Customer Reviews for

Star Trek: The Fall: Revelation and Dust

Average Rating 3
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not the best DS9 book, but...

there is much to like about it. I especially enjoy just being able to see Sisko & Kasidy together again. George writes their relationship in a way that seems natural, more so than Bashir and Ezri's or even Bashir and Sarina's interactions. There are some surprises at...
there is much to like about it. I especially enjoy just being able to see Sisko & Kasidy together again. George writes their relationship in a way that seems natural, more so than Bashir and Ezri's or even Bashir and Sarina's interactions. There are some surprises at the end of the book. Kira's storyline is confusing, especially at the end...how is it that one character, whether a vision from the Prophets or someone from Bajor's past, ends up in the present? But I'm sure it will be explained in future books. In fact, it makes me hopeful that we will see some more development with the DS9 crew that doesn't depend so heavily on the Typhon Pact and maybe we'll see the continuation of the Ascendents storyline that was unfortunately cut short due to the decision to fast-forward DS9 books to keep pace with the rest of the TNG era. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy Plagues of Night and (especially) Raise the Dawn, and look forward to the other books in this miniseries, but I do miss the style and intrigue of DS9 pre-Destiny trilogy when new revelations were more DS9-centric (i.e. Iliana Ghemor, Mirror Universe, Kira and Sisko reaching new understandings of their relationships with the Prophets,etc).
Still, I've seen a couple reviews on Amazon that gave this book only three stars and while I agree that parts of the book are a bit slow and lacking the excitement of Raise the Dawn, I still feel the book deserves better than three stars. If nothing else, seeing a little bit more normalcy and camaraderie between the crew is a welcome change of pace than the constant doom & gloom we've been seeing for some time, not to mention necessary if you want to keep the characters more real and the story more down-to-earth. If you haven't already bought the book and are on the fence on whether to read it or not, I say read it. It's a fine book, with more emphasis on character development. It does pave the way for more to follow, but just be aware this is not the Earth shattering novel it's been hyped up to be. Once you realize that, accept it and enjoy it for what it is.

posted by 9164787 on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don t buy it

Worse volume yet used old stories on tv then left you hanging too buy next volume

posted by 13591477 on September 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Not the best DS9 book, but...

    there is much to like about it. I especially enjoy just being able to see Sisko & Kasidy together again. George writes their relationship in a way that seems natural, more so than Bashir and Ezri's or even Bashir and Sarina's interactions. There are some surprises at the end of the book. Kira's storyline is confusing, especially at the end...how is it that one character, whether a vision from the Prophets or someone from Bajor's past, ends up in the present? But I'm sure it will be explained in future books. In fact, it makes me hopeful that we will see some more development with the DS9 crew that doesn't depend so heavily on the Typhon Pact and maybe we'll see the continuation of the Ascendents storyline that was unfortunately cut short due to the decision to fast-forward DS9 books to keep pace with the rest of the TNG era. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy Plagues of Night and (especially) Raise the Dawn, and look forward to the other books in this miniseries, but I do miss the style and intrigue of DS9 pre-Destiny trilogy when new revelations were more DS9-centric (i.e. Iliana Ghemor, Mirror Universe, Kira and Sisko reaching new understandings of their relationships with the Prophets,etc).
    Still, I've seen a couple reviews on Amazon that gave this book only three stars and while I agree that parts of the book are a bit slow and lacking the excitement of Raise the Dawn, I still feel the book deserves better than three stars. If nothing else, seeing a little bit more normalcy and camaraderie between the crew is a welcome change of pace than the constant doom & gloom we've been seeing for some time, not to mention necessary if you want to keep the characters more real and the story more down-to-earth. If you haven't already bought the book and are on the fence on whether to read it or not, I say read it. It's a fine book, with more emphasis on character development. It does pave the way for more to follow, but just be aware this is not the Earth shattering novel it's been hyped up to be. Once you realize that, accept it and enjoy it for what it is.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I like the story and it made me feel like a was watching my favo

    I like the story and it made me feel like a was watching my favorite episodes from the Deep Space Nine TV series. After reading this book there were several cliffhangers at the end and without knowing more make no sense of why they stopped where they did. Hopefully, they will cover that in future novels in "The Fall" series. According to the website there are at least 2 more. The descriptions of the next 2 books on the website make no mention of how the next novel relates to the previous novel in the series. The suspense is killing me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Save Your Latinum

    There couldn't be a greater contrast between Revelation and Dust and its fast-paced, well-written successor The Crimson Shadow. If you make it through this plodding, "and then the next thing that happened was that"-heavy tome, congratulations. You have more endurance than the average Klingon warrior. This one is dead weight on the shelf. Skip it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Great book with lots of potential

    The book setup what is sure to be some great stories both in this arc and future books. The one thing I agree with some other reviews is that parts of the book were slow and did not seem make sense until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Don t buy it

    Worse volume yet used old stories on tv then left you hanging too buy next volume

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Well, since my original view didn't appear to have copied right

    Well, since my original view didn't appear to have copied right before the browser froze on submit I guess I'll try this again.

    Potential Spoiler Alert: MAYBE..

    I found the DS9 part of this novel to be very well written. That is, the events portraying the dedication of the NEW DS9 station. I was engaged, and saddened, by the story because of what happened to one of my favorite characters from the novels. That being said, the parts with Kira and her companion really dragged the book down for me. The fact that the chapters alternate between events on DS9 and what happened to Kira in the wormhole after the original DS9 was destroyed drove me crazy, because I had to force myself to read the Kira portions. At least at first, I began skimming the ones in the middle and half-read the ones toward the end when those events seemed to pick up a bit. Even after picking up they still didn't really hold my attention.

    Honestly, if the portions with Kira were removed in their entirity it wouldn't affect the story in the least; unless the event in the very last paragraphs of the epilogue is important in some later book. Even then, the parts with Kira still left me eager to get back to the DS9 chapters because they just didn't interest me. If you're a Kira fan I'm sure you'll like them. Maybe. I don't dislike Kira, but those chapters sure didn't make me WANT to like her either. They're the only reason I rated this book at three stars instead of five. That being said, BUY IT; the DS9 dedication half (and it is pretty much have since the chapters swap rather evenly) of this book is totally worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    WTH did I just read?

    Terrible would be an understatement. What a waste of my time and money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Not the best DS9 book

    Not the best DS9 book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Keeping it alive!

    I'm always happy to add another Trek novel to my library - and this is no exception. My only problem is realizing the stuff I need to go back and read in some of the related novels I've skipped over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Sagekit's biography

    Name: Sagekit. [Sagepaw, Sagenose, Sagestar would have been her names if she had lived.]<br>Age: She is older then the legend Cedarstar, older then is daughter, Tigerjay, older then many things. Looks to be about 3 moons.<br>Apparence: She is a white shekit with light grey stripes on her legs and torso. She has blue eyes, and under them are lines of staining tears. <br>Guardian of: LeafClan, WispClan. She has a special connection with Rivensoul and NebulaFrost of TwilightClan.<br>Power: Thought she looks very young she most likely us one of the most powerful StarClan members in history. Her main talent is she can tear rips in time in order to heal, bring things back, etc.<br>Song: Stand ln The Rain<br>Other: When ever you are lost, look in the clouds for me and l promise l will find you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Decently written but a boring read.  

    Decently written but a boring read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    not bad

    good book. to much Sisko,kira and the profits for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    The book is stupid!

    Just like st@r trek!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2