing. His colorful characters always bring something fun to the table, and the cast here does no different. To me it is easy to imagine that there are numerous Cherry Pyes in todays music biz. Also loved the reappearance of Skink and Chemo. Fantastic read. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Wildheart

    She smiled, nodding. She licked his cheek. ~Wildheart ((ugh gtgtb))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Redstorm

    I love you too Wildheart. Ill never let a thing happen to you ever. I promise.." he said, not wanting to fail again. ~ Redstorm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Weird & Wonderful

    I first read Hiaasen when I read Bad Monkey. It was so wild and funny, that I've started reading his other books and will continue until I read them all. Fun, wacky, fast-paced reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Jolia

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29