Customer Reviews for

Star Trek Titan #1: Taking Wing

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Taking Wing is a new start and a continuation.

Taking Wing is both a great title and a sore understatement of the new beginning for Captain William Riker. Now in command of the new ship Titan, Riker must take on not only a new ship and crew, but a new mission more challenging then anyone could have expected. This bo...
Taking Wing is both a great title and a sore understatement of the new beginning for Captain William Riker. Now in command of the new ship Titan, Riker must take on not only a new ship and crew, but a new mission more challenging then anyone could have expected. This book does a beautiful job of introducing the most truly diverse crew ever in the history of Starfleet and the Federation. Riker's command style is perfectly portrayed. Added to the intermingling of such a diverse crew and offers a lot of humerous moments.

This book is a thrilling journey with many moral and political lessons.

posted by 3262616 on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Words cannot describe

With Enterprise coming to an end, I thought following the adventures of Captain Riker and the USS Titan would be a perfect place to get my Star Trek fix. This is my first Star Trek book to read and will be my last as I discovered that Simon & Schuster have decided to b...
With Enterprise coming to an end, I thought following the adventures of Captain Riker and the USS Titan would be a perfect place to get my Star Trek fix. This is my first Star Trek book to read and will be my last as I discovered that Simon & Schuster have decided to butcher the Star Trek name even more than Paramount by allowing the authors to pursue an atrocious liberal agenda by promoting gay characters. It's a shame that they actually have to use Star Trek as a means to push their views onto society.

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Taking Wing is a new start and a continuation.

    Taking Wing is both a great title and a sore understatement of the new beginning for Captain William Riker. Now in command of the new ship Titan, Riker must take on not only a new ship and crew, but a new mission more challenging then anyone could have expected. This book does a beautiful job of introducing the most truly diverse crew ever in the history of Starfleet and the Federation. Riker's command style is perfectly portrayed. Added to the intermingling of such a diverse crew and offers a lot of humerous moments.

    This book is a thrilling journey with many moral and political lessons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    For Definate Star Trek : Generation Fan

    An Awesome Book, Looks like Titan has a bright future. I am reading this book for the second time and I still enjoy it, because it keeps me at the edge of my seat. Is a book that I can't put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    Words cannot describe

    With Enterprise coming to an end, I thought following the adventures of Captain Riker and the USS Titan would be a perfect place to get my Star Trek fix. This is my first Star Trek book to read and will be my last as I discovered that Simon & Schuster have decided to butcher the Star Trek name even more than Paramount by allowing the authors to pursue an atrocious liberal agenda by promoting gay characters. It's a shame that they actually have to use Star Trek as a means to push their views onto society.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Titan Taking Wing

    Its a good read, I like the idea of pushing the envelope on the species that are in the federation. Its also a good spin away from the next generation as you get to watch Riker come into his own as Captain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    A launch into a new frontier

    This is a great book set post-Nemesis in the Star Trek Universe. The Romulan Empire is a mess after Schinzon's demise at the hands of the USS Enterprise. In need of stability in the region, the Romulans request the help of the Federation, and the Federation sends William Riker and his new ship the Titan to keep things from falling apart more. I really enjoyed this, and look forward to reading the following books of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Continuing the Mission

    This book was very surprising to me the first time I read it through. I've been a fan of the TNG book series since picking up the "A Time To..." series a couple years back. Those books lead up to the events of Nemesis, but this series continues the story past anything we've seen on screen.

    William Riker, now Captain, has taken command of the starship Titan, a starship with a crew more diverse than any ever put together in Starfleet. This fact alone allows for so much development between the characters before ever getting into the actual plot, which is a direct follow-up to the film.

    While the characters do not (and cannot) replace those we already know and love, I can easily see this series and these authors hammering out a new crew whom we will fall for.

    I strongly recommend this book (and it's sequels) to any TNG fan!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Condon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Very Impresive

    I was skeptical at first that this might be a very poor spin off but after reading the book i was very impressed. Rikers first command seems to be one adventure after another and i look foward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    This book is awsome

    This book has a great start to a well written future in the books series with a a crew so well dervise its a sure read in my collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    Taking Wing (Star Trek Titan Series)

    It was an interesting book to read, but I felt like I had to force myself to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    Taking Wing (Star Trek Titan Series)

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I felt that the book had its slow moments, but it was still fun to read what happened after Shinzon. I would recommenend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Awsome

    I found this book to be breath taking. It emplained the Trek series post Nemisis. So people that are looking forward to playing Star Trek Online read this now!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Great novel

    Great novel. I enjoyed the premise of a very diverse crew and the book is not constrained by special effects budget. It was nice to see some old characters referenced in the original series. The book left me wanting more. As for those who object to the gay characters - have you been paying attention to any of the underlying messages in Star Trek?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Great start to the Titan story

    A great way to start Riker & the U.S.S. Titan's storyline. Riker fans will be glad to know that the authors let Riker still be Riker and didn't change him a lot just because he had his own command. Thought brining in so many of the old characters was pushed and out of place at times. And, unlike some of these other reviews, I really don't think having a gay character or the story line that went with it was that big of a deal. It's just another character and their story in a world created around diversity and acceptance. Can't wait for the next book to be published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    one of the best STAR TREK books ever!

    TITAN first book was great not a lot of action but that did not matter to me. The authors may have put to many characters in the first books but thats OK. May only problem is there is 2 gay characters. (sorry but guy characters dont belong in STAR TREK).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    'Taking Wing' Is Taking Off! Excellent Novel!!!

    'Taking Wing' is a great start in the new adventures of Captain Riker and his Luna-class ship known as the U.S.S. Titan. The new characters are loveable, one of the new crewman being the first Cardassian in Starfleet, and we see the return of some familiar faces that join his crew. My favorite new character is Dr. Ree, the crew is literally afraid of his appearance, but learns that there¿s a heart inside this beast. Read the book to find out exactly what he is! The two gay characters of this series aren¿t a big deal they don¿t go into graphic detail about anything. It¿s basically a guy that as a crush on another guy, that¿s it. I¿m actually very happy that the gay people were included in this book, though I¿m not gay, it shows that having gay characters in Star Trek wouldn¿t hurt the franchise or the story at all. It made me have more faith to the idea of a gay character on a future Trek TV series, if they ever decided to. There are some dull parts in this story, mainly the political side of the novel when they are holding peace meetings, but that¿s only a minority of the book. The majority is getting to learn about these new crewmen, who they are and where they came from, a very interesting read. This book has its share of action as well. It¿s another hard to put down book, 359 pages long that I read in three days. I recommend this book to every Trek fan, especially to the fans of TNG and Riker. If the two gay characters are stopping you from considering buy this book, don¿t let that stop you! This book is fantastic and every character fits in perfectly, sexuality isn't the issue and only is talked about in maybe four paragraphs throughout the book at the most. The ending is very sad and ready for the next story to take place. I can't wait for 'The Red King'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    An outstanding book

    Star Trek has been known to delve into subject matter that may be unpopular with some in the past. The most notable example would be the first interracial kiss on television between Kirk and Uhura. These days, most people are enlightened enough to see interracial relationships as more than commonplace, and that's a good thing. Now, with the public's attention being forced to focus on a new subject matter by extremists, the Star Trek franchise is finally taking on that subject by including gay characters into its stories. The Star Trek universe is meant to show that human beings have, for the most part, evolved beyond petty, ridiculous hatreds, greed, and strife to work together for the betterment of all. Naturally, there are gay people in the Star Trek universe. It's about time they started being seen. Titan, Book One: Taking Wing, is long overdo for that simple reason and anyone who with an open minded, respectful, accepting, inclusive sensibility should definitely support the writer's bold, brave decision and buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3