Customer Reviews for

Star Trek: Captain's Glory

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    A Thought-provoking page-turner!

    I have read several other of Mr.Shatner's books, but this by far was my favorite, having read it (only) five times. It provides a fresh(literally)new look at Kirk and Spock, starting with them as less-than-stellar teens, when they forged their new, although reluctant, friendship. Even Kirk's brother, Sam, is more than just a name mentioned as the story also takes a much closer look at his character, as he tries to keep (and not very well) his younger brother out of trouble. I don't want to reveal anymore here. As I mentioned in the heading, this book is a VERY thought-provoking page-turner - making you want more when you get to the end. I can hardly wait for the next story. ('ya hear that, Bill???) Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go read this book again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Read it in 2 days

    This is the best book i have ever read!! Im 14 and I am a fan of William Shatner and Star Trek. I have read alot of his books but this is the best so far! Melissa

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    Read it

    A great actor and a great writer! William Shatner surpasses many other Star Trek writers I've read (i.e. Peter David), and creates a story that would make a compelling Star Trek movie. I liked the element of romance he carried throughout the entire book, something which is scarce in the universe of Star Trek.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Starting Point...

    A story about two young adults trying to find their place in the world and how an unforeseen event changes their lives forever. It's an inspiring story to see these two individuals overcome the obsticales they face along their paths that lead them to the same destination... The starting point to their future careers in starfleet. Besides, it's an inside look before Kirk became a Captian and Spock became his First lieutenant.

    I throughly enjoyed the book and could hardly set it down. I'd only recommend this to people who like space exploration/Sci-Fi Stories. I can only hope that they will publish the next series "Trial Run" to see where Kirk goes next and who else he'll meet along his way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    I wish Trial Run would be completed!! Hey Bill, get on that will

    I wish Trial Run would be completed!! Hey Bill, get on that will you ? Collision Course for me was outstanding!! When the new Abrams Star Trek movie was release, I was hoping that it was this book!! It wasn't and the movie was ok. This Book, Star Trek Academy: Collision Course, will be a GREAT movie. I feel that it is closer to what actually happened to all of the characters. Unlike some others posting here I have only read it twice thus far...However I think It is time to start again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Great Read

    This is the second book I read from the Star Trek universe. Academy Collision Course was a lot better than my last read Captain's Glory. I must have liked the writer enough to try him again with this book and I am glad that i did! I found it very exciting from beginning to end. I thought the interaction of Kirk and Spock was perfect. I look forward to reading the next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Great book!

    This was the best Star Trek book I've read, and the best light reading I've read in a long time. It had all the original "Kirk" appeal: swashbuckling and humor. I loved the scene when they are trying to fly a starship and it is tilting and rolling! I loved that it was consistent with the Star Trek universe, that the Academy recruits still got to be heroes without making the Federation look foolish. I loved the banter between Kirk and Spock. The science was sound. I liked Kirk's first transporter experience. Basically it is a solid Star Trek story, within the parameters of the "real" Star Trek universe. The only things I didn't like: 1. Kirk trying to pin Spock for something he didn't do, and 2. Kirk's brother's storyline. Otherwise, a great novel for Trek fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    WOW!!!

    This is my favioret book ever! I read it in two days. I think everyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Kirk must i say anything more

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    :)

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Amazing

    This has become one of my favorite books. It is very well written and the characters are done perfectly. It has everything you could hope for in a Star Trek book, and it gives you a better look into the beginning friendship of Kirk and Spock. All in all a fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Real great :D

    Spock is aweaome an so awkwad...this is a really god book that is hard to put down!

    _______

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Poor Spock.

    Poor Spock.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Need the next book,,,,,

    I just wish he would publish the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    Awesome

    I have not yet completed the book but i must say that i cannot put it down when i pick it up. I love how both Spock and Kirk are portrayed in the story. The book keeps you on your feet and is very exciting. I logged on today to see when to expect the next book in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Great book, good tie in to young Kirk and Spock

    Great, can not wait until the next one comes out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Another Great Star Trek Adventure in Print! Thanks, Captain!

    I've read all of the novels that Bill Shatner has written with Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens. Star Trek Academy - Collision Course is easily one of the best. I couldn't put it down. I hope that Trial Run is released soon, and I hope it is as well-written as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Great Book

    This was one really good book. I couldn't put it down for one second. I loved it. It completely left me wondering and wondering so much that I would stay up for hours at night. Truly Shatner's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    David O'Brient- Read it in 7 days

    When I have free time and I choose reading over watching a dvd or tv and not just a couple of times I mean from beginning to end you know it's a good book. I like the way they described Kirk hero like but not over the top. Very realistic heroic as much as a 17 year old can be. You get to experience Kirk and Spock from the very beginning worts and all, very human 'sorry Spock!' But non-the-less it is a very enjoyable book and I too am counting the days for Star Trek: Academy Trial Run to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    THE BEST Star Trek Book Ever!

    IF YOU LOVE THE BORG AND/OR THE ROMULANS, I PROMISE YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK. ASSIMILATED STARBASES, REUNIONS WITH OLD FRIENDS, THE DESTRUCTION OF THE BORG HOMEWORLD AND A SPECIAL STORY ABOUT SPOCK'S PAST, WHAT'S NOT TO LIKE???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4