Customer Reviews for

Star Island

Average Rating 3.5
( 565 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(148)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Hiaasen is almost back!

Carl Hiaasen's "Star Island" is a return to his core novels (Skin Tight, Tourist Season, et al), that put him in my library.

For the past few years, he has written Young Adult novels plus one about his experience attempting golf. Entertaining, but not the reason I re...
Carl Hiaasen's "Star Island" is a return to his core novels (Skin Tight, Tourist Season, et al), that put him in my library.

For the past few years, he has written Young Adult novels plus one about his experience attempting golf. Entertaining, but not the reason I read Hiaasen.

Skink, the one-eyed former Governor, and Chemo w/weed-whacker as prosthesis return in "Star Island"

But, Hiaasen is out of practice after the other novels. Star Island is a good read but a bit stale for Hiaasen. Let's hope that he returns to his wacky glory days of the early novels.

posted by Gybe on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Starless

If I were an author, I would hope that my fans would do me proud with a review that honored me rather than embarrassed both the reviewer and me.
But, I am not an author, nor a fan of Carl Hiaasen. This is the first, and now the last, book of his that I will read. It is...
If I were an author, I would hope that my fans would do me proud with a review that honored me rather than embarrassed both the reviewer and me.
But, I am not an author, nor a fan of Carl Hiaasen. This is the first, and now the last, book of his that I will read. It is not an easy read, cluttered as it is with pointless happenings of no interest whatsoever. And it is not funny, which I had been led to believe it was. What it is is awful, truly one of the worst books I have read this year. Save yourself the time and trouble and read the Enquirer instead. It may not be funny either, but at least it might be interesting.

posted by KenCady on August 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Wanting to read this!

    So far all of the books this author has written i have loved/liked and now I'm excited for reading this one. So I'm definitely gona read this right when it come out.

    3 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nutty, Fun, and Razor-Sharp!

    Carl Hiaasen is at his gleefully twisted, cheerfully maniacal best in Star Island, which was released in paperback earlier this year. He has once again unleashed his clear-eyed vision of people and their foibles, this time in the fertile fields of no-discernible-talent celebrities and the parasites surrounding them.
    Cherry Pye is a character everyone will recognize - she could be any number of hard-partying girls in Hollywood who seem to be famous for nothing more than drinking, drugging, rehab, and perfume endorsements.
    Chock-full of real name dropping, Star Island is an unsentimental unveiling of the story behind the glossy magazine covers. And this is one of the reasons I love Carl Hiaasen's writing so much - he spares very little sentimentality for people, showing them as they really are, warts and all. This is not ncessarily unsympathetic - for instance, we learn that Cherry Pye was turned into a sexy little prepubescent by her own mother, and then signed to Jailbait records by a music producer who really likes his young clients. But the flip side is that Cherry really is a self-involved, hard-partying simpleton. Her double, Ann DeLusia, also has beauty but also brains and a sense of right and wrong, yet her upbringing was little better than Cherry's. After Ann is kidnapped by the Cherry-besotted Bang Abbott, Ann is hurt and angered to learn that Cherry's mother has not reported her kidnapping to the police. Word of Ann's existence would be financially disastrous for Cherry's "comeback", and that is more important than Ann's life. Luckily for Ann, she has met and charmed both Skink and Chemo who each have their own methods of dealing with situations such as this. And in Hiaasen's world, situations like this are the norm creating an incredibly entertaining and wild ride full of laugh out loud moments. I would recomment NOT drinking a beverage while reading this book - there are too many funny parts.
    As with most of his books, the greedy get punished and the good folks have a happy ending. The ending of Star Island felt a bit forced to me, which is the only negative in an otherwise fantastic book. I didn't understand Ann's need to drag Skink to a night club (name and theme of "Pubes" - ha!) to confront the clueless Cherry, and it felt contrived. But after the wild ride of this hilarious, wacky story it's a small complaint. This book is fun and entertaining - read it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I love his books!

    I love his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Yay

    This is good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Flametail

    Pushes in one last time before letting out a loud mrroww. C.m ozzed out inside you everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Dont understand the negative comments

    Star Island has become my favorite Hiaasen work to date. I love his irreverent take on the life of a spoiled pop princess and the lengths her entourage go through to keep the divas music selling career afloat. To me it was very easy to get through this book, filled with Hiaasens witty writing. His colorful characters always bring something fun to the table, and the cast here does no different. To me it is easy to imagine that there are numerous Cherry Pyes in todays music biz. Also loved the reappearance of Skink and Chemo. Fantastic read. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Wildheart

    She smiled, nodding. She licked his cheek. ~Wildheart ((ugh gtgtb))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Redstorm

    I love you too Wildheart. Ill never let a thing happen to you ever. I promise.." he said, not wanting to fail again. ~ Redstorm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Jolia

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    highly recommended

    Hiaasen, as always, calls on little known people and places known people who grew up in South Florida. His "exagerations?" are comical and entertaining. It's a good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good

    I like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good book

    It is very good book i heard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Mr. Carl delivers again!! He delivers again!!!

    I have read most of his books. Definetly one of my favorites. Keep em coming!! Skink feels real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Josh

    Runs to all alone result 12 to make a home. Alone.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Pppppppppppppppppp

    Thibook deserves a one star but im just being nice and giving it a 5 star review thibook was also very perverted. Hocan somebody have piercing on his thing?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting and Comical at the Same Time

    Hiassen does not disappoint in this fast paced, amazing, train wreck of a novel. I use Train Wreck in the most loving way possible. That is just what Cherry Pye(Cheryl Bunterman)is. A massive train wreck. She has become so drug obsessed, that her mother hires a body double to stand in whenever she has an overdose to throw off the paparazzi. Hijinks ensue when the stand in is kidnapped by an estranged and cynical, not to mentioned bitter and burned paparazzi.The characters in this book give this book added light. It's a wonderful addition to any library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Is it Britney or Lindsey?

    This book was a fun book about the lives a well marketed but talentless young tart and all the people pulling the string. It definately seems to parallel some famous lives we know. Fun and different. Definately going to try to read some more Hiaasen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Very disappointed!

    Let me start out by saying that I am a HUGE Carl Hiaasen fan. I've read all his books with the exception of his tween books and can honestly say I've enjoyed them all thoroughly. I was soo looking forward to reading Star Island. Like other reviewers have mentioned this book seems forced in areas and his usual wit is lacking. He dusted off the great Skink character like he's done a few other times but in this book he almost seems a different person. Story is boring and predictable and he seems to have lost his magic touch. I will read his next novel in the hopes that Hiaasen "got his groove back" but I can say I was truly disappointed in this book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    FUN!!

    Star Island is a fun, easy read mocking modern day Hollywood...or rather, the starlets it adores. Cherry Pye seems to be a thinly veiled copy of Lindsay Lohan and the train wreck she leaves in her wake. Perfect beach or by the pool vacation reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    classic Carl Hiaasen

    I am a huge Carl Hiaasen and this book was pretty typical of his fun, outrageous style. I was not disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8