Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Approaching Storm

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Great book for Star Wars Fans

    My son and I have decided to read as many Star Wars books together as possible. This is definitely a book that I feel confident letting my 11 year old read. As I read a large amount of non-fiction, I prefer to call this type of book my "mental sorbet."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Good prelude to Episode II... consider in a Clone Wars prequel novel

    While not as action-packed as other 'Star Wars' novels, this book is recommended for anyone who wants to understand the behind-the-scenes scheming of the Clone Wars and Anakin's internal conflict a little better. While the novel is sometimes bogged down by excessive description of the surrounding world of Ansion, the reader must realize that this is Alan Foster's style, much as he wrote his first 'Star Wars' novel, 'Splinter of the Mind's Eye.' Foster gives a lot more credibility to Obi-Wan, who is responsible for settling the ultimate conflict at the end. In fact, he even manages to bring additional character development to Skywalker. However, Jedi Knight Luminara Unduli and her apprentice Barriss Offee star in this novel just as much, or perhaps more, than the two familiar Jedi heroes. Foster brings his audience closer to these characters to the point that it will be much more sad to find them killed in Episode III. Foster also brings in the character Tooqui, who seems to be a mix of Jar-Jar Binks and Dobby the House-elf, in additional to Alwari outcasts Kyahkta and Bulgan, who help the four Jedi on their quest. Foster does deserve much credit for the foreshadowing to later crucial events in the entire saga, from the shocking scene in Ep. II when Yoda battles with a lightsaber to Vader's duel against his old master on both Mustafar and 19 years later on the Death Star. Most of this great foreshadowing involves Anakin's future tragic turn from the light. This book gets a lot more intruiging in its second half, so fight to get through the first 180 pages and then it will begin to feel more like 'Star Wars.' In addition, the final page of the book is guaranteed to thrill any fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Approaching Storm

    Of the book Star Wars The Approaching Storm, Starburst said: "ENTERTAINING AND INTELLIGENT...This book is pure class all the way....The final page is a great climax." I couldn't agree more. This novel reminds me of the Jedi Quest series, except it's a little less juvenile. Obi-Wan Kenobi and his padawan, Anakin Skywalker are accompanied by Luminara Unduli and her own padawan, Barriss Offee as they journey to the planet of Ansion to settle a border dispute that Jedi master Mace Windu makes reference to in Attack Of The Clones.

    A lot of great, essential groundwork is laid for Star Wars Episode 2 in this book. Contrary to my original beliefs, a good rousing Star Wars tale can take place without the involvement of the Clone armies, and that is demonstrated in this exiting action epic.

    Although it did take some time to get going, I believe that Star Wars The Approaching Storm fully deserves a five star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Bad reviews, no free sample

    I don't buy books but SOMETIMES samples. I won't budge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    definitely not one of the better Star Wars authors.  Decent stor

    definitely not one of the better Star Wars authors.  Decent story, Writing is poor.  It's a shame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Did we really need to know the boring story of the unimportant m

    Did we really need to know the boring story of the unimportant mission Obi-Wan and Anakin went on just before Episode II? Not really. Was this an interesting story that would tide you over while waiting for the release of Episode? Probably. Is it all that great now, years later? No.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely not worth reading unless you want about a chapters worth of information on the start of the Empire

    a good book to read if your a Star Wars fan. But i have to say i was board with the cliche story 65 pages in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    The Storm Has Come

    This is a great book. I would have given it five stars, but it needed more detail about what the Ansionians and the creatures looked like. It was kind of hard for me to get a good visual picture. However, this book was full of nonstop action and I just couldn't put the book down. The conflict between master and apprentice was just astonishing. This is a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    For those who want insight to Episode II...

    ... read this!! I'm slightly new to reading Star Wars books so bear with me, but I really did like this. Me being an Obi-Wan fan thought it focused a little too much on Luminara but other than that things were great! I liked the conversations and insights of Anakina and Barriss. Also, it adds a little more information to Episode II. The duels with their lightsabers were very well described and yet they left freedom to let the mind make up some things. Read it it's worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Ehh....

    A fair read, good enough to keep my interest but not exciting enough to zip right through. Though I'm a fan of the movies, this is the first Star Wars novel I've read. I think this makes me a little more objective than many of the reviewers above, so here goes... The four protagonists shine in this novel. Obi-Wan and Anakin are familiar faces from the movies, and Foster writes them well, keeping them in character. Luminara Unduli, a Jedi, and Barriss Offee, her Padawan learner, are intriguing as well, easy to accept as partners to Obi-Wan and Anakin on this mission. The two aliens, Bulgan and Kyakta, are tolerable, necessary to move the story--though I think one of them should have been lost along the way. Two alien guides equal too much clutter. The Tooqui character was downright ridiculous, a piece of unnecessary fluff for the benefit of any children who might be reading. Mechanically, this is a rough novel at best. Dialogue attributes are lacking, making one often wonder who is speaking. Foster has a broad vocabulary, which is just fine...until he starts abusing the reader with unnecessary tedium. I'm sorry, but the word 'chary' should never be used in place of the far more common word 'wary'. For lack of a better word, that's just silly. The plot is very simple, the outcome predictable. I doubt very highly that this novel will wind up on anyone's shelf of fame (other than a few Star Wars junkies, that is). Nevertheless, it's a good book for the airplane or the waiting room--an entertaining time killer and a good workout for the visual side of your imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    not up to par

    This book as a whole proved to be just as long (and tedious) as the multi-week quest that the Jedi embark on in the story. The attempt at including political thrills pales in comparison to the various twists and turns present in DM:Shadow Hunter or CoD. The only rejuvenating factor of the novel was the fair depiction of a restless Anakin Skywalker in comparison to the rest of the Jedi. The novel is filled (past the breaking point) of Ansonian wildlife and even goes so far as to bring back one of the worst elements of Episode I with a very Jar-Jar-esque character. As far as The Approaching Storm's necessity to the timeline, absolutely nothing happens in it that is absolutely crucial to understanding Episode II. This book is only for the die hard fan with excessive amounts of spare time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    starwars attic in Michigan...

    Great!...can't wait for the next one...! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    This book rocks

    I thought this book really fills in the gaps between the movies well. The reason I read my first star wars book was for science class. I read star wars: rogue planet. I was hooked. It was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    Another Great Star Wars book

    This book was so cool. I totally loved it. Barriss Offee was so cool. It's action packed and exciting! A great way to understand Episode II better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    cool book, but its just not anakin.

    The approaching storm is a really awsome book, a must read for star wars fans. the only thing i did not like about the book was that anakin was not the same anakin as in attack of the clones, and that obi-wan was a little to boring. but over-all its a really cool book. ignore the 1,2&3 star people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    A Must Read

    The events of this book take place right before Episode II of the continuing Star Wars saga. The Jedi Council has sent two Jedi Knights, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Luminara Unduli, to resolve the conflict on Ansion between the city dwellers and the fierce independent nomads of the planet. Ansion is a strategic planet in the growing secessionist movement. If the conflict is not resolved and secessionists win then a long list of alliances with join the movement. Obi-Wan and Luminara, along with their Padawans Anakin Skywalker and Barriss Offee, set out across the wilderness filled with many perils, natural and otherwise. Darker forces are behind a number of enemies bent on seeing the mission fail. This is a great book to understanding the events in Episode II that soon follows. Keep in mind we see here the beginning of young Anakin¿s growing awareness of the Force and his role with it. Alan Dean Foster¿s book will not disappoint the avid Star Wars fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Sigh...Another Political SW prologue book

    At least this was better than Cloak of Deception. I thought Foster did a pretty good job with two characters whose only the names where handed too him(Barris Offee and Luminara Unduli) and also with a very thoughtful book(especially with the corporate Alliance and Shu Mai) but this book did not feel SW-sy at all Obi Wan barely had any action because he spent half the time scolding Anakin even though Anakin didn't act like a baby at all compared to Ep 2 the only character that felt in place were Shu Mai and Barris Offee(who were made up in this story) Only read this if your an avid SW fan like me, like the way how the political Sw universe works, or you want something different from the very epic battles that brought this empire(the Empire and the Star Wars' novels one) otherwise this isn't for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Action Packed or Another Bedtime Story

    This book is a key part in Anakin Skywalkers life.It provides the reader with a great new view of Anakin's personality before The clone wars . Lightsaber fighting and Anakin's troubles with Obi-Wan are what make this book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    Star Wars: The Approaching Storm

    I liked it. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Excellent Lead for Episode 2

    Even though this book was not the most exciting in world of Star Wars Novels, it did lay the foreground to the much anticipated Episode 2. The introduction of Luminara and Barriss was great, however they were very limited in the movie. What is also important is if you're really interested in getting to know how/why Anakin falls to the Dark Side and what his journey was like. As in Rogue Planet, we see the turmoil that is bestowed upon Anakin and we get somewhat of an understanding as to what can lead him to temptation. All in all, when you put the books together, they all make for a very nice fit and are enjoyable to read. That is if you're interested in the Star Wars Time Line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3