BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Strike (Inheritance Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ian Douglas Keeps on Delivering

I got hooked on Ian Douglas with his first trilogy, Heritage. Unfortunately I accidentally picked up his third trilogy (Inheritance) instead of the second (Legacy) so I'm reading them out of sequence. But it really isn't an issue as the basic theme continues as mankind ...
I got hooked on Ian Douglas with his first trilogy, Heritage. Unfortunately I accidentally picked up his third trilogy (Inheritance) instead of the second (Legacy) so I'm reading them out of sequence. But it really isn't an issue as the basic theme continues as mankind continues its struggle for survival in an increasingly hostile galaxy (in the 29th century).

In this first book of the Inheritance trilogy, the Xul, a machine-based intelligence with the uploaded persona's of an extinct race, continue to seek and destroy any and all potential threats to their galactic dominance. As with his first trilogy, Douglas uses his extensive knowledge of current scientific theory and technology (and his incredible imagination) to paint a picture of what technology, warfare and society might be like 800 years from now. As a former navy corpsman, Douglas uses his knowledge of battle planning, logistics and of course combat tactics to create a fascinating story of how the marine corp of the future can stand toe-to-toe with a larger and technologically superior enemy force. The battle scenes are intense and the technology mind blowing. Once I started reading this book I REALLY had a hard time putting it down.

The only complaint I have with the book (and others in the series) is that it contains frequent R-rated language and some occasional adult situations. I've got a 13-year-old son that loves science fiction and it's a shame that I can't share this book with him. Other than that I would highly recommend this book.

posted by SyFiGuy on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hardcore Sci-Fi at its core

While I enjoyed the story in this book, I found it difficult to stay engaged with the story. There are way too many descriptive details about the technology of the world that seem to break the rhythm of the story. As for the sci-fi aspect of it, it may go over most peop...
While I enjoyed the story in this book, I found it difficult to stay engaged with the story. There are way too many descriptive details about the technology of the world that seem to break the rhythm of the story. As for the sci-fi aspect of it, it may go over most people's heads unless you're a hardcore sci-fi buff. Maybe that's just my impression of it, but as far as a good story goes, it almost gets there. Somewhere amongst the many, many technological descriptions is a decent story that seems to lack character development, as well as consistency.

posted by Stricken_Maveric on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Hardcore Sci-Fi at its core

    While I enjoyed the story in this book, I found it difficult to stay engaged with the story. There are way too many descriptive details about the technology of the world that seem to break the rhythm of the story. As for the sci-fi aspect of it, it may go over most people's heads unless you're a hardcore sci-fi buff. Maybe that's just my impression of it, but as far as a good story goes, it almost gets there. Somewhere amongst the many, many technological descriptions is a decent story that seems to lack character development, as well as consistency.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Better than average.

    Ian Douglas is obviously intelligent and writes very well. But I feel he spends a bit too much time in this book detailing futuristic technology - so much so that the plot suffers. If you are a fast reader, then you might like this book a little better than those of us who take awhile to complete a book. As a slower, more deliberate, reader, if a book hasn't grabbed me by the time I am 100 or 200 pages into it, I am liable to put it down. This book held my interest just enough to get me past page 200. The last 80 pages made the read worthwhile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Privleged

    Will you allow the review? Is their some secret way to post it? Or are you happy just to charge & $12 for $7 books? Like Campbell?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    A bit of a disappointment

    I started reading the book and was disappointed with it. It seemed to me it was a take today's events and wars and send them to another planet in another galaxy and write it about there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ian Douglas Keeps on Delivering

    I got hooked on Ian Douglas with his first trilogy, Heritage. Unfortunately I accidentally picked up his third trilogy (Inheritance) instead of the second (Legacy) so I'm reading them out of sequence. But it really isn't an issue as the basic theme continues as mankind continues its struggle for survival in an increasingly hostile galaxy (in the 29th century).

    In this first book of the Inheritance trilogy, the Xul, a machine-based intelligence with the uploaded persona's of an extinct race, continue to seek and destroy any and all potential threats to their galactic dominance. As with his first trilogy, Douglas uses his extensive knowledge of current scientific theory and technology (and his incredible imagination) to paint a picture of what technology, warfare and society might be like 800 years from now. As a former navy corpsman, Douglas uses his knowledge of battle planning, logistics and of course combat tactics to create a fascinating story of how the marine corp of the future can stand toe-to-toe with a larger and technologically superior enemy force. The battle scenes are intense and the technology mind blowing. Once I started reading this book I REALLY had a hard time putting it down.

    The only complaint I have with the book (and others in the series) is that it contains frequent R-rated language and some occasional adult situations. I've got a 13-year-old son that loves science fiction and it's a shame that I can't share this book with him. Other than that I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Former U.S. Marine and sci fi enthusiast

    I've read both the Heritage and Legacy trilogy and was very much impressed and entertained. The way that Mr. Douglas had incorporated actual Marine fact and tradition into real potential future happenings. Very nicely written. Star Strike is another one of those titles though so very far in the future. The only thing i'm not sure about yet is that it reads and is very reminicent of Starship Troopers from Heinlein. Not that it's a bad thing, but there were almost direct similarities to that work. Other than that I was very happy with the work and will most likely read it again as I did the other novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Awesome

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Liked

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Have read the whole series. Number one writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved the book, but........

    .....as others have said, the aliens were pretty stupid considering they were eons ahead of human technology and had purportedly conquered much of the universe. The humans have now beaten them infour consecutive battles. Moreover, the technological advantages of the aliens do not appear to be as overwhelming as the author suggests.

    Putting that small nitpick aside, this an incredibly entertaining book and I highly recommend it to sci fi buffs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've read all of the books from Semper Mars to Star Strike, and I must say that this is one of the best books of all the Corps books Mr. Douglas has written. What I enjoy the most is the realism and detailed descriptions of the rigors of manned spaceflight. As a US Navy Ensign in flight school, I can definitely relate to the stresses his characters go through. The book makes me feel like I'm in the cockpit or battle armor. Once again, excellent book! Keep em coming.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2