BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Trek: Myriad Universes: Shattered Light

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Part of addicting series

    I'm addicted to this current DS9 storyline, but the first book in this "four book series" (don't let the "four book series" business fool you - this story is 10 books and counting now!) was a real disappointment to me. It was incredibly contrived, slow and very, very padded. I put it down for several weeks before picking it back up. It advances the stories it needs to, but at an excruciating pace, and uses bizarrely unneccessary devices to induce suspense. It's a book, not a TV show. Several things about the series as a whole have irritated me: 1: The story is spanning several book series (and is being dishonest about it) including jumping to series like the "Section 31" books 2: this book will be confusing to read if you have NOT already read the previous books ..i.e., it makes no introductory explanations of previous books. This is NOT a standalone series! 3: Previously established characters like Ro Laren are NOT behaving in character 4: it touts itself as the "relaunch" of the DS9 series when it is not, and it is confusing to attempt to read it that way. Why is Ro alive and on DS9? Why is she not in the brig? Why are she and Quark...gurgle...flirting? I can't pretend I'm not going to continue reading this series, but this book was difficult for me and I'm getting frustrated that the series is not concluding as promised. Avatar, Avatar 2, Abyss, Demons of Light and Darkness (book four of seven in Gateways series), a few chapters in book 7 of Gateways, the four books in the Mission Gamma series and Rising Son....These are all the books that deal with this DS9 "relaunch". That's THREE "standalone" series come and gone with no conclusion. Get with it, or suck it up and make it clear this is an indefinite serial series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    This the vip room

    Vip only

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Mediocre

    There were three stories. The first and the last one were palatable. The second was terrible. Thought it was written for teens. Little science without deep conversation, introspection or complexity. Substitute the second story and the book may have been worth the cost.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    This is a good story that incorporates many of episodes of Start

    This is a good story that incorporates many of episodes of Startrek that featured Dr. McCoy. It centers around the episode City on the Edge of Forever, creating two timelines for McCoy's life. I found the story very entertaining, sparking memories of episodes from the original series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Amazing Story, Actually Two!

    Always having considered "City on The Edge of Forever" one of the great episodes of the Original Series, the concept of this book - and the other two in the trilogy - sounded intriguing. If you have looked at the description of the storyline and feel the same way. Let me assure you, the author does not dissappoint the reader.

    The level of character development weaved into two alternate timelines and presented from the perspective of our beloved Doctor (as well as shipmates both familiar and some that might take a moment to remember) is crafted by the author with such care that you will come away feeling you know these characters, especially Leonard McCoy, even more.

    This one is a winner, in any timeline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    To jess

    I meqn 5 th page sorru

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Jess

    Kk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Lonaika

    Elena?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    srry to intrude

    Star school all results is perfect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Room A14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Weapons Room

    Galaxy Defenders

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Strong

    This book connects seamlessly with multiple dangling plotlines from previous novels and tells a gripping, three-dimensional tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Disappointing

    A two pronged story with Spock and Sisko. The Spock sections are OK. The Sisko sections are disappointing. His actions are not in keeping with how I understand his character and the sections are slow. The whole book could have been done in about half the pages without missing anything. Not much action. If you're really into the Romulans, you'll appreciate it. Lots of detail on their government.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Ok

    This was an okay book. It was not as good as the others but the stories were engaging enough

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Good book for Star Trek fans

    This book explores an alternative stories for events that are familiar to most Trekkies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Thanks for the trip To Gamma Quadrant

    Excellent travel log!!! Makes one want to be part of Space Travel IMMEDIATELY!!! Keep them coming...Looking forward to the next issue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Outstanding book

    Wow! Not only did this book tie in a lot of lose ends from other books that have been trickling out over the past two years about our favorite DS9 friends, it jump starts us with a new excitement and anticipation for the series relaunch and new adventures in the Gamma Quadrant. While it took me a few pages to get into the cadance of the story I was hooked and could not put it down. All of the DS9 gang is here, the interplay of each crew members, non crew members and the roles that they play for the station and Bajor are uniquely woven together in great detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    Best in the Series

    Without question, one of the most gripping SciFi novels I've read. You'll find yourself living among the characters and experiencing "outer space" first hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Twilight is a GREAT read!

    If you enjoyed the Deep Space 9 tv series, you will LOVE Twilight. David R. George's writing is so rich, intelligent, visual and fun, that it almost feels like you're watching the show. He beautifully conveys the mood and motivation of each character, as well as describing the sights, sounds and smells with the kind of wonderful detail not often found in this genre. He handles the strained relationship between Prynn & Vaughn in a way that is unhurried, revealing, believable and poignant. On the lighter side, the scene with Taran'atar in the nursery is a classic. If these are the only reviews you have read of this terrific book, be sure to ck out other ST boards and book selling sites. Fan are RAVING about it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Star Trek: Deep Space Nine: Twilight (Mission Gamma, Book 1)

    Exciting from the first sentence through the last! Relationships are explored between major characters we've grown to love over the years and new characters you'll grow to love during this novel. The new worlds and peoples we're introduced to here are so well-described that you'll actually experience the beauty and awe as well as feeling the chill. I can only wonder why the whole series isn't written by the same great author. Set some time aside to read this solid novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3