Customer Reviews for

Star Trek Destiny #1 - Gods of Night

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Choose your destiny

    I just finished book one and am a few chapters into book 2. Strong points....the characterizations of the characters also featured on TV are accurate and rich; plotline is understandable; flashbacks add to the rising action. Weak points...lack of discourse on core Starfleet tenets, such as the Prime Directive. All in all, a good start to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good start for a series

    This new Destiny series is off to a good start. I really enjoying reading this book that was set in the Post-Nemesis era. I have found myself wanting to read more Trek books since there in no more new series on TV.

    David Mack has done an excellent job of tying in several different series or ships, into one book. You go from Columbia, to Enterprise, then to Aventine, and last to Titan, but maybe not in that order. If you have not read any of the Titan series, then the events of Starship Titan may confuse you a little, maybe because of the characters are so hard to get a handle on. Luckily, I had been reading the Titan series for a while.

    Following the Enterprise in this book was easy for me because I had already read "Death in Winter", "Before Dishonor", and "Greater Than the Sum" books - all set in Post Nemesis era. I must have missed a book somewhere when it came to Dax being the Captain of a Starship, I was thinking that she was a counselor on DS9 series.

    All in all, it's a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    Excellent start

    I was impressed with the 4 fold storyline from the past and including 3 ships of the line. Leaves me waiting for the next installment. Great job Mr. Mack..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wow!

    Recently got a Nook, which is why you haven't heard from me until now. What most people don't realize is that this plot was not Mr. Mack's idea, but actually the Trek marketing editor's, Marco Palmeri. I wonder why he chose David Mack to write it. In hindsight he made the right choice, but I see nothing in Mack's pre-Destiny works that shows he was capable of this level of AWESOME. This series actually shows Palmeri's competence more than it does Mack's, because he apperently was able to see something in Mack's work that the fans didn't – untill October 2009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great read

    I just love this series, good plot...left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Awesome

    Soooooooo awesome TROLOLOLOL

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Destiny Trilogy

    I loved the Destiny series so much! I thought it was VERY well thought out and written. I'm reading it for a second time and I rarely read books more than once unless I thought it was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    "Star Trek" Destiny Trilogy

    Lives up to the longstanding tradition of "Star Trek" and the sucessor series. It is a wonderful story that keeps your attention throughout all three books. It is sometimes difficult to follow all story lines. However, overall, I loved it. If you are a "Star Trek" fan, don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Meh

    So very average (all three of the books) a series. Very contrived beginning and ending to the Borg storyline. I want my money back. Don't waste your time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Culmination of a masterfully interwoven plotline...

    This is the beginning of the end. At least the end of the wonderfully interwoven plots which have marked the last year of star trek publishing. The Borg are in place, and are a tougher and more dangerous foe. Gone is the robotic slow zombie. Sure the old Borg were tough, but they were predictable. Assimilation is no longer the objective. These redefined Borg are fighting an all out battle to destroy humanity and the Federation. Drawn together are Captains Picard, Riker, and newly minted Captain Ezri Dax, solving the mystery of the Borg,and a 200 year old mystery of the NX class warp five starship Columbia. David Mack devotes chapters to each of the starships involved, jumping seamlessly from the Titan, Enterpise, and the Columbia. The crews are working independently in book one, but surely will be united against the Borg by the time we reach the end of this trilogy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    Page Turner!!!

    This was a great book! I love the way the author was able to bring in the different ships without making the book confusing or complicated to read. The story was very smooth and flowed from one ship to the next and from each time to the next. I couldn't put the book down. I already bought the second one and can't wait for the third. If you like star trek this trilogy is a good one to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4