Customer Reviews for

Star Trek: Typhon Pact: Raise the Dawn

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    First of Mission Gamma Series Incredible New Beginning

    This book not only launches the reader into yet another wonderful multi-book series in the continuing DS9 post-series saga, it finally explains some of the complex family relationships hinted at in previous books. We finally get to understand the Prynn-Vaughn problems, not to mention Shar's complex family. As well, the saga continues for some of the more familiar characters, adding a few new twists to already existing relationships. Definitely recommended by this reader!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Star Trek: Deep Space Nine: Twilight (Mission Gamma, Book 1)

    This was a great read! I really enjoyed the depth of the characters and the repeating Star Trek theme of exploration - in exploring new worlds, relationships and even one's own being. I highly recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    It Doesnt Get Any Better Than This

    David R George III is by far the best Star Trek writer out there today. He first book written with Armin Shimmerman just blew me away and this book is even better. Twilight continues the successful relaunch of the DS9 series. The authors attention to detail and descriptive writing style enriches the story. His characterizations are wonderfully drawn. This book is a character driven story rather than plot driven and thats fine with me because its the characters who make the story. We learn a good bit more about Vaughn and why he and his daughter are not on speaking terms and this thread plays out in a most successful manner. Then there is Ezri and Bashiers continuing relationship. Ro Laren and Quark develop an amazing relationship. Kira Has never been a favorite character of mine but the relaunch has changed that. Kira has to deal with a character who is an admiral who first appeared in one episode of TOS. As mentioned before this is a character driven story that is rich in discription and character development that moves at a fast pace and doesnt disappoint. I highly recommend this book to any Star Trek fan. It is one of my top favorites off all the Star Trek novels. I am looking forward to the authors next Star Trek novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    One the very best, if not THE best ,Trek novels ever written

    David R. George III proves that his The 34th Rule was no fluke. Twilight is another superior Trek novel that ranks among the very top of the 200 plus novels written so far. Twilight takes fuill advantage of the DS9 relaunch scenario. (as established by Pocketbooks editor Marco Palmieri) It is a complex tale that involves many interweaving threads that combine elements that are familiar to the viewer of the DS9 television series, and those that are new to the evolving DS9 "eighth season". This allows for a quality of unpredictability which is all too absent from most media tie novels. Twilight is Star Trek, it is Deep Space Nine, it is science fiction and it is an evocative human advenure. Simply put, it is Star Trek at its best. We see characters grow and we feel for them in the process. This is no small achievement for a writer. David R. George III is now on my "look out for" list, Trek or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Find someone who's suffered through it to get the story...

    I picked up this book because AGES ago I got "Avatar", a supposedly two book series, which started this new Deep Space 9 saga. I did NOT know what I was getting myself into, but this huge story developed and did not finish with the second Avatar book. I've been compelled ever since to buy each book that continues the story (it's skipped a few different types of series, now, frustratingly enough), and I bought this and the second book in order to continue the story. While it does what I need it to do (continue the story), if it wasn't about Shar, Ro, Vaughn and the rest of the gang that have been developing in these books, I would have immediately put it down. It was SO terribly written I could barely stand to read it for 10 minutes at a time. If you are compelled as I was to continue the saga, try first to find someone who's already read the story. It's almost impossible to skip over agonizing parts to read because the terrible writing is not in chunks, it's all over. It's very, VERY cliche... It has a lot of very contrived situations that aren't believable. I'm very disappointed, because I'm an INCREDIBLY forgiving reader, but I could not forgive this book. It wanted to be a television show, and that's just not necessary. It's also overly long with a lot of padding. So SO sad, but take heart, the next book is by a much better author. :) If you MUST read this series... well... then you must, like I do.... *sigh*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3