Customer Reviews for

Star Trek Destiny #3 - Lost Souls

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the wait...

    Rarely does a series, especially one so much a part of pop culture, make so significant a change to one of its key sources of conflict. The Borg have been a combatant in the Star Trek community since Q first threw the crew of the Enterprise-D into the Delta Quandrant to teach them humility. Now a satisfactory resolution to the Borg threat appears, and it's done in the best spirit of Trek. Some of the lesser episodes and stories amount to superior Federation firepower and technology resolving the problem. In this, the higher ideals of the Federation, and of all sentients in the quadrant, are the source of the resolution. Great job by David Mack in delivering just the right touch on a story of this scope. Kudos also to the band of Star Trek authors who worked on the novels which led to this one over the past 18 months... The cooperation by these individual authors, to maintain the continuity of a story which really begins where Star Trek Nemesis ended, is astounding.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Great story

    This is definitely a Star Trek book that I would love to see made into a full feature movie. I really enjoyed the depth of the characters and it made me want for more! I totally recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    The Borg Invasion I have been waiting for.

    The Destiny Series of books was highly enjoyable. This was the Borg invasion I always imagined.

    In every Borg storyline, there is the image of irresistible power on the verge of destroying the Federation, and yet it never followed through. Imagine a huge powerful lion batting around a mouse, then the mouse sticks a thorn in the lion, and he runs away. This was every Borg storyline until now. At last the Borg invade with all of its force and power, bent on an almost emotional need for vengeance and the desire to annihilate the mouse which has been making the Collective seem impotent.

    I have seen a few origin stories for the Borg, I really like this one, as it involves the Federation in it's infancy.

    The story was not just military tactic and engagements, but thankfully they are there along with the interesting storyline.

    I thought Picard's emotional break through was a bit over the top and Deeana was annoyingly, a damsel in distress, whiny, and ineffective. Riker was not confident, and Ezri Dax; she was the most interesting Captain. She had her human flaws like the other Captains, but she seemed stronger than Riker or Picard, in this series. That was a bit fun as she is so small and elfish.

    Loved the story however and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    End of the Trilogy, maybe the end of everything

    If there is anything that post-Nemesis TNG writers have had to contend with, it's the Borg. And finally that story line ends here (no spoilers). The use of Erika Hernandez and the crew of the NX-02 Columbia from the Enterprise era was very well done, and all the characters from TNG are fully there. Picard, facing the Borg yet again, faces his own demons, while others see this as a time of new life. Credit to the editors who have opted for a more Lucas like approach of having at least post movie TNG books be consistent with each other - as much as possible.

    The trilogy wraps up with another book (of course) about the aftermath, setting the tone for a different TNG galaxy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    startrek destiny III

    this has been a great book and series, wish they would continue. I love to read books that have multiple stories intertwined. Keep up the good work

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

     I know nearly everyone has seen the "Facepalm" meme w

     I know nearly everyone has seen the "Facepalm" meme where Captain Picard has his head in his hand. That's how reading this made me feel. This asinine, contrived letdown is how you end the final battle against the Borg? To me the Borg are in the top 5 of sci-fi villains. Anyone with even the slightest acquaintance with science fiction knows "Resistance Is Futile." Yet David Mack ends the trilogy using the most abused trope in Star Trek besides starting every chapter in a novel with a quote? The previous two novels gets you geared up for a gloves-coming-off, it’s-either-us-or-them final confrontation, and what do you get?  A series of coincidences that together amount to a Deus ex Machina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Fairly decent ending with fairly predictable outcome

    As was to be expected, the last book was good but predictable. As soon as the alternate timeline/storyline began, I could pretty much guess the end of the series. Hmmf....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good finsh

    I really loved how mack tied the whole series up. It was a really well told story and really kept the pages turning. I really enjoyed the pacing of it too. When jumping from one ship or another. He really kept you hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    David Mack is exceptional and The Destiny Series is a must read!

    This book(The entire series) takes you for a wild ride and it completely immerses you in to the thick of it. I have read many Star Trek books from TNG but nothing like this particular series(The best one of all time was I Q for me, but this takes the crown). It is absolutely amazing and if your a fan of TNG and Deep Space Nine characters then this is the series for you to read. Thank you David and I hope that you can surpass this series because I'm looking forward to it. Due to this series I will buying your many other books(I hope they are as great as this one was).

    Also I got it on the Nook and to my surprise it feels the same as reading from the actual book. My daughter however likes her physical books so I'm stuck with the Nook, but anyone contemplating on getting one do it as it is worth it.

    Thank you for the ride David Mack the Caeliar are amazing beings which someday we as a species can achieve at least 1% of their greatness(mostly the non-violent part). I guess if you can dream it then it may be possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This books sets us up for a a enjoyable ride with crews from all the Star Trek shows. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Utterly fantastic!

    This was the BEST series I have ever read. I whipped through all three books in less than 2 weeks. The epic quality and scope of the story is extraordinary.
    An incredible read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Ther headline was appropriate. each path was carefully laid out. some of the final destinations could be figured out others were a little harder to guess at.

    I always wondered what happened to the main characters after the series and movies played out. I thought it was a great follow up. I followed every bit of the journeys and marveled at how all of them came together so nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Should have been one book.

    This Star Trek trilogy should have been edited down to one book. The Borg orgin story is as good as any other, but what a weak ending.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Save your money

    So very average (all three of the books) a series. Very contrived beginning and ending to the Borg storyline. I want my money back. Don't waste your time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3