Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Red Harvest

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Schreiber provides a face to evil as the Force turns to its darkest horror niches.

On the cold desolate planet Odacer-Faustin, Sith Master Lord Darth Scabrous sets up a training program to teach the young the techniques in using the dark side of the Force. Rumors abound that the Sith Master searches for the right pupils who will fill his formula for ...
On the cold desolate planet Odacer-Faustin, Sith Master Lord Darth Scabrous sets up a training program to teach the young the techniques in using the dark side of the Force. Rumors abound that the Sith Master searches for the right pupils who will fill his formula for immortality. From time to time a student vanishes. One of the trainees who disappears Wim Nickter finds himself surrounded by medical equipment. He will "donate" his blood to Scabrous. As he lays dying
The beginning of a plague begins

Scabrous seeks a Murkamis Orchid, which he receives when "talented botanist" Hestizo Trace "delivers "the plant to the Sith Lord. The sentient flower has bonded with Hestizo and needs her as does Scabrous. He abducts the human and takes her to his planet for she and her dark orchid are the final keys to his immortality formula. Her brother Jedi Knight Rojo traces her through the Force as he wants to save his sister, but finds himself facing an army of zombies and worse.

If someone told me when I saw the first Star Wars movie back in ancient times I would read a Star Wars novel with zombies and a Sith Lord acting like a vampire, I would have said no way. Yet, Joe Schreiber entertainingly brings zombie fever to the Force during the Old Republic era. Zo is a heroic person who fights to the end to prevent the zombie pathogen from turning pandemic. However this is Lord Darth Scabrous' story as his insidious malevolence owns the exciting tale. Mr. Schreiber provides a face to evil as the Force turns to its darkest horror niches.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Horror, not star wars

not a bad book but i really didn't think it had a place in the star wars collection. just plain horror and gore, not my style.

posted by stefdebu on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Schreiber provides a face to evil as the Force turns to its darkest horror niches.

    On the cold desolate planet Odacer-Faustin, Sith Master Lord Darth Scabrous sets up a training program to teach the young the techniques in using the dark side of the Force. Rumors abound that the Sith Master searches for the right pupils who will fill his formula for immortality. From time to time a student vanishes. One of the trainees who disappears Wim Nickter finds himself surrounded by medical equipment. He will "donate" his blood to Scabrous. As he lays dying
    The beginning of a plague begins

    Scabrous seeks a Murkamis Orchid, which he receives when "talented botanist" Hestizo Trace "delivers "the plant to the Sith Lord. The sentient flower has bonded with Hestizo and needs her as does Scabrous. He abducts the human and takes her to his planet for she and her dark orchid are the final keys to his immortality formula. Her brother Jedi Knight Rojo traces her through the Force as he wants to save his sister, but finds himself facing an army of zombies and worse.

    If someone told me when I saw the first Star Wars movie back in ancient times I would read a Star Wars novel with zombies and a Sith Lord acting like a vampire, I would have said no way. Yet, Joe Schreiber entertainingly brings zombie fever to the Force during the Old Republic era. Zo is a heroic person who fights to the end to prevent the zombie pathogen from turning pandemic. However this is Lord Darth Scabrous' story as his insidious malevolence owns the exciting tale. Mr. Schreiber provides a face to evil as the Force turns to its darkest horror niches.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Good story - I'd recommend.

    The story flowed nicely. It was a nice mix of Star Wars and zombie theme. At times I felt pulled into the story and was caught off guard by the story - in a good way. The length was just about right. I'd recommend.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Good book

    This book for we was one of the best star wars books I have read. It is very descriptive and just a fun scary read. There are many twists and turns inthe plot and some things you did not think might happen.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Shocked I liked it

    I am not a fan of anything zombie. TV shows or films, I am not a zombie genre fan. I bought this book simply for the Star Wars title. I picked it up and couldn't put it down. I finished the book in a matter of days, it was that good. I was very surprised by how good this book is.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Horror, not star wars

    not a bad book but i really didn't think it had a place in the star wars collection. just plain horror and gore, not my style.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    A book to be read for sure.

    It gives a look inside the world of a sith acolyte.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Minecraft

    Minecraft

    Minecrap

    Minesh*%

    Minetird

    Minepoop

    Mine red harvest

    @$$

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Super

    I love star wars and zombies. But when I heard of this book I asked my dad if I could get and when he did I read this book for 2 hours. I think zombies and star wars are a good mix. If you liked this book you shoild read Death Troopers. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Pretty Good.

    I liked it but i just really like Star Wars and zombies, so its a good mix. You need to read Death Troopers also. It was an amazing book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    if u like this read this

    GET star wars death troopers. PARENTAL CAUTION:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Good.

    It was an enjoyable read, though it had some serious flaws, an obvious one was at one point it switched names over whom had infected whom, and it seemed to break its own rules over what the zombies could do, such as think and talk, some can some cant with no real reason why, exept for the darth. The force sensitive plant parts seemed pretty lame to be honest, Zo the jedi seems completly helpless in every way. It also took a line almost word for word from the movie taken, aside from these flaws the action sequences specifically following the sith were very enjoyable. Worth the read though could have been better for some fact checking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wasn't this published?

    I already own Red Harvest, and the excerpt is the same as a book that's already out by the same title? So why release it again as a new book?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    for kids

    more zombie garbage. really lame story

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Zombies!!!!!

    Zombies and Star Wars. Need I say more. A decent read and a nice break from the Star Wars norm.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Really enjoyed it

    I really enjoyed this book, but at times i thought it wasnt even in the Star Wars Universe to be more detailed the Old Republic. But anyways i really enjoyed this book and i would recomennd this book to 5th grade and older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    im just getting the book now

    well its has some relly good im so,so, stokedd to read the book well but i relly think that it abot star wars clones that some one like darth bane or vader wich makes me think that like in star wars the force unlished but starkiller relly is killer hes like an assain in the game but i have an xbox360 but for me on wii it sukess because one time i played for 4 hours but lets stoptaking abot star wars the force unleshed the game is awsome but im getting the free sample ok well il get the book peace out good bye stoppppreading!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Skip this one! This is not a true Star Wars Book...lots of gore and Sith Zombies eating each other

    This book is horrible!!! I'm not a Zombie/Horror book reader, and that's what this book is. Wish I had never bought this book. I'm a pure Star Wars reader, and also enjoy fantasy, but am definitely not a horror reader. If you like all that stuff, then maybe you'll love this book - but otherwise, don't bother. I can let any of my kids read any Star Wars book, but not this one! This book is full of non-stop gore, eviscerations and zombies mowing on human flesh.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad but not great

    I almost get the feeling like this book was written with the female Star Wars fans in mind. A female Jedi, who's strongest power with the force is the ability to communicate with plant life, particularly an orchid who she is best friends with, is rescued by a tough bounty hunter who has a change of heart with no explanation as to why, and her stronger Jedi brother, who also rushes to her rescue. There are many other Star Wars books worth reading before this.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, gory story.

    Joe Schreiber's second STAR WARS book STAR WARS: RED HARVEST is a gore-spattered tale of the undead, set just before STAR WARS episode IV: A NEW HOPE. In it we find Darth Scabrous, a Sith lord and overseer of the Sith academy, struggling to unlock the secrets of immortality. In doing so, he stumbles upon a way to reanimate dead tissue, and the single zombie he creates immediately infects pretty much every student, faculty, and living thing at the academy. I lost track of the decapitations, amputations, and organ eating before the halfway point!

    As only the second STAR WARS book to embrace horror as a genre, Star Wars fans may be a bit taken aback by the gore and general absence of any real Star Wars "meat" in the story. There are some Jedi, some Sith, a few lightsabers, and some Tauntauns, but by and large this very good story could stand by itself in any sci-fi or fantasy setting, and the Star Wars tie-ins are simply extras.

    It's a fast read, occasionally funny, but very descriptive in how the undead kill their living victims. Not for the faint of heart, but true horror fans and true STAR WARS fans will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5