Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Rogue Planet

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hello.............

You must not be a true star wars fan if you are telling people that Quigon Jinn forced Obi-wan Kenobi to train Anakin Skywalker if you have seen the first movie or reed the first book its called The Phantum Menace in case you didn't Quigon was going to train Anakin hims...
You must not be a true star wars fan if you are telling people that Quigon Jinn forced Obi-wan Kenobi to train Anakin Skywalker if you have seen the first movie or reed the first book its called The Phantum Menace in case you didn't Quigon was going to train Anakin himself but died shortly after being stabed by Darth Maul after Obi-wan kill Darth Maul he rushed to Quigons side and promised his Master on the spot that he would train Anakin then after that Quigon dies and Obi-wan takes Anakin as his padawan learner. So maybe you should watch the movie and reed the first book again if you already have. This book by-the-way is awesome two thumbs up!

posted by 15569645 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's Alright....

It wasn't the best book, but it did enough to keep my interest throughout....

posted by Johnny3 on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's Alright....

    It wasn't the best book, but it did enough to keep my interest throughout....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Hello.............

    You must not be a true star wars fan if you are telling people that Quigon Jinn forced Obi-wan Kenobi to train Anakin Skywalker if you have seen the first movie or reed the first book its called The Phantum Menace in case you didn't Quigon was going to train Anakin himself but died shortly after being stabed by Darth Maul after Obi-wan kill Darth Maul he rushed to Quigons side and promised his Master on the spot that he would train Anakin then after that Quigon dies and Obi-wan takes Anakin as his padawan learner. So maybe you should watch the movie and reed the first book again if you already have. This book by-the-way is awesome two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2001

    Pretty good - helps if you're into the Star Wars saga

    I'd say if you're not into the Star Wars saga it rates a 3-Star. If you are it rates a 4-Star. I thought the storyline interesting and character development good but somehow it lacked enough gripping scenes involving the two main Jedi characters. This trait isn't completely absent but I wasn't completely satisfied with it either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I liked the parts of this book that dealt with Obi-Wan and Anaki

    I liked the parts of this book that dealt with Obi-Wan and Anakin's developing relationship as master and apprentice in the years following Episode I. The entire living planet storyline though was somewhat confusing to me. I know this is a prequel to something from the New Jedi Order storyline, which I haven't read yet, and it seemed like I didn't get everything I was supposed to from the book because I didn't really know the NJO story yet. Even allowing for that this was a pretty good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommend for starwars fans excellent book

    I loved this book. It gives you more information about what happened between the movies.
    I would recommend this book to people who like starwars and have seen the movies. Not to long of a book and keeps you intreastead .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Not a book of action.

    It has action in the beginning and at the end. I did like the discussion into Obiwans feelings regarding Anikin's training. After Qui Gon forced it upon Obiwan. It is a book of explanations that you will find interesting after you have read through the New Jedi Order19 book series - The Vong Invasion. For info - YES? For action - NOT SO MUCH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Shd

    You havn't seen anything like this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Very insightful int othe series as a whole

    This is a very good book bacause it gives more insite into Anakins training inbetween episodes one and two. It also shows how more intune with the force he is than with most people by subtle hints inside the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Okay Story

    This story does take the reader back to the early days of Anakin and Obi Wan as master and apprentice. It will also introduce a few facts that are brought up again in the New Jedi Order series, but there was not enough excitement like I have come to expect from a Star Wars story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pick this up and read it NOW !

    Once you unravel the mystery of Zanoma Sekot this you will undeniably question your new found love for Star Wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why?

    While Rogue Planet embodies a bright idea: Show us Kenobi and Skywalker early in their relationship, during Anakin's troubled early adolescence, against the backdrop of an exciting mission, the pacing and somewhat pedantic style get in the way. The book tells us about the characters' emotional responses to various stimuli without actually showing us. The author's perspective hovers somewhere between third person limited and third person omniscient, too distant to allow us to see through any particular set of eyes--or into any particular mind or heart--without actually providing a bird's eye view of any scene. This book will be most appealing to readers who want more "trivia" or background information on the political situation in the Old Republic preceding the Clone Wars and the relationship between Obi-Wan and his misfit apprentice in particular. Readers hoping for insight into this or any other developing relationship will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    That's one great book!

    It was really interesting. I think it gave a really nice history of Zonoma Sekot and gave alot of insight into Anakin Skywalker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Zonama Sekot Here We Come!!!

    This book is an excellent introduction to the living planet of Zonama Sekot. It leads into the events of the NJO perfectly. Who needs lightsaber action when you have the origins of just about every major star wars event presented in this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Horrible!

    It was pretty bad. it was so boring that i almost stopped reading it after the 12th chapter. definately not up to par with the rest of the star wars universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Finally understnding Anakin.

    This book helped me understand Anakin a lot, on how he became Darth Vader. A line in the book 'He loses everything that he loves' really helps you understand his transition to the Dark Side. Not very complex reading so anyone can read this book. I noticed one reviewer dissappointed because there wasn't much lightsaber action, but I don't think that is what the author wanted, I think the author wanted to help readers understand Anakin a little more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Too wierd for my tastes

    I'm just starting to read STar Wars books. This was my first venture into the 'EU' after having read the novelizations for all six movies. This was a very strange book. It didn't feel like STar Wars. I love the Star Wars universe but not sci-fi or fantasy in general and this book was just too 'science fiction' for me to digest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    not what i expected

    What can i say besides being a different book than your usuall star wars...feeling. Nothing really happend till the end but i kind of like that. although i was hopping for a little bit of light-saber action, i didnt get much, if at all. The story was very original, to say the least. Good but not the best. I would recomend for those readers who just want another star wars book added to there 'already read list'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    UHHH hmmm...

    Ok. This book was a difficult read for me. Not becuase of a complex writing style but becuase of a general lack of direction. That, and throw in the fact that the author had very short chapters that tended to throw u off a bit. What kept me from rating this a mere 1 star is the fact of its originality. It was distinct in a sense by presenting a new concept of actual living star ships.. THe idea still blows my mind. And the details were phenomenal, i believe this author has much talent, only that his heart wasn't into this book as it should have been. Period

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    could have been better

    this book wasnt what i was expecting - hardly any action until the end-which is unusal for a starwars novel- took too long to establish a plot. however, some parts were okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    It was the best book I have ever read

    I really liked the story because There was a lot of action and I liked the characters. It is the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5