BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Trek The Next Generation Series: Resistance

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wish I could have seen this on the silver screen

    For a ST:TNG fan this book will give you another chance to explore what felt like an abrupt end to the TNG legacy. Pickin gup where Nemesis movie left off, it gives us one more battle between the Borg and Picard. It uses past favorites like 7 of 9 and Adm Janeway as well.

    I haven't read the followup to this book but I loved the way it created an epic battle with the borg while forcing Picard to make his signature decision about humanity, selfless service and going against regulation.

    It also would have done great as a movie because it would have given TNG one more chapter plus incorporate Voyager into the movies. Good read, not hard to read or over written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Great Return of the Borg

    The Borg have long been one of the favorite storylines across the Star Trek universe and this book would make a great movie! Picard and the crew long thought the Borg were gone after their last encounter at Earth (this takes place after the last Star Trek movie). Unfortunately they are wrong as the Borg plan on bringing back a Queen to reunite the Borg that are scattered around the Universe. Picard and the crew must infiltrate the Borg cube a much bigger one than they have ever encountered and deal with the Borg who are no longer just mindless droids. Now the Borg kill on sight and Picard must once again face an old fear and become Locutus to beat the Borg.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    A very strong Trek novel

    Now that there is no new STAR TREK on television, the writers of the novels are free to write novels with themes and plot developments that the TV shows would never do. In the previous Trek novel, 'Death in Winter', by Michael Jan Friedman, Jean-Luc Picard and Beverly Crusher have finally become an item, and in this next novel in the NextGen 'relaunch' series, that theme continues. And, as was pretty much taboo in previous novels, characters from other iterations of the TV series cross over into the 'Next Generation' plotline in the case of this novel, Admiral Kathryn Janeway, who comes to loggerheads with Captain Picard over how to solve the latest Borg incursion into Federation space. 'Resistance' is a terrific novel, and I read it in one long sitting it felt like a new movie, and was very satisfying. That said, there is a sequel on the way, 'Before Dishonor', by Peter David. I'm looking forward to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Picks up where the last TNG movie left off!!

    This was a great read. It picks up where the last TNG movie left off. The captain is dealing with the changes to his crew and the loss of Data. Work is the interim first officer and a new counselor has been assigned to the ship - a vulcan. Picard must again meet an old foe and his crew must rise to the occasion. Pick up this book! It is a GREAT extension to the TNG universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Not bad... not great

    The book was a bit cliche overall. It seemed at times that most of the story was recounting the story of Locutus told through the television show and the movie First Contact. There was little to no character development, especially between Picard and Crusher. It's a shame that Seven of Nine couldnt have been introduced in to this storyline- it might have created a spark that the novel needed badly. Worf's character was out of place as was the overall Klingon attitude towards war- especially towards the end of the novel. Weak, weak ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Borg meet their match in Picard.

    I found the book to be entertaining, however, it was a bit contrived at points and predictable. I enjoyed the mention of Commander Data, but in truth, I found Admiral Janeway to be irritating and very combative with Captain Picard. In fact, she seemed jealous of his ability to understand the Borg better than her.
    It is a book you can read a couple of times and it is one you can add to your library, but it lacks any real surprises. I love Star Trek, but it is not the best work I have read. I look forward to meeting more compelling figures in future novels. The Borg are boring now. In fact, they are futile...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Not bad

    It was good. I was looking for a little more action and a little less reminiscing. Not to mention there were slight discrepancies when the author described the scene in 'First Contact' when Worf and the captain were trying to disable the deflector dish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    One of the greats

    I recommend this book to all ST readers. It is one of the best this year. I couldn¿t put it down. It felt so real as you read you could feel the phaser blast and the dampness of the Borg ship. It was so well written that I couldn¿t guess what was coming next. Excellent book, now one of my top ten ST books. I can¿t wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Keep writin' those stories

    I love Star Trek, especially the originals, but these are great, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2