Customer Reviews for

Star Trek The Next Generation - Before Dishonor

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Witty and enjoyable

I really enjoyed the book's theme of 'Do we have souls?' It was *much* better than Resistance (which I really didn't like) and very funny (not as funny as the sequel to Imzadi, but still quite amusing). Spock, Seven, and Geordi should always work together--that was hyst...
I really enjoyed the book's theme of 'Do we have souls?' It was *much* better than Resistance (which I really didn't like) and very funny (not as funny as the sequel to Imzadi, but still quite amusing). Spock, Seven, and Geordi should always work together--that was hysterical. Even though a beloved, important character died at the end, at least that made it slightly more realistic than some Star Trek books (and episodes, for that matter) and at least the character went out with style.

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Why?

Dont get me wrong, I love Peter David's writting but why???? SPOILERS why janeway? Shes my favorite and u just gave her up to the borg? No! NNNNNNOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

posted by Halliwell19 on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Witty and enjoyable

    I really enjoyed the book's theme of 'Do we have souls?' It was *much* better than Resistance (which I really didn't like) and very funny (not as funny as the sequel to Imzadi, but still quite amusing). Spock, Seven, and Geordi should always work together--that was hysterical. Even though a beloved, important character died at the end, at least that made it slightly more realistic than some Star Trek books (and episodes, for that matter) and at least the character went out with style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Why spoilers in a review????

    What the hell people! Half of you gave away a key story point!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Why?

    Dont get me wrong, I love Peter David's writting but why???? SPOILERS why janeway? Shes my favorite and u just gave her up to the borg? No! NNNNNNOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read! I loved it! A sure must read for all fans of Seven of Nine, Kathryn Janeway, and Jean Luc Picard.

    "Before Dishonor" is a fine addition to my Star Trek library. It is a great new piece to the puzzle that is the Borg. I devoured it in a few sittings!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Lighten Up People!

    I think most of the problem that the other reviewers had was with the crew of the Enterprise in this one. I think that it was a very realistic problem. To follow orders or not to! An age old dilemna! Who was right and who was wrong? I think it was good to see some conflict for Picard among his crew. All in all a great read. A tad on the unbeliveable as far as the Borg were concerned. Peter's humor was great as usual but I would like to see him put more in his stories like he did with his early works (Rock and a Hard Place, Strike Zone).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Disappointment

    I loved Death in winter and Resistance. But this book left me so unhappy and confused. I did like the humor in it, in fact that was the best part of the whole book. At first it seemed like it was taking forever to get to the end, it felt almost like it needed a part two. Then when i finally reached the end, i hated it. You got to see old friends and learn more of Picard's new crew, which was great and interesting at the same time. But the death of a beloved Character was wrong. The way David ended ¿this¿ life was horrible. At the end it was like Peter David¿s view on life, humanity, and who is GOD. It was a horrible ending to a great person. Read it just so that you know what is going on, but it will not be on your favorite list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Anonymous October 2012

    Good job on merging three genres of my favorite sci-fi world. The end was a little hard to follow, but I will be sure to continue looking up books by Peter David.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Picard vs Janeway!

    Picard proves himself a good captain because he stop and thought out a plan how to beat Janeway! While I am sad that Janeway is dead, (Janeway gets turns into a Brog Queen! How lower can you get, Mr. David?) she went with a big bang. Also along for the ride are: Spock, ( Star Trek: The Original Series) Seven of Nine, ( Star Trek: Voyager) and Captain Mackenzie Calhoun of the U.S.S Excalibur. (Star Trek: New Frontier)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Easy to follow

    Non stop action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Ick

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Great Novel

    I loved the book. I couldn't believe the author took it upon himself to kill off one of Star Trek's greatest characters. Here's hoping for another sequel that will bring this character back to life. I'm betting there will be, because only Paramount and perhaps CBS have the actual rights to kill of any of the Star Trek characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    Peter - what were you thinking?

    I was first confused by Peter Davids new style of writing when he made such a huge change to the format and style of New Frontier. It was almost like he said 'I'm successful and can do whatever I want - so there'. Kind of like what Bergman and Braga did to the franchise. I was so looking forward to this book as Peter David remains on of my favourite authors to this day. And yet I found the writing stilted, the plot mechanics unbelievable and the ending completely ridiculous. More importantly, the entire book was completely out of the box where Trek is concerned. Characters acted unlike themselves. The Borg became godlike. And the crew of the flagship of Starfleet - which you would assume were the best of the best - started acting like thugs in a gang. Not a good one. Sorry peter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Not so good

    I was really looking forward to this book when I saw it. While the plot is good, Peter David's telling of the story is not. In many of the scenes the story and the charactizations are way off. If the Federation was in danger and Picard and the Enterprise was the only thing that could save it, would the command crew REALLY mutiny against Picard who knows a thing or two about the Borg and saving Earth. I am finishing reading it because I paid for it, it could have been a much better story, if David hadn't tried to add comedy were it is not need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    5 stars .........

    ive been reading star trek for years ,and this is peter davids best this year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2